We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel !”
Review of El Gualicho Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Gualicho Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice hostel !”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed several days and I enjoyed each of them ! Very well located (half distance between the bus station and the beach), staff member are very friendly. I booked all activities in this hostel and all went well. Rooms clean and comfortable, big kitchen and even hammocks if you want to take a nap !

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ThomasFNLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    105
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
33
109
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The location is perfect, just a bit out of the centre, but close to everything; beach, shops, centre.

The staff is very friendly and can also help you out with booking trips etc. Also good prices they have there, ideal so you don't have to shop around down town.
Also loved the garden with hammocks.
The only not so great part is, that there is a discotheque close-by and that gives a lot of noise during the weekend. Since we were there from sunday until wednesday it was fine, but other people told us.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle, so not on the street side are more silent and less sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaatjekras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brecon
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

This is a big hostel and a very good one at that. Here's why:

Pros
*Just the friendliest staff I've had all through Argentina.
*Good location, three blocks from the sea front.
*Excursions & other hostels can be booked from here.
*Plenty of room (126).
*Very modern.
*Very clean.
*Always had plenty of room.
*Good kitchen facilities.
*Comfortable lounge.
*wifi
*Pool table.
*Reasonable price 120AP. My last place in Trelew though only was 50AP...and as good.

Cons
*Wifi sucks in the morning & night when busy (standard complaint in Arg).
*Lack of fridge space.
*Beer cooler was US on my visit (could lose 5 stars for that!)
*My bedroom (2 bunks) was a tad small along with the lockers.
*Only one towel?
*Only one room key for 4 people?
*Breakfast was bread, jams, cereal, coffee. Pretty standard in Argentina...pity as it is pretty bland!
*Don't do other meals or sell snacks.
*The worst complaint is kept for last-guys, check your sewers outside in the back something's died in it. There is a bad smell in your bathroom (informed).

All in all a really good hostel and the cons are minor complaints. However they are negative points that other hostels in Argentina beat them on. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here though and would have no hesitation in coming back here and recommending it to others.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Ticks all the boxes, but hasn't quite got a vibe yet. It's more of a hotel really. Still, it is extremely clean and well run. The staff are friendly, location is good.

It's just not much fun from a backpackers point of view.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tuna800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had a private room at this spotlessly clean hostel, which was spacious with a safe, TV and good shower. The wifi worked really well, perhaps because our room was pretty much above the reception. The reception staff are very helpful and can book trips for you via what seems to be their own tour service. Be prepared, the trips here are very expensive, but well worth it for the opportunity to see the area's wildlife. The prices offered by the hostel were comparable with those offered on the main strip in town so we chose to book through the hostel. The trips were fantastic, with an excellent guide and highly recommended - they are long days on the bus, but you get the chance to see whales, penguins, elephant seals and sea lions really close up. Breakfast at the hostel is basic, but fine and there is a good communal area with a pool table.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsdbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

FIRST IMPRESSIONS: This hostel is BIG and probably the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in. The cleaners work really hard to keep the place gleaming. Theres a lovely relaxing area with bean bags and a sofa etc.
STAFF: Such a great bunch of guys, especially Ale. They gave great information and we went on a day trip to see whales with one of the other guys (sorry, I dont know his name) but we had a whale of a time...excuse the pun ;) Really cool bunch of staff.
DORMS: Big with comfy beds and the shower in the ensuite was amazing.
BREAKFAST: Good breakfast (typical Argentine breakfast - bread with spreads, cereal and coffee) - the only thing that could be improved is having a jug of juice for non-coffee drinkers.
FACILITIES: Really loved having the tourist centre thingymabob there - it made organising trips super easy and really good location for the centre and the beach (3 blocks away). I suggest having a map or writing very clear directions from the bus station as its a bit of a pain to locate at first but really quite close when you know your way :)
INTERNET: Rubbish but arent all hostels?
OTHER: The only thing that I didnt like about the hostel was the smell in the downstairs bathroom - the area before the actual bathrooms. I dont know what it was but it immediately gave me a headache when I walked in. Other than that, an awesome place to stay! Thanks :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephieAlice_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you are looking to spend a short time in Puerto Madryn then this is the place to stay. Although we did not see any other hostels in this area this one is pretty much perfect. Hostel is HUGE and is stupidly clean. You´re beds are made every day and the whole dorm is swept, mopped and scrubbed. Breakfast here is typical, bread, jam, cornflakes, warm milk and coffee. The staff are very knowledgable and friendly. Any questions you ask they understand and answer confidently. All members of staff speak fluent English. The atmosphere is not what I look for in a hostel though, you won´t meet many other English speaking backpackers here. It is more like a family resort as old people and babies stay here.

No problems here folks, cheap and comfortable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Madryn hotels
0.8 mi away
Los Tulipanes
Los Tulipanes
#3 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
#2 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
#6 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piren
Hotel Piren
#1 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
670 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
#4 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Madryn
Hotel Gran Madryn
#12 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Gualicho Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Gualicho Hostel

Property: El Gualicho Hostel
Address: Calle Marcos Antonio Zar 480, Puerto Madryn U9120ARJ, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Madryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Madryn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Gualicho Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central location of the Hostel (1 block from main square and 3 blocks from the beach) allows you to enjoy the facilities of the attractive town and beach of Puerto Madryn.At the hostel we make your way easier so you can have a memorable experience, A great atmosphere to meet other travellers and friendly staff who will tell you all the best places to go.We offer a choice of private or shared accommodation in large bright new rooms around the garden.Shared Rooms: Spacious, light and modern 4 and 6 bed rooms. They all come with a private bathroom, individual lockers and heating. Rooms also have Wi-Fi, sheets , blankets and each bed has it's own individual reading light. Daily maid service.Private Rooms: Spacious, light and modern rooms. They feature a private bathroom, heating and are equipped with comfortable 1.60m wide sommier. Rooms also have Wi-Fi, bedside lamps and large safe (for storing a laptop). Sheets, blankets, towels and soap are included. Daily maid service.There is a fully-equipped kitchen and an attractive dinning room. Our large and beautiful garden is a peaceful space to chill out, and the spacious living room ideal for reading and meeting people.Puerto Madryn is the starting place to discover the rich variety of wildlife that lives in the Peninsula Valdes area. We have our own travel agency , and organise tours in small groups, that are especially designed for independent travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Gualicho Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing