We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit of paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Los Mimbres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Los Mimbres
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gaiman
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We had such a wonderful stay at Posada Los Mimbres, not least due to the fabulous host Marcela. She is a real gem- so friendly and informative and made us feel right at home. We were able to wander the farm and totally relax. The farmhouse is beautiful and surrounded by the biggest skies. Viewing the stars one night was incredible. Marcela is also a great cook and we enjoyed a delicious meal of empanadas, followed by steak. Breakfast was good and the honesty bar was useful! Her recommendations for places to eat/drink (Gwalia Lan, Plas y Coed, Hotel Touring Club) were spot on. If you hire a car you'll really be able to explore the area and find it easier for getting in to Gaiman and Trelew. We followed the Welsh chapels and enjoyed some lovely drives through the surrounding countryside. A beautiful and very special place!

Room Tip: The rooms in the old farmhouse are so quaint and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Just into our first week of our month's trip to Argentina. As specialists in adventure and expedition travel we were looking for ideal locations to add to Explorer Travel's portfolio to recommend to our clients. We arrived at Gaiman a day earlier than we originally planned and decided to see if it was possible to stay an extra night at Posada Los Mimbres. We were not disappointed the owner was so helpful and we had a wonderful stay in the old farmhouse originally owned by some Welsh settlers. We had a very pleasant room with en suite facilities. The gardens were well tended and a pleasure to sit in and while away the time.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Explorer Expedi... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

For those of you who are travelling on the Eastern side of Patagonia - Puerto Madryn area. there is a jewel of a place in a former Welsh settlement less than 16 km away from Trelew.
We spent three wonderful days/nights here - and enjoyed the place so much, we found it difficult to tear ourselves away.
The dueña - i.e. the owner - is a wonderful lady who clearly likes contact with people and really makes you feel at home. The place has a really English feel to it and is set in a beautiful property about 6 km from the centre of Gaiman.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 74140PeterS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late at night after a long day and Marcella could not have made us more welcome. Too late for a big meal but we were served lovely freshly baked Empanadas which were the best we tasted along with a couple of excellent bottles of Malbec.

The rooms were lovely and comfortable and the Posada was set in lovely grounds - we would have loved to have stayed longer.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kymosavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed 4 nights with our 2 granddaughters (7 & 10) and had a great time. Marcella is an excellent host and chef! Gaiman has good restaurants, but Marcella & staff prepared fine dinners for us and others 3 nights. Her calamari was best ever. And the breakfasts were very good, esp. the coffee. We were offered our choice of rooms in the old renovated farmhouse or the new villa. All rooms included private bath and were attractive, but we chose the charming farmhouse. The grounds were extensive and well cared for with lots of walking opportunities. The quiet location is only 5 min. drive from Gaiman. Marcerlla, a former tour guide, had many excellent suggestions for all of the outdoor activities in the region, including whatle watching out of Puerto Piramades, penguins at Punto Tombo, dolphins out of Puerto Rawson, and even which Welsh teahouse to visit in Gaiman. We've been to many estancias in Argentina and this one was possibly the best yet. Mike & Judy Holman, USA

Room Tip: All roms are good in both houses
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Posada Los Mimbres is a place to relax, reflect and renew....
We stayed in the new home edition at Posada Los Mimbres. Marcela greeted us with afternoon tea and showed us to our room. It had been a long trip; so we took an afternoon siesta with the windows opened filling our room with fresh country air. Our room overlooked the enchanted gardens. The trees rustled as the wind blew along with song birds everywhere. The afternoon sun peaked through the trees...Later in the evening; we joined several other guests at the home and shared travel adventures over dinner . Marcela helped us plan our trip to Punto Tombo to walk with the Penguins. Later, she shared stories about the history of Gaiman and the welsh descendants.

One evening after returning from dinner at Michel Angels in Trelew, we noticed the clear night skies dotted with every constellation. We had our iPhone (AT&T) with us so we turned on the Sky Walk application. It helped to identify what stars and constellations we were observing. If you enjoy star gazing: this is the perfect place to bring your telescope.

Marcela and her staff were very accommodating with five star service. Each and every request was accommodated with pleasure.

If you are planning a trip to the Trelew area for Whale watching or to walk with the Penguins; I highly recommend Posado Los Mimbres. You are in the heart of the Welsh community surrounded by the famous Welsh tea houses, close proximity to the paleontological museum, and mid-point to the Whale watching in Puerto Pyramides and Punto Tombo which is the nesting grounds of the Magellanic Penguins.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brrliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

Extended family stayed at this lovely destination for two nights while visiting the area. It was delightful. We arranged for dinner our first night. It was a delicious home cooked meal. Two sisters and I shared a room that was very comfortable with a good shower and nice amenities. My only suggestion would be to provide more light. The common dining area and sitting room was wonderful with a warm fire. Our hostess was the mostess. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasaTuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiman
9.7 mi away
Patagonia Suites & Apart
9.4 mi away
Libertador Hotel
Libertador Hotel
#2 of 7 in Trelew
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Touring Club
Hotel Touring Club
#40 of 62 in Province of Chubut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hotel Galicia
Hotel Galicia
#3 of 7 in Trelew
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Plas y Coed Residencial
8.9 mi away
La Casona del Rio
La Casona del Rio
#2 of 5 in Trelew
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Los Mimbres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Los Mimbres

Property: Posada Los Mimbres
Address: Chacra 211, Gaiman 9105, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Gaiman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gaiman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Los Mimbres combines with warm welcome the services of the rural host with the fascinating history. Within easy reach,in a quiet sourrunding by the Chubut river. It's the turning point to discover the Valdes Peninsula wonders and the natural history and paleontology of the Chubut river valley. Home coking is sinonim of great hospitality. The ideal place for a real rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Posada Los Mimbres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing