We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a common place”
Review of Hostel La Cumbre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel La Cumbre
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed here last October.
Stayed in the dorm for only 90pesos, and had the whole room to myself.
Yes it is basic, now a perfect shower, by the way. You can use the kitchen which the owners also use.
This place is more than a hostel. The owner feels/ is responsible for the town and wants to give the youth a better perspective. He is also the owner of the next door tourist office and started a school to train more guides with true knowledge. So there are music classes in the common room, and a couple of the guides also live in this place.
When i was there, he invited me and the other guests to have an assado in a small house next to the river and a mountain made of pure quarts. he told me about the history of the place. living between remnants of the people living there a long long time ago.
So not the perfect place if you come for luxury or privacy, but a very special place if you are open to experience the life there and a little magic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sientje H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Hostel La Cumbre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 19 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

As a review and reccomendation if lonely planet,we wanted to stay at the La Cumbre Hostel.
Ok,the lication is good/brilliant,but with one street beeing the "center",that's nit hard to miss...
The rest is just nit worth to mention,especially if a "hostel" like this wants to charge you 200 Peso at off-season for a shanby room,no heater/califaccion,and no real shower in the bathroom...
Def.nit worth the Peso

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schmeichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The location of La cumbre hostel is very good, as it's right in the centre of Tafi. But since Tafi is such a small village, location doesn't really matter much. For the rest, the hostel is no big deal. It's a nice place, with rooms around a patio and a roof terrace, but the 8-bed dorm was rather small (luckily we were only with 4, but I guess it's very crowded if it's full). The bathrooms are old but clean. The breakfast is very basic with coffee, bread and jam. The owners are friendly and polite but not very helpful and there are a lot of local people walking in and out of the hostel of whom I had no idea who they were. Since there were no lockers in the room, i found this rather unsafe.
In my opinion, this is a hostel where you stay just to sleep, and for that I find it overpriced.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
Thank Lis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Agustina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessiDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: todas dan al patio en común, indistinto elegir cualquier habitación!
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with HP Windows 10
1  Thank Maria Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tafi del Valle hotels
0.8 mi away
Mirador del Tafi Hotel
Mirador del Tafi Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tafi del Valle
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estancia Las Tacanas
Estancia Las Tacanas
#4 of 5 in Tafi del Valle
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nuestro Destino Bar & Hostel
Nuestro Destino Bar & Hostel
#6 of 38 in Tafi del Valle
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Aldea de tafi
La Aldea de tafi
#8 of 38 in Tafi del Valle
23 reviews
1.5 mi away
Posada La Guadalupe
Posada La Guadalupe
#5 of 12 in Tafi del Valle
66 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cabanas del Valle
Cabanas del Valle
#1 of 38 in Tafi del Valle
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel La Cumbre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel La Cumbre

Address: Avenida Pte J D Peron 120, Tafi del Valle, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Tucuman > Tafi del Valle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Tafi del Valle
Price Range: $17 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel La Cumbre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing