We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great patio, but needs a little help”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Posada de Madryn
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Madryn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The best thing about La Posada is the garden and pool. If you are traveling with a family in the summer, it is great. If you are a couple traveling or it is winter (and you won't be using the pool), then I suggest another location.
The place is nicely decorated, simple. Service at the front desk is pretty slow and not so friendly, but the girls working in the restaurant are great, really friendly and quick. Lunch and dinner food is limited, but good. Standard things, empanadas, pizza, milanesas and they always have a special of the day. The breakfast buffet is not impressive. I look forward to medialunas when I travel to Argentina and they are pretty bad here, so I really didn't eat much of anything of the breakfast during my week stay.
Rooms don't have air conditioning, so be warned. The front desk told us that upstairs rooms had A/C and that they cost more. I stayed with relatives with rooms upstairs and there was no air. The front desk did give us a big fan, thank goodness. Our relatives upstairs just sweated it out. Many hotels in this region don't have a/c, but i was irritated that we were told some rooms did have it when they did not. Luckily weather wasn't too hot and we had the fan, so my husband and I slept just fine. Also, be aware that the wifi in the hotel is unreliable and mostly unusable. It was an excuse for me to really disconnect on my vacation, but don't expect to use internet in the hotel. You will see modems, but even sitting right next to them doesn't mean you will get access. The rooms are a decent size, bathrooms are clean and good size. Cleaning service is pretty good.
It's about a 10 min walk to the beach, there is free parking at the beach, so i recommend driving. You will also need to drive to downtown, or it's about a 20 min walk, which isn't too bad. You can park your car on the street next to the hotel or they do provide a locked lot in the back.

Overall, my husband and I enjoyed our vacation at La Posada, but we did have some small annoyances. The pool and garden really made our stay. Next time in Madryn, though, we will stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: If traveling in summer, get a room downstairs just to keep temps low!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S S, Gerente at La Posada de Madryn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014
Google Translation

Buenas Noches
Que lastima que no te sentiste bien atendida!
Respecto a la mala atención de la gente de recepción lo charlare con el personal para cambiarlo
respecto al tema del aire acondicionado es cierto solo contamos con aire acondicionado en un sector del hotel, que justamente no es las habitaciones superiores, por lo tanto lo que manifestad que eran mas caras no es cierto tienen el mismo valor que las standard de todo el hotel
Si Uds vinieron con familiares, los cuales me manifestaron a mi personalmente que estaban encantados con el hotel, el servicio y las comodidades.- Se fueron muy contentos y me manifestaron que ellos van a volver
Respecto al desayuno si es un desaguo simple con todo casero y fresco pero t¡entiendo que no te gusto
De todas maneras te agradezco tu critica y vamos a mejorar todo, desde ya comento que estamos colocando aire en el resto del Hotel de a poco y con mucho esfuerzo
Muchas Gracias
Saludos
Monica Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 304 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very charming property with good taste on decorations, a nice sample of Patagonian locals' houses style. It is placed on the south end of Puerto Madryn, close to Ecocentro, so if you are the type of traveler who likes to be centrally located close to restaurants, this might not be your best bet. However, distances in Patagonia are enormous, you will have to move around anyway to watch whales, sea lions and penguins... A taxi downtown might cost $25 (pesos), or try a nice walk 3 Km along the esplanade. Standard rooms are very comfortable, Superior rooms are not that different, they just offer a bigger bed. Breakfast is buffet but quite simple. There is a great patio to hang around with friends or family. If you own or rent a car, they offer free parking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paucartambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S S, Gerente at La Posada de Madryn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013
Google Translation

Buenas tardes estimado
Primero me sorprende tu crítica en inglés, ya que vivís en Buenos Aires
Segundo te agradezco mucho tus conceptos,
Respecto a las diferencias entre las habitaciones standard y superiores las diferencias son bastantes, las superiores son habitaciones nuevas y más amplias, los baños son más grandes y diferentes,
Muchas gracias , y me alegra mucho que de todas maneras lo pasaste bien ,
La verdad que trabajamos mucho para mejorar día a día y nos sirve mucho para mejorar
Gracias
Saludos Mónica Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

At first view it seemed like a great find, despite the location (far from town) and the not so nice surroundings (half finished or neglected buildings around). The place is newly decorated with impeccable taste, that is if you are not a vegetarian and don't mind animal pelts. The service was friendly but on the slow side. Here is the catch: it can get loud with big groups and families. Basically, you can hear everything and if you mind noise, won't be able to sleep even with ear plugs on.

Room Tip: A room with nobody next to you and away from the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizNFunTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S S, Gerente at La Posada de Madryn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Sr
Realmente lamentó mucho que se llevo esa impresión
Primero los alrededores del hotel no son edificios abandonados, son todos edificios y casa en construcción ya que es un barrio totalmente nuevo y en expansión
Respecto a las pieles de animales, son de ovejas. Y corderos. Queso. De la Patagonia, de los animales que se faenan para comer
Seguramente unos han probado el cordero patagonico en los restaurantes de la ciudad
Si en esos días había en el hotel muchas familias con niños y grupos , el hotel es un hotel familiar
Realmente lamentó si no pudieron descansar , les pido disculpas
Muchas gracias de todas maneras
Saludos cordiales
Mónica santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

apparently an understantment hotel, but extremely alert in care of peculiar charm !very nice rooms whit bed very king size, garden , pool, the room for breakfast very particular. silence excellent to sleep !

Room Tip: every one are good, some in front the garde-pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filofilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The lawn is pretty but the hotel is quite far from the center of town - easily a 20-30 min walk to the restaurants and the tourist agencies to book excursions. As another reviewer mentioned, the streets are unpaved. We tried to ask about buses but the staff was unhelpful and would not even give us a paper map to help us find our way around. Because it is in a remote residential area, you cannot hail a taxi from the street - you would have to call one.
The room is clean but we could hear the phones ringing in the front desk all night and hallway noises in the morning.
Wifi signal is poor.
When we inquired about Punta Tumbo/Peninsula Valdez, they tried to sell us excursions via one tour operator.
I have stayed in other hotels that require some walking into town, but their staff were much more helpful, giving us a map and helping to direct us places and offering to call taxis when needed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thesefoolishthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S S, Gerente at La Posada de Madryn, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Good morning dear / aActually what surprised me ud. manifestIf it is true that the hotel is away from the city centerRegarding the hotel staff did not provide information, associated as it is not always so informs lospasajeros means to get downtown, and we do not have maps of the city to deliver, but if we have a giant of a pplano dond city and exxplicamos all doubtsThe hotel has bicycles for passengers, and always call taxis to come and pick up the passengers at the hotel is a service that we have. - And if not we informed where they can take the bus service that can take only 4 blocksRegarding the sale of excursions are not imposed on people to buy us at the Hotel we have the service for excursions with a company, that if passengers do not agree are free to hire a serviio wherever we give precisely for being off-center and the values ​​are the same as all Puerto Madryn and agencies that are uniform ratesWify service is a service we provide free of charge and is bad not because of the hotel but because here in Puerto Madryn telephone services, cellular Wify and collapsed are not good and the overall service we have in Puerto MadrynI'm sorry that it has pasadao so bad and it's a shame that we did not told us at the hotelNevertheless many ThanksregardsMonica Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stood at this Hotel over Christmas and had a great time. Location in Puerto Madryn is a bit of a challenge as there is quite some construction around the Hotel but the Hotel itself is very nice. Good breakfast, no dinner possible but many Restaurants in walking distance. Garden and Pool are very nice as are the rooms. Puerto Madryn is the perfect location to visit Punta Tombo and Insula Valdez. We had booked a private tour/car/driver/guide with Huinca Travel and they were simply great! We do highly recommend the Hotel and the tour organizer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Location: * (out of 5) located ca 4 km from the city center. They lend me a bike (free of charge). But I could not use it in the evening because there are a lot of STROLLING DOGS around the hotel which attack the bikers. The streets around the hotel are not paved and dark (no lights). The next restaurant is ca. 3 km away. You should only book the hotel if you have a car.
Service: *** (out of 5) breakfast ok. Rooms are clean. It took long time until they could print my invoice. They offered me the tours to Punta Tumbo and Peninsula Valdez at a much higher price then the touristic agencies in the city.
Room, Hotel overall, infrastructure (internet): **** (out of 5): Wlan available, nice grass lawn, nice pool. However 500 m further is the beach so that you really do not use the pool.
Overall rating: ** stars out of 5 (downgrading because of location). You should only book the hotel if you have a car.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ba31182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Madryn hotels
1.5 mi away
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
#2 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
904 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Tulipanes
Los Tulipanes
#3 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
200 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
#6 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
#5 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
552 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Piren
Hotel Piren
#1 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
702 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Gran Madryn
Hotel Gran Madryn
#13 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada de Madryn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Madryn

Address: Abraham Mathews 2951, Puerto Madryn 9120, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Madryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Madryn
Price Range: $87 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada de Madryn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 Rooms with private bathroom, 3000 mts2 ok gardens, large livingroom, homemade breakfast, LCD 26` tv in all the rooms, restaurante, swimming pool, bikes, free parking, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your La Posada de Madryn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing