We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit overpriced for what you get”
Review of Terrazas de Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Terrazas de Mar
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Madryn
Tempe, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Bit overpriced for what you get”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Apartment style with good amount of space; kitchenette; in a convenient location one block away from the tourist office/ocean and carrefour market across the street, free wifi, and have hot water in an instant!! But overpriced and needs attention.   It's a condo apartment building. Apparently there is concierge from 8am-10pm, but where they are who knows, since there is no "office" or "desk" anywhere.  In apartment: no phone(so any messages from tours or what not, means someone knocking on your door to deliver the message in Spanish).  Hotel staff knocked on my door at 9pm on 2nd of my 5th night asking for my full payment, which btw is cash, which I was aware of but to pop up for payment on the 2nd night.   Air condition is broken (good thing there was a fan in the bedroom), as is the tv, which the volume just randomly increases..which you can't ask anyone about cuz you don't know where they are..though you can email them, but obviously not very convenient.  Get one small towel that is a bit larger than a hand towel and threadbare.   Big balcony patio..huge..but nothing out the..not one chair nor table, so doesn't allow one to take advantage of.Of course the pics on the website are amazing, but in reality, very used and need a lot of touching up.  Very very sparse apartment...  Staff are nice, Schirley is especially, but where are they?  FYI only Spanish spoken here. I get its apartment style, which is fine..but have things in there working and worth the price, would be fine at the right rate. Simple things would help so much: get new towels and larger than what my gym has,  provide tissues, a clock, soap dish so it doesn't get stuck on the counter, replace the kitchen sponge on a regular basis, put a chair/table but on the balcony..... I paid AR 450/night, which I had 3 different locals so very appalled at that amount..... Fine for a B&B level pricing but not over US$100.... overpriced for what you get

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kareny13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    46
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
53
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed at Terrazas del Mar in very low season and we had a great experience. We travel with a 4 months old baby and the apart hotel idea was more appealing than staying in a hotel. Terrazas is actually like renting out a fully equipped flat with swimming pool.
The location in in the heart of Puerto Madryn with easy access to restaurant, shopping and just two minutes away from the beach.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hdc900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

This is a great place to stay, right downtown, a block from the beach, large
pool and big rooms, nice view. Casino close by for gamblers. Secure, clean and the rooms are spacious. Puerto Madryn is full of holiday rentals, but few have such a great location. Carrefour market right across the street. All you need.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Endlesstraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2009

We used this place as a base while exploring the Valdes Penninsula. It is a proper apartment, very central for the town with everything you need close by. The rooms are pretty new and modern with all the appliances you need. We didn't venture into the pool as the weather was a bit cold but it was immaculately kept.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eor7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Though it's listed as a hotel, this is really a condo building. It must be new because our tour operators, drivers, etc. had no idea where it was. Our condo was spacious and clean, with two smallish bedrooms, full kitchen, and a good sized living room. We had an ocean view from the living room. Check-in is only in Spanish, so English-only people might have problems.

The location is great, right in the heart of the main restaurant section. There aren't any services to speak of, you're just dropped at your condo and left on your own. This wasn't an issue for us, but if you need help with tours, recommendations, etc. you'll need to look elsewhere. About 1 block away is a tourist office that assisted us with tours, airport transportation, and restaurant guidance, so it wasn't a problem.

Given the poor hotel options available in Puerto Madryn, this is a great choice for people who don't need much attention from their hosts.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OleMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Madryn hotels
1.0 mi away
Los Tulipanes
Los Tulipanes
#3 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
#6 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
#2 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piren
Hotel Piren
#1 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Australis Yene hue
Australis Yene hue
#11 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Madryn
Hotel Gran Madryn
#12 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrazas de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrazas de Mar

Property: Terrazas de Mar
Address: Calle 25 de Mayo 256, Puerto Madryn U9120AKH, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Madryn
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Madryn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrazas de Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Terrazas de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing