We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing atmosphere”
Review of El Gualicho Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Gualicho Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Ticks all the boxes, but hasn't quite got a vibe yet. It's more of a hotel really. Still, it is extremely clean and well run. The staff are friendly, location is good.

It's just not much fun from a backpackers point of view.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank tuna800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 297 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had a private room at this spotlessly clean hostel, which was spacious with a safe, TV and good shower. The wifi worked really well, perhaps because our room was pretty much above the reception. The reception staff are very helpful and can book trips for you via what seems to be their own tour service. Be prepared, the trips here are very expensive, but well worth it for the opportunity to see the area's wildlife. The prices offered by the hostel were comparable with those offered on the main strip in town so we chose to book through the hostel. The trips were fantastic, with an excellent guide and highly recommended - they are long days on the bus, but you get the chance to see whales, penguins, elephant seals and sea lions really close up. Breakfast at the hostel is basic, but fine and there is a good communal area with a pool table.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsdbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

FIRST IMPRESSIONS: This hostel is BIG and probably the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in. The cleaners work really hard to keep the place gleaming. Theres a lovely relaxing area with bean bags and a sofa etc.
STAFF: Such a great bunch of guys, especially Ale. They gave great information and we went on a day trip to see whales with one of the other guys (sorry, I dont know his name) but we had a whale of a time...excuse the pun ;) Really cool bunch of staff.
DORMS: Big with comfy beds and the shower in the ensuite was amazing.
BREAKFAST: Good breakfast (typical Argentine breakfast - bread with spreads, cereal and coffee) - the only thing that could be improved is having a jug of juice for non-coffee drinkers.
FACILITIES: Really loved having the tourist centre thingymabob there - it made organising trips super easy and really good location for the centre and the beach (3 blocks away). I suggest having a map or writing very clear directions from the bus station as its a bit of a pain to locate at first but really quite close when you know your way :)
INTERNET: Rubbish but arent all hostels?
OTHER: The only thing that I didnt like about the hostel was the smell in the downstairs bathroom - the area before the actual bathrooms. I dont know what it was but it immediately gave me a headache when I walked in. Other than that, an awesome place to stay! Thanks :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephieAlice_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you are looking to spend a short time in Puerto Madryn then this is the place to stay. Although we did not see any other hostels in this area this one is pretty much perfect. Hostel is HUGE and is stupidly clean. You´re beds are made every day and the whole dorm is swept, mopped and scrubbed. Breakfast here is typical, bread, jam, cornflakes, warm milk and coffee. The staff are very knowledgable and friendly. Any questions you ask they understand and answer confidently. All members of staff speak fluent English. The atmosphere is not what I look for in a hostel though, you won´t meet many other English speaking backpackers here. It is more like a family resort as old people and babies stay here.

No problems here folks, cheap and comfortable!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hostel itself is well-situated and has nice-looking common areas, including a courtyard. The private rooms were a little basic though but clean. What annoyed us was the noise level. Guests tend to congregate in the courtyard till late and since most rooms face the courtyard, it was impossible to sleep with drunk party-goers coming and going, hanging around in the courtyard and dancing even.

The hostel also took a message for us from our travel operator, which switched our two tours around) but decided not to pass it on to us. As a result, we got the timing for one tour wrong and was dressed inappropriately for the other. I mean, how difficult is it to take and relay a message to your guests?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

It is a nice hostel with kind staff and clean rooms. A good thing is there is a shared kitchen to prepare your own food. But it has a big disadvantage. This hotel is located by a loud crossroad. It is not possible to sleep there without earplugs. You have the feeling you sleep middle on the highway. The parking is small, when you are too late, you have to park on the street and you have to pay for it.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The double room with private bathroom was simple, modern and very clean. The hostel has a great atmosphere, the staff really helpful and the tours organized by the hostel are in small numbers and really good. The common areas like the kitchen, eating area and living room where excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Madryn hotels
0.3 mi away
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
#2 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
972 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Madryn
Hotel Gran Madryn
#13 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Apart Hotel
Marina Apart Hotel
#18 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
#5 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aguas Mansas
Hotel Aguas Mansas
#21 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Tosca Hostel
La Tosca Hostel
#1 of 65 in Puerto Madryn
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Gualicho Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Gualicho Hostel

Address: Calle Marcos Antonio Zar 480, Puerto Madryn U9120ARJ, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Madryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Madryn
Price Range: $33 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Gualicho Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central location of the Hostel (1 block from main square and 3 blocks from the beach) allows you to enjoy the facilities of the attractive town and beach of Puerto Madryn.At the hostel we make your way easier so you can have a memorable experience, A great atmosphere to meet other travellers and friendly staff who will tell you all the best places to go.We offer a choice of private or shared accommodation in large bright new rooms around the garden.Shared Rooms: Spacious, light and modern 4 and 6 bed rooms. They all come with a private bathroom, individual lockers and heating. Rooms also have Wi-Fi, sheets , blankets and each bed has it's own individual reading light. Daily maid service.Private Rooms: Spacious, light and modern rooms. They feature a private bathroom, heating and are equipped with comfortable 1.60m wide sommier. Rooms also have Wi-Fi, bedside lamps and large safe (for storing a laptop). Sheets, blankets, towels and soap are included. Daily maid service.There is a fully-equipped kitchen and an attractive dinning room. Our large and beautiful garden is a peaceful space to chill out, and the spacious living room ideal for reading and meeting people.Puerto Madryn is the starting place to discover the rich variety of wildlife that lives in the Peninsula Valdes area. We have our own travel agency , and organise tours in small groups, that are especially designed for independent travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your El Gualicho Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing