We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the trip”
Review of The Town of Gaiman

The Town of Gaiman
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Punta Tombo Penguin Colony and Union Beach from Puerto Madryn with optional...
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

There was not much to do in Gaiman. What was even more unfortunate was we went on a Sunday and almost everything is closed on that day. Compared to the other things you can do around the area, this is a definite pass unless you must drink Welsh tea in Argentina. The tour we were part of only had an hour stop, which is too short for high tea and way too long in a town that had nothing open. We struggled to find food options and had ice cream instead, which were good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank travelstarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    352
    228
    75
    32
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Don't bother going , especially if you have to take the 3+ hrs and 4 bus round trip from Madryn”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

There's nothing there apart from sea over priced tea shops. I paid £10 for tea and some bread. Tea was nice but the price is high. However, it's not the tea shop that receives 1 out if 5. It's the town. There's nothing worth seeing. Nothing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden, Argentina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tea with cakes”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

If you love cakes or have time left, then go to Gayman. But do not change the wildlife for this town. It is interesting from a historical perspective mainly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GiselaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“This Place has Great Marketing but it is NOT Worth it”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Unless you specifically want to understand something about welsh migration to Argentina this place is not really worth it, we expected some picturesque town, with nice tea places to relax, etc.

The town has nothing picturesque at all, it is just like any other farming town in the Pampas, there are six welsh tea cafes which provide a lot of food and have nice settings inside, but also not worth the 70 kms we did from Puerto Madryn.

If you drive around the surrounding areas you will see some nice chacras, but nothing different you can see just around Buenos Aires.

Now, if you are interested in Welsh history in Argentina, there are some original houses, etc and they have a welsh road defined to follow the history, etc.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ngutierrez1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
267 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“I lived in Wales for 4 years; this is not Wales!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We travelled specifically to Gaiman because we had lived in Wales for 4 years back in the 1970s. The village of Gaiman resembles little of what we remember of Wales. Gaiman has many overly-priced (ARG 120-150 pesos per person) tea houses. However, the tea houses were more English than Welsh and 120 pesos was very very expensive for a pot of tea and a few pieces of bread and pastries.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank EandSmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Town of Gaiman also viewed

Puerto Madryn, Province of Chubut
Puerto Madryn, Province of Chubut
 
Puerto Madryn, Province of Chubut
Puerto Madryn, Province of Chubut
 

Been to The Town of Gaiman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing