We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gran Madryn”
Review of Hotel Gran Madryn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gran Madryn
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Madryn
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Good value for money. Excellent location. The room was a bit small, difficult to open the window or shutter. Bathroom small and with old furniture but still acceptable for the moderate price. Across the street a good and popular restaurant with seafood. Ok for a short stay on our way between the whales in Puerto Piramides and the penguins in Punta Tombo.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tsjoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 194 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

Average hotel for an average price with average accommodations and an average breakfast - it all seemed store-bought, but i guess one can't expect a bit more for the price? no serious issues and the staff were nice. it served its' purpose.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazykitty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with 3 more friends. We took a bedroom for four as it was cheaper in this way. We expected a small bedroom but to our surprise we found a big ,comfortable room with four separate beds and a good complete bathroom. The hotel is very well located some metres away from the beach and very near the centre, maybe 10 minutes walking distance from it. Breakfast is quite good and there is a very good restaurant just across the street. People at the front desk are really kind. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We spent 4 nights here in Jan. 2012. The room was basic but clean (with cable TV and free Wi-Fi.) Breakfast buffet was about average.

The staff were very helpful. Most speak at least basic English, and they made multiple phone calls on our behalf when we had problems with our car rental and when our return flight to B.A. got cancelled due to a volcanic eruption in the Andes.

Our only real complaint is that the towels are small and thin.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrethynDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Do not worth the money
I do not want to use harsh words but I think this hotel gain it.
It was relative expensive without a reason
The rooms are small not so clean and our room the face the street suffers from laud noises.
The breakfast was reasonable but they charge us 2 pesos for hot water.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shlomokg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Stayed here as a base for Peninsula Valdes and Punto Tombo, so weren't too fussy about having a view (which this hotel does not) or hotel amenities, but we took to calling it the Grim Madryn very soon after arrival. We had to change rooms the first night due to waking up in the morning to really smelly water (sewage?) all over the bathroom floor. When we told the front desk, they said they would see about it but didn't allow us to move rooms until later that evening. The walls were paper thin, we could hear someone opening a plastic carrier bag in the next room. It also reeked of smoke, despite being a non-smoking room. The beds were very old, with a block of foam for a pillow. The hotel staff was somewhat helpful, but they were very cold and did not show any of the hospitality Argentina is famous for. We're honestly not that fussy but this was really terrible.
Good points - It is only one row of houses back from the waterfront and close to restaurants, but so are many other hotels in the area. It's a good deal compared to other hotels in the area but still very expensive for the quality.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poppy093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

I enjoyed this hotel which I found on Trip Advisor. It is smallish but very clean and modern. location is good for walking to some local restaurants and the water is one block away. My room and bath were great as was the cable TV. No wifi except in the lobby-so that was a bit of a hassle. Not much wifi available in the town either. The staff was very helpful although English was limited. I speak Spanish at intermediate level so no problem here. They helped me arrange 3 different day tours for whale watching and the penguin colony-all were enjoyable! Breakfast was included. There is a very affordable van from the airport in Trelew and they arranged to have me picked up for the flight back to BA. Be aware that there is a 20% tax in addition to the quoted rate. Still a good value for me-and very safe!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Madryn hotels
0.1 mi away
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
#2 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
#5 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Tulipanes
Los Tulipanes
#3 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
#6 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piren
Hotel Piren
#1 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
725 reviews
0.1 mi away
Costanera Hotel
Costanera Hotel
#16 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Madryn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Madryn

Address: Calle Leopoldo Lugones 40, Puerto Madryn 9120, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Madryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Madryn
Price Range: $71 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Madryn 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Otel, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gran Madryn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Madryn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing