We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location and Service. Food not great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tafi del Valle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2010

A wonderful location and excellent service to make sure your stay is comfortable. Beautifully decorated, remote-feeling, lots of animals on the estancia. Asked to do a horseback ride upon arrival and one was put together for us almost instantly even though the riding staff had the day off (one of the employees from "inside" took us for a ride around the vast estancia). Food was only "OK", not a culinary experience. Beef was extremely tough and tasteless and was left on our plates. The kitchen was out of 2 of the 5 dishes we originally ordered, too. While our room was beautifully decorated and well-appointed, we faced the corral which was quite noisy in the early morning. We had two rooms total and one of them did not have blackout curtains so the bright morning sunrise shone right in. For a future visit I would make sure to have a room facing away from the corral and make sure it has good curtains.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpcvx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 207 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights as a starting point for our trip towards Cafayate, following through to Salta and then to Jujuy. Fantastically relaxing place to spend a few days surrounded by brilliant landscape of the mountains and streams. What made it particularly special was the fact that the family welcomed us visitors to a working farm (making gorgeous cheeses - they do a very enjoyable tour of the cheese making process as well!) which is something one does not get to do very often.
Food and local wines in the restaurant were of excellent quality (try the flan for pudding - fab!), using many ingredients from the farm (e.g. fondue, llama steaks, llama meat empanadas).
Rooms were decorated with local artisan textiles, were well heated, luxurious and clean. We got here by bus from Tucuman->Tafi de Valle and then by a local taxi (25pesos), but to really explore the area and the wealth of interesting sites the area has to offer, a hire car may be better.
Highly recommended estancia!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buzzing_Fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed there for three days in april. The location is really beautifull with green hills, small rivers and Llamas wandering around the farm grounds. It is an ideal place for a getaway with crisp fresh air and opportunities for hiking and horseback rididng. The ranch itself is an old rebuilt mansion, very charming and comfortable. It has a very nice balance between keeping the charm and atmosphere of the old buildings, and at the same the room and bathroom are both clean and comfortable with all that you need. Including a open fireplace in your room.
Last but not least, I want to mention the service that was second to none. Seriously, I have never stayed in any hotel with such friendly and attentive service,. Much to be preferred over the standard professionalism from your average hotel. Inéz, the young woman refered to in some of the other reviews, went with us on several of our tours around the farm and we had a great time talking and learning more about Las Carreras and Argentine, she speaks excellent english which was a big help since our spanish isn't very good.

Morten and Nana from Denmark

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osterbroCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Didn't stay here--Came here on an excursion with a group--a quick stop at an estancia to see the animals, cheese, etc. and it was absolutely beautiful. Paid an entrance fee of 5 pesos which included a coffee and guided tour. Seems like a great place to get away, relax and see a real working farm. Would highly recommend staying there, but only if you're driving--its a little out of the way.

Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
Thank baexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2007

We have plan to expend only one night and at the end we decide to stay 3 days. And it was the decision in our travel
We have always dreamt of horse riding on an argentinian estancia, and we made thise dream reality in Las Carreras.
We finally found a little piece of heaven right here. Inés the encharge and and her wonderful team always make you felt at home. In these place you can find the best argentinian food. You can´t lose the waterfall treckking or the country on horseback.
The room cost 330 pesos per night with buffet breakfast incluided and it presented excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank verito_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

This beautiful collection of whitewashed buildings is based in a valley about a 15 minute drive from Tafi de Valle. We arrived on an early morning bus from Tucuman that pvoided stunning views of the region as we climbed through a series of turns through the forest. We made the mistake of catching a taxi from the bus station when they would have been perfectly happy to pick us up.

The food is unusually innovative fior Argentina and the chef tries to make full use of the ingredients available on the estancia. This includes steaks, llama, regional locro stews and liberal use of the excellent Manchego cheese mentioned by other reviewers. This included a pasta dish with cheese and apple (hard to describe but it worked). There's also a good wine selection from the Cafayate area. The prices are no dearer than a typical restaurant so we didn't need to go back to Tafi.

The rooms are based around a pretty courtyard and are decorated in warm colours. From the bedroom window we had a good view of the brook and the mountains stretching off into the distance. Watching the sunrise was a memorable experience.

It's sometimes hard to remember that this is a working estancia but we had the chance to watch the chesse being made and also took a half day horse ride along the valley to see the property. We also took a half day walk to the Cascadas Alisos guided by one of the staff. This culminated at a stunning waterfall that was still partly frozen after the recent cold snap. Both of these activities were less than 100 pesos for two which was much cheaper than similar experiences offered by local agencies (these might also be available for non-residents).

The room cost 330 pesos per night and whilst it was one of our dearer stops it still presented excellent value for money. The estancia can be contacted directly by searching for estancia las carreras on the internet and Ines, the manager speaks good English.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackeberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2007

Parts of this small and beautiful construction of rooms, porches, and cloisters were built by Jesuits before they were expelled from Argentina by the King of Spain in the 1700's. The family that bought it from the Crown still owns it and operates it as a ranch which produces delicious Manchego style cheeses and grows strawberries and other fruits. The pastures are full of a paradise of wildflowers, and the ranch itself sits in a valley surrounded by powerful hills. The chef is excellent, the small group of employees are helpful and friendly, and the proprietress and her family are entirely gracious and welcoming. Moreover, the cost is very low. Wherever you stay subsequently, you will probably be offended to find yourself feeling like a foreigner in a hotel instead of a befriended guest. If you are going to Argentina, it is worth a special trip to go to this magical place.

Stayed: February 2007
5  Thank PeregrineWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tafi del Valle hotels
6.3 mi away
Estancia Las Tacanas
Estancia Las Tacanas
#4 of 5 in Tafi del Valle
47 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hosteria Lunahuana
Hosteria Lunahuana
#2 of 5 in Tafi del Valle
190 reviews
7.3 mi away
Mirador del Tafi Hotel
Mirador del Tafi Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tafi del Valle
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Cabanas del Valle
Cabanas del Valle
#1 of 38 in Tafi del Valle
169 reviews
7.5 mi away
Waynay Killa Hotel
Waynay Killa Hotel
#3 of 12 in Tafi del Valle
66 reviews
5.8 mi away
Descanso de las Piedras
Descanso de las Piedras
#2 of 38 in Tafi del Valle
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica

Address: Ruta Provincal 325 Km. 13, Tafi del Valle, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Tucuman > Tafi del Valle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tafi del Valle
Price Range: $133 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing