We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“refained silence !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Posada de Madryn
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Madryn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“refained silence !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

apparently an understantment hotel, but extremely alert in care of peculiar charm !very nice rooms whit bed very king size, garden , pool, the room for breakfast very particular. silence excellent to sleep !

Room Tip: every one are good, some in front the garde-pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filofilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    102
    35
    10
    10
See reviews for
83
121
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The lawn is pretty but the hotel is quite far from the center of town - easily a 20-30 min walk to the restaurants and the tourist agencies to book excursions. As another reviewer mentioned, the streets are unpaved. We tried to ask about buses but the staff was unhelpful and would not even give us a paper map to help us find our way around. Because it is in a remote residential area, you cannot hail a taxi from the street - you would have to call one.
The room is clean but we could hear the phones ringing in the front desk all night and hallway noises in the morning.
Wifi signal is poor.
When we inquired about Punta Tumbo/Peninsula Valdez, they tried to sell us excursions via one tour operator.
I have stayed in other hotels that require some walking into town, but their staff were much more helpful, giving us a map and helping to direct us places and offering to call taxis when needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thesefoolishthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S S, Gerente at La Posada de Madryn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Good morning dear / aActually what surprised me ud. manifestIf it is true that the hotel is away from the city centerRegarding the hotel staff did not provide information, associated as it is not always so informs lospasajeros means to get downtown, and we do not have maps of the city to deliver, but if we have a giant of a pplano dond city and exxplicamos all doubtsThe hotel has bicycles for passengers, and always call taxis to come and pick up the passengers at the hotel is a service that we have. - And if not we informed where they can take the bus service that can take only 4 blocksRegarding the sale of excursions are not imposed on people to buy us at the Hotel we have the service for excursions with a company, that if passengers do not agree are free to hire a serviio wherever we give precisely for being off-center and the values ​​are the same as all Puerto Madryn and agencies that are uniform ratesWify service is a service we provide free of charge and is bad not because of the hotel but because here in Puerto Madryn telephone services, cellular Wify and collapsed are not good and the overall service we have in Puerto MadrynI'm sorry that it has pasadao so bad and it's a shame that we did not told us at the hotelNevertheless many ThanksregardsMonica Santana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stood at this Hotel over Christmas and had a great time. Location in Puerto Madryn is a bit of a challenge as there is quite some construction around the Hotel but the Hotel itself is very nice. Good breakfast, no dinner possible but many Restaurants in walking distance. Garden and Pool are very nice as are the rooms. Puerto Madryn is the perfect location to visit Punta Tombo and Insula Valdez. We had booked a private tour/car/driver/guide with Huinca Travel and they were simply great! We do highly recommend the Hotel and the tour organizer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8,217 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Location: * (out of 5) located ca 4 km from the city center. They lend me a bike (free of charge). But I could not use it in the evening because there are a lot of STROLLING DOGS around the hotel which attack the bikers. The streets around the hotel are not paved and dark (no lights). The next restaurant is ca. 3 km away. You should only book the hotel if you have a car.
Service: *** (out of 5) breakfast ok. Rooms are clean. It took long time until they could print my invoice. They offered me the tours to Punta Tumbo and Peninsula Valdez at a much higher price then the touristic agencies in the city.
Room, Hotel overall, infrastructure (internet): **** (out of 5): Wlan available, nice grass lawn, nice pool. However 500 m further is the beach so that you really do not use the pool.
Overall rating: ** stars out of 5 (downgrading because of location). You should only book the hotel if you have a car.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ba31182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed here twice - one night each time, a few days before and then after Christmas (which we spent on the nearby Peninsula Valdés). The posada is right on the edge of the Puerto Madryn, but there is building work right across the street, so soon it won't be! It was incredibly quiet and peaceful, although a bit gusty by the pool. The gardens were very pretty and green, and the pool was lovely (very warm).

Our rooms ( a double and a twin for USD$100 each including breakfast) were large and airy, beds very comfortable, showers good and powerful, but there was absolutely no information in the rooms - times for breakfast, pool hours, wifi codes, TV channel listings... A bit odd really. There were several notices in Spanish (including breakfast times) on display at reception, but not all of this info. Hence we spent a bit of time waiting at reception to ask questions - which when there was only Spanish-speaking night porter Walter around made for some amusing sign language. As others have noted, the walls are a bit flimsy and we could hear not only corridor noise but humming and clanking from the adjacent plant/storage room - not what you expect from a hotel of this calibre.

However, Adriana and Julieta both spoke excellent English and were very helpful. Adriana allowed us a slightly late check-out after our very late arrival on the first night, and Julieta helped us print our boarding cards during our second stay. Walter kindly laid out breakfast at 5am for our second stay, when we had to drive to Trelew for an early flight.

Breakfast was a slightly hit-and-miss affair of dreadful coffee, warm croissants, fresh fruit salad, juice, and toast. Still, it was sufficient to start the day. The children used the pc in the lobby/bar/lounge area, where there was a pool table as well as sofas for relaxing on. Our rooms for the first stay opened onto the garden, which was lovely, but for our second stay they faced the fence and the road, not so nice, with no price differential or choice offered...

So, with a bit of in-room info and sound insulation, this posada could be perfect! I'm sure it was nicer than being in town, and we would probably stay again if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

La Posada de Madryn is a good hotel to stay especially if you plan to tour around Puerto Madryn. Though it is a bit far from downtown you have option to take a bike in the hotel, which was always available during our stay, or you can take a taxi, which is really cheap (5 US$ one way). For trips to Punto Tombo, Peninsula Valdez, tourist agencies pick you up from the hotel in the morning and in the evening you can ask to be dropped of anywhere in downtown. So, far distance from downtown is not really a disadvantage, opposite its nice and quiet. The hotel itself is nice and clean, breakfast is very simple. Personnel is friendly and helpful. On the reception English speaking personnel from 8:00am to 10:00pm.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room on the 3rd floor with garden view, it was nice. No AC in a room, we left windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena121211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Far from the center of Puerto Madryn, but definitely in a very nice area with no noise (taxis are cheap). Rooms very clean and nice, also spacious, and comfortable. Breakfast buffet is OK. The staff was very kind and helful, which really makes a big difference. The hall, the garden and the swimming pool, and the hotel in general is very nice and well taken care of. There are bikes for free at guest's disposal, which is simply wonderful!

Room Tip: Sometimes you get noise from other guests through the door, so choose a room at the end of the corri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catalino_Oriolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Madryn hotels
1.5 mi away
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
#2 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Piren
Hotel Piren
#1 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.9 mi away
Australis Yene hue
Australis Yene hue
#11 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
#4 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
#6 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Tulipanes
Los Tulipanes
#5 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada de Madryn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Madryn

Property: La Posada de Madryn
Address: Abraham Mathews 2951, Puerto Madryn 9120, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Madryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Madryn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada de Madryn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 Rooms with private bathroom, 3000 mts2 ok gardens, large livingroom, homemade breakfast, LCD 26` tv in all the rooms, restaurante, swimming pool, bikes, free parking, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Posada de Madryn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing