We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place and great bbq”
Review of Hi Patagonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hi Patagonia
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly place and great bbq”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We've stayed 3 nights in this nice hostel. As a couple we had to sleep in a dorm because all the private rooms were booked many days in advance. The hostel was all nights completely full. The reason is obvious: it is a very nice and friendly place. The 4-persons dorm we had was good, with big lockers and a lady who cleaned the room every day.
But the best part of the hostel are not the rooms itself but the service. Gaston is a very friendly host and so are all the girls working in the hostel. The breakfast is good and a nice opportunity to speak to some other guest cause there is one big dining table. During the day there is a common kitchen to use for all the guests. And at night Shannon (from UK) runs the bar in the garden while Gaston prepares a wonderful BBQ. What else can you wish for on a summer day? Maybe a whale... but even without being lucky enough to see them we've really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    45
    2
    5
    5
See reviews for
22
86
76
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

When I read all the reviews on hostel world, I thought Gaston had made them all up himself because they were sooooo good but it is genuinely an amazing hostel!

This was my first stop as a solo traveller and I was made to feel incredibly welcome! I arrived and was invited to a big asado around a family style table, a great way to meet people! Gaston sorted out all my trips for me (and they weren't overpriced) and when there was an issue with one of them (not Gaston's fault - the sealions were unco-operative and didn't get in the sea for swimming with the sea lions!) Gaston rang the place and got them to take me for free the next day and helped me change my bus...

Genuinely a lovely place to stay, especially if you want to meet lots of people be somewhere that makes you feel a bit like you are at home!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah-Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ba
2 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We really spent a relaxed week in Hi Patagonia. As the hostel is quite small, you easily make friends with other travellers and every other night, like a family reunion, you can meet around one of Gaston's churrascos (for meat lovers). Shannon makes great mojitos, at night, in the backyard full of wonderfull roses. I just missed a bit of fruit or juice at breakfast. Fine place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enyleveBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

My first impression of this hostel was ok, good location a block from the beach, although I ignored the smell of mold and moth balls that occupied the entire place. We got screwed around a lot by the manager who told us we could stay another night if we change rooms after the first night. The next day After changing rooms and our way out the door for a full day tour he informed us that no we could not stay an extra night and that we must pack and move our stuff out of the room before we left for the tour. He did not seem to remember saying "yes we could stay another night" the day before.
Everyone seems to love him and state how amaZing he is so I guess he just chose not to like us and treated us like crap.
On top of all that the Internet worked maybe 30% of the time if you were lucky.
The only good thing about this hostel was the bar in the backyard run by a lovely English girl.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kheyyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whales-dive, Manager at Hi Patagonia, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
"Hello,
Do you have space for 3 people in dorms for 2 nights beginning tomorrow 11/11? Thank you,
S...

This is the mail you've sent for booking and we gave you space as we do got cause is high season. I've got to change you from dorm and dind't charge you more as was more expensive the second day, all considering you have to move from one room to the other. But the 3er day got all booked and ask you 20' before you leave to your tour if you have everything packed so I can get the things downstairs for you during the day before others come home, cause you have to check out that day.

I think is easy to find a guilty one for your missbooking, but suggest you next time to take a look inside before you write something, cause if everyone is super happy with us as you say, may be is your feeling and nothing something coming form us, and I hear from the other travellers that you already had problems with last Hostel Owner before arrival, and may be you've been sensible about being kicked out before arrival.
Even though you found a place to stay, left your stuff at home and untill last minute you've been in P. Madryn as you forgot a towel that we found and came back for it next day.

Wish you a good trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Located one block back from the beach it's ideally situated to enjoy the better parts of the town, because there is not much to do apart from the wild life tours. Gaston is a great host, nothing is to much trouble and he cooks a great BBQ every couple nights or so. The hostel is very comfortable and has agood friendly atmospher about it. Gaston will book any of the tours for you which make it easy. If only they would take credit cards in Argentina it would make thing a lot easier.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hatobuilico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marktoberdorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

It was great to stay for four nights in Hi Patagonia Hostel. It`s a small, familiar hostel with very friendly and helpful staff. They offer very good and cheap barbecues for their guests and rent bikes very cheap too. The hostel is only 50 metres from the sea distanced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

A big thanks to Gaston and all the family at Hi Patagonia for their kindness. Our stay was really good and we really enjoyed the asado! We also keep great memories of our excursion on Peninsula Valdes where we had the chance to see some Orcas hunting a whale, just amazing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoicT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Madryn hotels
0.4 mi away
Los Tulipanes
Los Tulipanes
#3 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
#2 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Piren
Hotel Piren
#1 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
#6 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
481 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
#4 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gran Madryn
Hotel Gran Madryn
#12 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hi Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi Patagonia

Property: Hi Patagonia
Address: Avenida Pte Gral J a Roca 1040, Puerto Madryn U9120AIX, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Madryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Madryn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hi Patagonia 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi Patagonia is a House with only 8 rooms and comfortable common areas round the corner to the beach where you can spot whales (Mid May-Mid December.We offer private rooms and dorms with private bath or shared, breakfast included, wi fi and internet for free.Rooms are service everday (on demand)trying to keep as clean as possible your house and enjoyiable your stay.We provide as much information and services as we can and are always trying to improve services and details to make your arrival, stay and departure as easy as we can.Our goal is that you can take the most of your time in our area, experienced the best that we can offer and be relaxed while we work for you, giving our time and experience all day for our guests.We think there's nothing that can be solved and holidays are a special moment a year to enjoy the most with minimun stress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hi Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing