We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean, and confortable, but”
Review of Hotel Gran Madryn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gran Madryn
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Madryn
Buenos Aires Province
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Modern, clean, and confortable, but”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The room smelled of cigarettes. I booked through Booking for a night (needed a place to crash, driving back from Trevelin to Buenos Aires) and Booking didn't specify it is a smoking hotel. It should be banned, specially considering that less and less places allow smoking in Argentina, and the quantity of tourists that visit P. Madryn. 3rd hand smoke is bad for your health.
The waitress at the breakfast lounge glared at me when I asked her please to change radio stations (a yellow press news program was on repeating on and on harrowing details of a murder) and put some music on. As soon as I left the room she changed back to that ridiculous station.
Lack of parking is also a con, but I found a parking space in front of the hotel. Great locations, right next to the beach and restaurants. Mattress was good, as was the linen. Bathroom should be upgraded a notch.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms facing the sea if there's going to be a show on the beach, you might not get any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinapescadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    77
    65
    17
    8
See reviews for
35
83
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Good value for money. Excellent location. The room was a bit small, difficult to open the window or shutter. Bathroom small and with old furniture but still acceptable for the moderate price. Across the street a good and popular restaurant with seafood. Ok for a short stay on our way between the whales in Puerto Piramides and the penguins in Punta Tombo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsjoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Average hotel for an average price with average accommodations and an average breakfast - it all seemed store-bought, but i guess one can't expect a bit more for the price? no serious issues and the staff were nice. it served its' purpose.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazykitty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with 3 more friends. We took a bedroom for four as it was cheaper in this way. We expected a small bedroom but to our surprise we found a big ,comfortable room with four separate beds and a good complete bathroom. The hotel is very well located some metres away from the beach and very near the centre, maybe 10 minutes walking distance from it. Breakfast is quite good and there is a very good restaurant just across the street. People at the front desk are really kind. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We spent 4 nights here in Jan. 2012. The room was basic but clean (with cable TV and free Wi-Fi.) Breakfast buffet was about average.

The staff were very helpful. Most speak at least basic English, and they made multiple phone calls on our behalf when we had problems with our car rental and when our return flight to B.A. got cancelled due to a volcanic eruption in the Andes.

Our only real complaint is that the towels are small and thin.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrethynDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Do not worth the money
I do not want to use harsh words but I think this hotel gain it.
It was relative expensive without a reason
The rooms are small not so clean and our room the face the street suffers from laud noises.
The breakfast was reasonable but they charge us 2 pesos for hot water.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shlomokg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Madryn hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Stayed here as a base for Peninsula Valdes and Punto Tombo, so weren't too fussy about having a view (which this hotel does not) or hotel amenities, but we took to calling it the Grim Madryn very soon after arrival. We had to change rooms the first night due to waking up in the morning to really smelly water (sewage?) all over the bathroom floor. When we told the front desk, they said they would see about it but didn't allow us to move rooms until later that evening. The walls were paper thin, we could hear someone opening a plastic carrier bag in the next room. It also reeked of smoke, despite being a non-smoking room. The beds were very old, with a block of foam for a pillow. The hotel staff was somewhat helpful, but they were very cold and did not show any of the hospitality Argentina is famous for. We're honestly not that fussy but this was really terrible.
Good points - It is only one row of houses back from the waterfront and close to restaurants, but so are many other hotels in the area. It's a good deal compared to other hotels in the area but still very expensive for the quality.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppy093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Madryn hotels
0.1 mi away
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
#2 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
829 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Tulipanes
Los Tulipanes
#4 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
#6 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piren
Hotel Piren
#1 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
666 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
#3 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Australis Yene hue
Australis Yene hue
#11 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Madryn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Madryn

Property: Hotel Gran Madryn
Address: Calle Leopoldo Lugones 40, Puerto Madryn 9120, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Madryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Madryn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Madryn 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gran Madryn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Madryn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing