We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not worth the money”
Review of Hotel Gran Madryn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gran Madryn
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Madryn
Modiin, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“do not worth the money”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Do not worth the money
I do not want to use harsh words but I think this hotel gain it.
It was relative expensive without a reason
The rooms are small not so clean and our room the face the street suffers from laud noises.
The breakfast was reasonable but they charge us 2 pesos for hot water.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shlomokg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    77
    65
    17
    8
See reviews for
35
83
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Stayed here as a base for Peninsula Valdes and Punto Tombo, so weren't too fussy about having a view (which this hotel does not) or hotel amenities, but we took to calling it the Grim Madryn very soon after arrival. We had to change rooms the first night due to waking up in the morning to really smelly water (sewage?) all over the bathroom floor. When we told the front desk, they said they would see about it but didn't allow us to move rooms until later that evening. The walls were paper thin, we could hear someone opening a plastic carrier bag in the next room. It also reeked of smoke, despite being a non-smoking room. The beds were very old, with a block of foam for a pillow. The hotel staff was somewhat helpful, but they were very cold and did not show any of the hospitality Argentina is famous for. We're honestly not that fussy but this was really terrible.
Good points - It is only one row of houses back from the waterfront and close to restaurants, but so are many other hotels in the area. It's a good deal compared to other hotels in the area but still very expensive for the quality.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppy093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Madryn hotels

Miami Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

I enjoyed this hotel which I found on Trip Advisor. It is smallish but very clean and modern. location is good for walking to some local restaurants and the water is one block away. My room and bath were great as was the cable TV. No wifi except in the lobby-so that was a bit of a hassle. Not much wifi available in the town either. The staff was very helpful although English was limited. I speak Spanish at intermediate level so no problem here. They helped me arrange 3 different day tours for whale watching and the penguin colony-all were enjoyable! Breakfast was included. There is a very affordable van from the airport in Trelew and they arranged to have me picked up for the flight back to BA. Be aware that there is a 20% tax in addition to the quoted rate. Still a good value for me-and very safe!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Puerto Madryn has a lot of hotels- just many of them are not available to book on a hotel consolidation website. This place was depressing. We paid $80 US per night for a room with shoddy furniture (two rundown bedstands, chair and a tall tiny card table?) and bed. No safe or hairdrier. No internet center. It looks like they updated the lobby and eating areas which look pleasant, but ran out of money to redo the rest of the place. The elevator was out of service and the downstairs bathroom was flooding. Breakfast was standard: tea, coffee, milk, medialunas (local croissants) and bread, jams, dulce de leche, thinly sliced ham and cheese which are tasteless, liquid yogurt, juices and corn flakes. Nothing special but fine. We ended up staying at a hotel called Hotel Apart Patagonia just a block up the street for the same price and really preferred it. Much more updated furniture. And all the amenities the last one lacked plus a bathtub! Breakfast was the same and staff was more motivated and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100lat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Charged as a no show when delayed a day. Gave 24 hours notice by phone but was still notified I'd be charged for first night...
COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE!!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyBlackwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2010

I stayed there for 2 nights and really enjoy the room and service. The people are very nice and helpful. I don't speak spanish so I send them emails to ask around the trip and transportation before hand. and actually get timely and valuable feedback about everything. So I just book 2 day's trip from them and have a very good weekend.

Besides, the room are very clean. It's small, but considering the low price, I would say it's a good value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henryzhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

My husband I booked this hotel based on the recommendation of Frommer's and it did not disappoint. It is located right off the water, with simple, but clean rooms. Our room had a balcony, which I recommend you ask for. There was a table and two chairs outside that our husband and I used to watch the sunrise and sunset- spectacular! Also, when we told them we had to check out very early to catch a 6 a.m. flight in Trelew, they prepared a truncated version of their full breakfast for us... at 4:30 a.m. Great hotel for a great price and loved the hotel's adorable Golden retriever mix.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MondialeNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Madryn hotels
0.1 mi away
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
#2 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
#6 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Tulipanes
Los Tulipanes
#3 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piren
Hotel Piren
#1 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
666 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
Rayentray Puerto Madryn Hotel
#4 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
527 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Posada de Madryn
La Posada de Madryn
#9 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Madryn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Madryn

Property: Hotel Gran Madryn
Address: Calle Leopoldo Lugones 40, Puerto Madryn 9120, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Madryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Madryn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Madryn 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Gran Madryn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Madryn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing