We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Quiet, Perfect Setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hosteria Canela B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Canela B&B
Ranked #1 of 9 Esquel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Quiet, Perfect Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed a couple nights and loved the quiet, cozy atmosphere. Location is nice, being just outside of the town but still reasonably close. Rooms and bathrooms were immaculately clean and comfortable. The common room was full of beautiful art and photography, a warm fireplace, as well as unique and interesting books about the area. The breakfast was filing, had a good selection, and included high quality items. The hosts, Jorge and Veronica, complete the experience with great hospitality, friendly smiles, and a deep connection to the history of Patagonia.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWilkinson85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your great review on Hosteria Canela B&B. How good to know you enjoyed your stay with us during your short visit to Esquel. We sincerely appreciate your interest in the rich history of our region; Patagonia this beautiful faraway land that can provide both leisure and recreation, and also some challenges for adventure-seekers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    32
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
108
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Hosteria Canela B+B is a great place to stay. The hosts are friendly, the breakfast is plentiful and tasty, and the rooms are comfortable. Interesting books on the history of the area were available in the fireplace-warmed common room. It is a short car ride from the center of town.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank russell_woodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Russell and Jane

Thanks a lot for your review, so good to know you enjoyed your stay at Canela. Jane seemed quite interested in Veronica's father memoirs "My Life in Patagonia," the story of a first-generation Anglo-Argentinean city guy (and a cricket player at that), who came to Patagonia back in 1948 to establish himself with his wife of South African descent on a remote farm in southern Chubut, close to the Chilean border. I believe Vero missed the opportunity to present you with a copy. Next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, uk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

Jorge and Veronica are the heart and soul of their B&B - they couldn't have been more helpful in organising La Trochita tickets and a day trip to the Alerces, taxis, and recommending places to eat. We had a delightful experience staying there for two nights and enjoyed learning more about the area from two experts who know it well. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable and we would very happily stay here again - especially to spend more time with Jorge and Veronica. Many thanks to you both! PS - the morning breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skcswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thanks for your wonderful review. It is our pleasure to help our guests make the most of their visit to Esquel and their stay with us, so it's very nice to know you had a good time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

After traveling in Chile for two months i needed a place to relax
and rest. the room was perfect. Very clean, quite and comfortable with its own
private entrance. Jorge and Veronica were exceptional hosts.
would highly recommend. Thanks for the stay!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 50207John44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear John,
Our sincere thanks you for your stay at Canela. We are happy to know you could relax and have a rest after your long trip. That bright and homely twin-bed room you were staying at is perfect for a single guest looking for some privacy and peace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

We enjoyed very much our 2 night stay at Canela. The hosts went out of their way to help us in arranging the tours that we wanted to do. Breakfast was good. We slept like angels - not only because we were tired from the hikes, but also because of the good quality bed and the restful environment and general quietness of the place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear Mr Dorit,
Thank you for your fine review. We really appreciate it when much-traveled, discriminating persons like you let the Trip Advisor community know they had a comfortable stay at Hosteria Canela. It really helps our business, and, furthermore, offers a knowledgeable view of our area to people looking to get the most of their stay in Esquel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

Jorge and Veronica are the perfect hosts! We had decided to visit Patagonia primarily to see La Trochita, but also to experience Patagonia as well and were very fortunate to stay with Jorge and Veronica who are very much local experts on both! Jorge knows most of the staff who work on the railway, so was able to organise extras not normally available to tourists such as a ride on footplate and a visit to the workshops at El Maiten. Other highlights included Welsh tea at 'Nain Maggies' in Trevelin and a visit to Los Ilerces National Park. The B&B is very comfortable and within walking distance of a couple of good restaurants. To get to a wider range of shops and restaurants you need to take a 30min walk or a taxi (or Jorge may even offer to take you if he's free!)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris5andjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Hi Chris and Jo,
Thanks for having chosen Canela for your stay in Esquel. I recall that long day when we almost traveled along the whole map of the Esquel, El Maiten and Cholila areas, plus the Los Alerces National Park, and then some! Everything went so well, and I also remember how knowledgeable you were about the Baldwin or Henschel locomotive parts at the railway's workshop. The man in charge was amazed, what with those 90-year old pieces! And Jo being so patient during our (short) photo sessions...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

Hosteria Canela B&B in Esquel, is well located near the main highway, in a nice residential neighborhood that is quiet and peaceful. The Hosteria is a large older home that has been completely recyled/remodeled, and is beautifully furnished in comfortable country style. The owners, Veronica and Jorge, are wonderful hosts, and both speak pretty good English. Anything you need, they are very accommodating. The rooms are spacious, especially those at the front of the house (if possible request the upstairs room over the dining room), and the bathrooms are large by Argentine standard and equipped with everything from hairdryers to custom soaps and shampoos. No roughing it here. Sheets, comforters and pillows are high quality luxury hotel grade. Very nice after a long day on the river. Wireless internet is available in the rooms and living area. And the breakfasts (included in the rate) are fabulous. Eggs can be made to order, and along with the standard cheeses, hams, cereals, and fresh fruits, Veronica whips up the best scones we've ever tasted, plus an assortment of other baked goods that can definitely fatten you up if your not careful. Veronica and Jorge's son-in-law, Nico Botting, is a super fly fishing guide, so if you want to catch some fish and see the areas best rivers and lakes, we highly recommend you book a day or more with Nico. Nico has a professional quality raft, SUV, and he provides a wonderful lunch on the river along with all the flies you'll need. If you want to fish the Rivadavia, Rio Grande, and other famed waters in this area, Nico is your man. A last word; you really need to rent a car to enjoy staying in this area. Disfrutes. Stephen and Kim Vletas

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank svletas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamsur, Owner at Hosteria Canela B&B, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear Stephen and Kim,
Coming from you,Stephen, an experienced fly fisherman, it's incredibly valuable for us to have gotten such a nice review of the Esquel area's fishing possibilities, our son-in-law's guiding abilities, and Hosteria Canela's central location to enjoy all those creeks, rivers and lakes. Don't fail to come again, I heard there are still many different environments you should try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esquel
1.4 mi away
Las Bayas Hotel
Las Bayas Hotel
#1 of 12 in Esquel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hosteria Futalaufquen
Hosteria Futalaufquen
#3 of 12 in Esquel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hosteria El Coiron
Hosteria El Coiron
#5 of 12 in Esquel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hostel Casa del Pueblo
Hostel Casa del Pueblo
#9 of 55 in Esquel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hosteria Casa de Piedra
Hosteria Casa de Piedra
#1 of 4 in Trevelin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.2 mi away
Patagonia Apart
Patagonia Apart
#1 of 55 in Esquel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Canela B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Canela B&B

Property: Hosteria Canela B&B
Address: Los Notros 1440, Villa Ayelen, Esquel 9200, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Esquel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Esquel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A solid, elegant 6-bedroom brick-and-timber house surrounded by an ample lawn and pine trees, Hosteria Canela B&B provides quality lodging in a homelike atmosphere. Our location in Villa Ayelen, a residential district just a mile away from Esquel center, offers the best of two worlds: cable TV, free wireless Internet, restaurants and shops just five minutes away, taxis, laundry, and other services while letting you enjoy free, in-premises parking, a quiet environment and beautiful views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hosteria Canela B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing