We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, spacious, alpine style accommodation with friendly owners who make great cakes.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Canela B&B
Ranked #1 of 9 Esquel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yoxall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Homely, spacious, alpine style accommodation with friendly owners who make great cakes.”
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Homely, alpine style B&B with clean, cosy and spacious family rooms. Jorge and Veronica are very friendly and helpful hosts who will help organise train or ferry tickets effortlessly even at last minute requests. We are so spoilt by the delicious cakes Veronica makes for our breakfast every morning. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    34
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
111
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed one night at Hosteria Canela in Esquel and we loved it very much. It is a very nice house and the owners Jorge and Veronica are very kind. They love to tell you about their country and the history of Patagonia. The house is beautiful and located in nice surroundings just outside the centre of Esquel. They have a large garden which is good for kids to play in together with their dog. The rooms are big and clean and the breakfast is good.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aber
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Hosteria is like a home from home. The breakfasts were excellent,ample helpings and very tasty! The bedrooms were spotless, roomy and I slept like a top.
The Hosteria is situated on the outskirts of the town but within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoopas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2009

What a pleasure to spend 3 nights in this amazing Bed & Breakfast. Our hosts were extremely accomodating in either English or Spanish. We felt welcome, secure, and well cared for. It was more like being welcomed into the home of friends. Fresh fruits and homemade breads were highlights of breakfast. Our privacy was respected, but we were very well attended to. Extra help in locating a local rental car was much appreciated. Our room with king bed was comfortable very nicely decorated. Our private bathroom was immaculate and met our every need. My wife & I would love to return to this beautiful property. Many thanks to Jorge & Veronica - owners & hosts.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Hosteria Canela B&B for one night during a 5 day tour of Northern Patagonia. The rate was the most reasonable of any of the places we stayed, the breakfast was the best (lots of variety), and the host, Jorge, was incredibly gracious.
Specifically, Jorge was able to able to suggest (in perfect English) the points of interest at the nearby National Park (providing insights that weren't included in our travel books).
Our only regret was that we didn't have more days to spend there!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagowestlooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Barths
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2008

After traveling through Argentina by car for 5 months, our stay at Canela proved to be one of the most positive experiences of the journey. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers and rather than describe our stay in many sentences we'll use facts: Probably the most comfortable beds in Argentina, and that is sometimes an issue. The layout of the facility creates total privacy for quests and yet the common room and breakfast area are only steps from one's room. The parking is also only steps from the bedrooms. The coffee table books and information available from Jorge and Veronica is the equivalent of a college course on Patagonia. Our 12 year old daughter wanted to return strictly for the breakfast. It is the only facility to which we returned during our our 10,000 kms tour. We are also extremely discriminating guests as we run a villa rental business in the Caribbean and know what it takes to make a place tick like the Canela does. There is a constant attention to detail and yet there is the feeling you have been left alone to enjoy a pristine home. I'm certain there are other good places to stay in Esquel, but as long as Canela is taking guests and has room for us we will never experience them.

John and Jennifer Wayne
St. Barths F.W.I.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank Dukewyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Our hosts made all 8 of us feel very welcome. The hosteria is surrounded by beautiful gardens making the setting very peaceful and relaxing. Our hosts were so knowledgable about the area that there was no need to visit the tourist office in town. We spent two memorable nights at this lovely location. We were treated to delicious breakfasts and the rooms were beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.

We do look forward to a return visit.

  • Liked — the peaceful setting and knowledgeable hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanuks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Esquel hotels
1.4 mi away
Las Bayas Hotel
Las Bayas Hotel
#1 of 11 in Esquel
169 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hosteria El Coiron
Hosteria El Coiron
#5 of 11 in Esquel
58 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sol Del Sur
Hotel Sol Del Sur
#7 of 11 in Esquel
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ibai ko Mendi
Ibai ko Mendi
#7 of 54 in Esquel
72 reviews
1.2 mi away
Patagonia Apart
Patagonia Apart
#1 of 54 in Esquel
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Mapuche
Tierra Mapuche
#2 of 9 in Esquel
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Canela B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Canela B&B

Property: Hosteria Canela B&B
Address: Los Notros 1440, Villa Ayelen, Esquel 9200, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Esquel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Esquel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A solid, elegant 6-bedroom brick-and-timber house surrounded by an ample lawn and pine trees, Hosteria Canela B&B provides quality lodging in a homelike atmosphere. Our location in Villa Ayelen, a residential district just a mile away from Esquel center, offers the best of two worlds: cable TV, free wireless Internet, restaurants and shops just five minutes away, taxis, laundry, and other services while letting you enjoy free, in-premises parking, a quiet environment and beautiful views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hosteria Canela B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing