We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful secluded Estancia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tafi del Valle
Certificate of Excellence
Rome - Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful secluded Estancia”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I stayed one night in this beautiful estancia located close to Tafi del Valle. It's not easy to get there but it's worthy!!! The estancia is an old jesuit building dated in the 18th century. Rooms are very comfortable and the restaurant is superb! Unfortunately I couldn't enjoy the activities planned at the Estancia because I stopped only before heading to Cachi through the Routa 40. The owner gave me a lot of useful info about my trip in the North of Argentina.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabioRicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    45
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
74
79
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We loved our 2 nights at Estancia Las Carreras. Built by Jesuits over 200 years ago, this is a place with a story to tell, and at night when they light candles throughout the patio and main house, it is a magical place! We enjoyed seeing how they make their own cheese and dulce de leche, and the other activities of the estancia. The staff are outstanding, and the food is delicious and surprising to find gourmet dishes at such a small property.
Expertly led by Hernan, We went on a trail ride, way to the top peak of the closest mountain- inspiring views, and a lovely mountain top picnic with homemade breads and cheese.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lainba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Las Carreras is one of the top places to stay in the area of Tafi del Valle. While it is technically an Estancia, it would be wrong to compare it with a traditional estancia such as you would find in the Province of Buenos Aires. This area has a different terrain, and activities are different to what you would have in the Pampas area. Staff is very friendly and try very hard to serve, mostly with good results. Outdoor views and activities are varied, the horseback activites are a must... the views are amazing. The drive into town is 14kms. so its best to arrive here with your own vehicle so you can have some autonomy to drive around or go into town for a meal if you want that flexibility. The style of the Estancia is rustic, but includes all amenities needed to make you comfortable, with excellent hot water and heating service (it was very cold when we visited). High speed internet is also available, and they have a TV room with Direct TV for those that need their daily dose. Some details with staff and food have room for improvement, but overall this place is very good considering you are staying in the middle of the mountains... I would be very happy to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gaucho100K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We enjoyed our 2 nights here.....the hosts were wonderful....hiking fun....seeing llamas sheared and cheese made on the ranch. Only thing not so good was the food but certainly passable. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidPSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2010

it was again a nice stay there but again to short. I prefer the old but very comfortable house with the special cooking

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank han-solo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Some of the other positive reviews say it all: great place to stay, beautiful surroundings, fantastic hikes, good and nice variety of food and Ines the manager has been the most helpful host we ever met. She even managed to get my left behind laptop charger from my former hotel to my next place to visit with a tourist bus. Management will not rest before they have done all to make you feel comfortable and at home. Tafi del Valle is easy to reach for shops and lunch, but better stay around the estancia, take a ride or a walk into the mountains and visit the waterfall to come back and have yourself pampered by the hotel staff with food, drinks and other services. A place to remember, a place to return to.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

I was at the Estancia for 2 nights recently, the 3rd trip I've made and the best one yet. The location never fails to impress and the estancia exudes colonial charm. The staff on this visit in particular was extremely professional, the service very attentive, and the food outstanding, something that had been missing on a previous visit. Ines, the manager and member of the family that has owned the estancia for centuries, was present all weekend to make sure that all the guests were comfortable and knew the options available for touring the area. She is very professional while being very laid back and friendly - you are made to feel a part of the family here.

Chef Luis went all out for a party I hosted there, and the service was absolutely outstanding. They made my event very easy to coordinate and made all the guests feel at home. The activities at the Estancia are just as they are mentioned on the website so don't go expecting a pool. Go here for a true estancia experience, as they have many cattle, horses and llamas. They manufacture their own cheeses also. We went on horseback rides twice during our 3-day stay and the guide went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed the rides - background on the Estancia and area in general as well as stopping to take our picture at certain points. At the end of one of the rides we were able to help him herd the llama back to the Estancia - what a wonderful experience especially for the children.

This is a quiet place, with vast wilderness surrounding it. It was a wonderful getaway from cell phones, TVs (although there is a large living room with fireplace, antiques and a large flat-screen with Directv) and city noise. Peace and quiet abound but there's still plenty to do. The children in our group returned rosy-cheeked from so much exploring and as happy as children should be. A wonderful experience and I can't wait to go back one day. Thank you Ines, Luis and the rest of the staff!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpcvx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tafi del Valle hotels
6.3 mi away
Estancia Las Tacanas
Estancia Las Tacanas
#4 of 5 in Tafi del Valle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
7.3 mi away
Mirador del Tafi Hotel
Mirador del Tafi Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tafi del Valle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hosteria Lunahuana
Hosteria Lunahuana
#2 of 5 in Tafi del Valle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Cabanas del Valle
Cabanas del Valle
#1 of 35 in Tafi del Valle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Tafi
Hotel Tafi
#7 of 11 in Tafi del Valle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
7.5 mi away
Waynay Killa Hotel
Waynay Killa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tafi del Valle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica

Property: Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica
Address: Ruta Provincal 325 Km. 13, Tafi del Valle, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Tucuman > Tafi del Valle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tafi del Valle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Estancia Las Carreras Jesuitica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing