We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent travel expertise, helpful hosts, clean facilities, what more can one wish for?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chepatagonia Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Having come all the way to Argentine as participants of a major symposium in choral music the three of us booked a private room at Chepatagonia Hostel way ahead of time just to be on the safe side. The hosts (Maru and Gabriel) were very supportive during all of our preparationp phase, which went so far as to help book a rental car, setting up airport transfer service for us from the major airport in Trelew and more. When finally all our travel seemed difficult due to inland flight cancellations (because of the volcanic ash emission from the Chilenean outbreak...) they were willing to adapt to our needed changes, and they even got us a collection service for the morning of our arrival after a bus transfer of approx. 1500kms from Buenos Aires. No matter what problem arose in our more than 2 weeks of stay, Gabriel and Maru were always available, offered local insights and suggestions, and they had wonderful travel expertise to give as well. What can one say? The symposium in itself turned out to be - unfortunately - very disorganised, if not to say, "a mess", but thanks to our "safe haven" with Maru and Gabriel we have fond memories of that time in Puerto Madryn, we even got taxi transports ordered as needed, and we took home all the excellent mental pictures of happy whales swimming in the bay just in front of the hostel, the flock of wild flamingoes coming in and going again, sea lions and other marine mammals, and, what is most, some true Argentine way of life. Our trip from Central Europe is very far and thus, unfortunately, very expensive, but should I get another chance to return - I'd not hesitate a second and agree! And I would most certainly choose our hosts and their property again for another memorable stay! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: Consider the option of booking a family room for more privacy.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MonikaFahrnberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Chepatagonia Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 162 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2011

I have nothing but praise for this hostel. I stayed in the dorm room of four beds which was comfortable and clean. The kitchen and bathroom were also immaculate. The free breakfast was great too, with plenty of dulce de leche! At the time of my stay, the lady owner was pregnant which just raised the family atmosphere of the place.

All in all, great place, great location and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danno113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

This is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. Super clean rooms and the bathrooms are probably the nicest hostel bathrooms I have ever seen. Clean kitchen, balcony with ocean views... The hostel is a block away from the beach. The staff is also incredibly helpful, booked a tour for us and when we changed rooms they moved our bags to our new room while we were out. They will also pick you up at the bus station, which is great when you feel braindead after a 20+ hour bus ride. If you're going to Puerto Madryn, stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHH381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in the private twin room with shared bath. The room was on the top floor near the kitchen and tv area so got a bit loud at times. But room was good, decent size with comfy beds and shutters to block the sun out in the morning. The bathroom upstairs was shared with 3 other rooms so never a too long wait to use it, there are 3 others throughout the hostel. Breakfast and checkout are a little early, 10am. But they get a really high turnover of people, some people staying in dorms were asked to leave as there bed had been booked and they were full (they only reserved for the one night). Location is great, its 50m from the beach and close to everything. It's about a 15 minute walk to the bus station, but the hostel pays for your cab is you stay 3 or more nights. Tours are same as everywhere, but we were able to get discounts going to other agencies. Staff were great, very friendly and helpful. Overall, a great place and cannot recommend higher.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannonluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Tanto las habitaciones como los espacios comunes son de buena ubicacion y tranquilidad.
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan-ayuyo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chepatagoniahostel, Propietario at Chepatagonia Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leticia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chepatagoniahostel, Propietario at Chepatagonia Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaVesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Madryn hotels
0.1 mi away
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
#2 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
876 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Tulipanes
Los Tulipanes
#3 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piren
Hotel Piren
#1 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Madryn
Hotel Gran Madryn
#14 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Gualicho Hostel
El Gualicho Hostel
#3 of 63 in Puerto Madryn
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Tosca Hostel
La Tosca Hostel
#1 of 63 in Puerto Madryn
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chepatagonia Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chepatagonia Hostel

Address: Calle Alfonsina Storni 16, Puerto Madryn U9120OGB, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Madryn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Madryn
Price Range: $28 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chepatagonia is the only hostel sited a few metres away from the beach. During the whale season, you can see the whales from our balcony!! As our hostel is located in the city centre.We are inviting you to our home, a place with all the comfort, facilities and services you were looking for: private and/or shared rooms; a fully-equipped kitchen; a TV/DVD room; breakfast; internet; WIFI; bathrooms with excellent showers... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Chepatagonia Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing