We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good common area”
Review of Planeta Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Planeta Hostel
Ranked #7 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Esquel
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed this hostel. The breakfast was really nice, the bathrooms were plentiful and the common area was also very good. The town of esquel is nice as well and definitely has a different vibe the the other stops along the route. The only negative was that the rooms were small.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank snailbait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 101 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

We only had one night here but everything was good. We would stay here again. I give it a 4 star rating instead of 3 because the kitchen was very good, and that's hard to find in hostels when traveling.

The good - Kitchen is more than decent with plenty of cooking space and utensils/cookware - one of the better kitchens we've come across. Friendly staff helped us out several times. Several different common areas gave you space to spread out and also meet people. Breakfast was decent, by Argentine standards.

The bad - The one bathroom I was using was a bit dirty in the tub/shower. Also, there was no air conditioning in our room so it was pretty hot at night. Only one kind of crappy computer to share with everyone else.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, pick the bed nearest the window. Without air conditioning, you will appreciate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1ERomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We liked our stay there. We had a private room with a very confortable bed and a shared bathroom. Is was clean. The access to the kitchen is very useful and the included breakfast is simple but good. The kitchen itself is a nice place to stay. We used it during a long time to organize our trips around.
The only drawback was the blond lady at the reception who is rather unfriendly and impolite. We were wondering why she would not change of job as she was angry against all tourists staying at her hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MatSoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The hostel has a few small dorm rooms and two (very) small doubles. It is clean and tidy but everythign feels a bit cramped, not least the toilets and showers! The kitchen is reasonably large and there is a courtyard area at the rear which is nice when the sun is out.

The main problem with this place is that the fmaily seems to live on-site, which means they are often cooking in the kitchen and the kids are watching TV is the louge area which means that nobody else can use it. All good and well advertising a big kitchen and louge with dvd / tv, etc but if you can't use the facilities because the owners are then it is pointless having them really!

In summary the hostel is ok for a night or two but if you were staying any longer than that you would probably want to look elsewhere...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ss1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

The place is comfortable, clean and secure. The new location is in plain center. Gus is really friendly and will pay close atention to your needs. The place has classy taste, with a wide and well equiped Kitchen. The only issue would be the closeness to club that makes some noise on frydays (wich is not intolerable but present) if you are in one of the dorms closer to it. All things considered it is a great place, has a great price/service balance, and worths every cent, I would cerntainly stay again when oportunity comes.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank poetskeleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

Home like, young, friendly and sweet.

Its owned by a young and charming couple who make it its home at the off season. You feel like you are home at one. Service is provided and English, Spanish and Hebrew. The place is a house artistically converted into a cool hostel. It is my favorite so far. Great for back packers but not only. A place I would love to go back to.

It is clean, the kitchen is convenient and there is a nice living room where you can watch movies, read or go on line. Its a good one.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank belizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GustavoGaleazzi, Propietario at Planeta Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Esquel hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostel Casa del Pueblo
Hostel Casa del Pueblo
#6 of 55 in Esquel
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residencial Ski
Residencial Ski
#10 of 11 in Esquel
22 reviews
0 mi away
Las Bayas Hotel
Las Bayas Hotel
#1 of 11 in Esquel
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Hosteria Futalaufquen
Hosteria Futalaufquen
#3 of 11 in Esquel
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Departamentos Lizkar
Departamentos Lizkar
#31 of 55 in Esquel
9 reviews
1.1 mi away
Esquel Apart
Esquel Apart
#10 of 55 in Esquel
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planeta Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planeta Hostel

Address: Avenida Alvear 1021 | Centro, Esquel U9200AXK, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Esquel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Esquel
Price Range: $29 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're specialists in Mountain Boarding, Mountain Biking, and Climbing. We have access and know the best places to perform these activities. We'll take you to the adventure, aiming for that adrenaline you’re looking for.Our indoor climbing wall allows us to keep climbing going on during winter while other’s fingers are frizzing outside!Take home the best memories from Patagonia, and take this great opportunity to get in touch with the wild and one of the few remotes places in earth.Accommodation InformationWe offer a place with limited capacity of up to ten persons. The idea is to give our customers the best service and facilities. We believe that comfort is all about details which achieve an enjoyable place. Vivid colors, comfortable sofas, hand painted chairs, feather comforters in our beds, etc...Location InformationWe try to stay as close as possible to the mountain, driven by our loving feeling. That’s why we believe that we can give you an 'adventure seasoning' through your stay at Planeta Hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Planeta Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing