We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Hotel del Virrey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel del Virrey
Ranked #20 of 86 Hotels in Salta
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

A lovely hotel. So friendly and helpful. English well spoken.
It is a beautiful building near the main square - but quiet. Parking was in same street and secure.
All the staff made us feel welcome.
A little splash pool - but a nice reading in the evening area.

Room Tip: Hard to say as we had 2 different rooms for 2 visits, and both were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowanother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvina C, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review! We are happy our Staff assisted you properly. They are highly trained and they live to serve. And their good service is in key with the Hotel´s unique benefits that you mention: It is excellently located, near the center of the city but away from the noise and rush, so you can enjoy days of peace and nights of silence and relax in our facilities; private parking, so you don´t worry about the safety and keeping of your car, and the pool, that is a little familiar open pool, but more than enough for the people that our eight rooms can hold.

We thank you again for your kind words, and we hope you continue to learn, to travel and to joy all of what this world has to be discovered!

Best regards,
Silvina Cornejo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    111
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
47
178
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level 6 Contributor
545 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Hotel del Virrey is on a side street only a few blocks from Plaza 9 de Julio. We had a nice large room with a high ceiling on the ground floor. The people at the front desk spoke English and were very nice and helpful. We needed to get our car washed and they directed us to a place only a few blocks away. The breakfast buffet was very adequate and there was free parking behind the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarylJ552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvina C, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Daryl, thank you for your review! Indeed, our Hotel is positioned at an unbeatable location, only four blocks away from the main square, and near the Balcarce Corridor and the best peñas. In few words, near everything important in Salta. We are happy our Receptionists assisted you in whatever you could need. We work only with the most helpful staff and we strive to serve our Guests in all of their necessities. Like you expressed, the parking is free of charge, as the WiFi Internet, and the pool. Thanks again for your words, and we hope you continue to add good memories to your backpack trip after trip :)

Best regards,
Silvina Cornejo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Hotel Del Virrey is a small and charismatic hotel in Salta. It offers a convenient central place for walking around the historic sights of downtown Salta. The hotel has been renovated but retains its historic charm. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The breakfast, however, is a bit on the minimalistic side. If you like eggs and/or cereal you will be disappointed, but if you prefer bread then you are in luck. Otherwise, this is a nice place to spend the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IBSTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvina C, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review! :) As you said, the Hotel is located in an unbeatable position, near the main square (only four blocks away), and near the best Peñas and the Balcarce Corridor. We are glad you could appreciate and enjoy the architectural riches of our Hotel, it is a magical place and we hope all of our Guests have the best experience while staying with us.

About the breakfast, we are sorry you didn´t find the specific products you were looking for. Ours is a very complete breakfast, as it includes: Black, Green, and a wide variety of herbal and scented teas; Black Coffee, Latte (Coffee with cream), Milk, Chocolate Milk; White and Black Bread (also toasted), Croissants, Muffins, Apple Pie, Beaten Biscuits; Ham and cheese (to make sandwiches with), and several spreads: Butter, Honey, Milk Caramel, processed cheese and different fruit jams; and also Natural orange juice, Mineral water, Yogurt, Jell-O, different kinds of Cereals, Fruit salad and Scrambled eggs. Anyway, we are taking note of your experience so we continue to improve our Service, which is one of our highest goals.

We hope you continue to meet magical and unique places while you advance on your journey.

Best regards,
Silvina Cornejo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My family with two young children (2, 4) spent two nights here on different occasions on our tour of the Salta region.

Our first room faced the swimming pool, which provided the children easy access to a rather cold dip, and the lovely garden. In the morning, our rental car had a flat tire, which Hertz insisted we fix on our own; but the tire iron provided was too short to provide sufficient leverage to change to the spare. The man at the front desk not only found another tire iron from a neighbor, but actually helped us to change it.

This great service caused us to book another night a week later when we came back to Salta one day early. The second room was in the middle of the hallway and although cozy, it was smaller than the first room. Due to the last minute reservation, they gave us an even better rate. We had coffee and desserts twice in the cafe next door; breakfast on site was simple, but good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RowenaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvina C, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Rowena, thank you for your review! :) We remember your lovely Family and we hope your stays in the Hotel were pleasant ones. We are happy we could be of help during the problem with the car; we are to assist, guide and take proper care of our guests. We are also glad your kids could enjoy our family pool. It´s always a refreshing pleasure and we keep it clean and full the whole year, so our guests can make use of it no matter the season. (Although it´s an open pool)

About the prices, indeed our Hotel is one of the (if not the) more affordable in its category, and yet we keep the highest quality standards, and you will always find good prices and even a better service in our Hotel.

We do our best to provide an unmatched quality in all the aspects of our Service, so surely you remember that our breakfast, yet simple, is in no way limited, because it includes: Black, Green, and a wide variety of herbal and scented teas; Black Coffee, Latte (Coffee with cream), Milk, Chocolate Milk; White and Black Bread (also toasted), Croissants, Muffins, Apple Pie, Beaten Biscuits; Ham and cheese (to make sandwiches with), and several spreads: Butter, Honey, Milk Caramel, processed cheese and different fruit jams; and also Natural orange juice, Mineral water, Yogurt, Jell-O, different kinds of Cereals, Fruit salad and Scrambled eggs.

We hope you and your Family continue to joy, learn and discover new things while you continue to travel and visit a lot of places!

Best regards,
Silvina Cornejo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

A very nice hotel nearby the Jean street of all restaurants and bars. The rooms are very Nice and clean. Goog shower and a great kingsize bed, with nice details.
The staff is very friendly and gave you all the information you need.
Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvina C, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Christine, thank you for your review. As you clearly pointed, our Hotel is only one street away from the Balcarce Street, so we are located in a privileged spot where you can enjoy the best of saltan peñas, restaurants and bars, and still get back promptly (even walking, because it´s quite safe) to a night of repairing sleep.

The rooms´ details which you also mention, are one of the main charms of our Hotel, which building can be dated as of the late 1800s, and also all the rooms are set with original furniture from that period.

And about the breakfast, we are glad you liked it, as we serve a Buffet Breakfast, which is the most complete and assorted kind of breakfast, and it includes: Black, Green, and a wide variety of herbal and scented teas; Black Coffee, Latte (Coffee with cream), Milk, Chocolate Milk; White and Black Bread (also toasted), Croissants, Muffins, Apple Pie, Beaten Biscuits; Ham and cheese (to make sandwiches with), and several spreads: Butter, Honey, Milk Caramel, processed cheese and different fruit jams; and also Natural orange juice, Mineral water, Yogurt, Jell-O, different kinds of Cereals, Fruit salad and Scrambled eggs.

Again, we are very happy that your stay in Hotel del Virrey met your expectations, and we hope you continue to visit, to learn and to joy a lot of new experiences in your travels.

Best regards,
Silvina Cornejo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

2 nights, 2 rooms
This is a very nice old style hotel with very helpful staff in a reasonably good location. It is a bit of a walk to the main plaza but not too far. Rooms were very clean and everything worked except the Wi Fi - a common problem in Argentina. Breakfast was very good with a selection of foods. Car parking is available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieA_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvina C, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Charlie, thank you for your review. Although it´s true our Hotel is not at the very center of the city, it is still at an excellent location (only four blocks away from the main square) and with the benefit that the zone where we are located is more calmed and silent, so our guests can rest better and fully enjoy their stay. We apologize for the problems you could experience with the WiFi signal. It usually works perfectly. Whenever you met an unexpected situation, you should ask for assistance to our receptionists, who will do their best to help you sort the problem.

We are glad you found our service satisfactory and we hope this beautiful memories will remain with you.

Best regards,
Silvina Cornejo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great ambiance, staff and large comfortable rooms. Very helpful front desk. I would recommend the Virrey highly for a stay in Salta. There is a great little bar/restaurant on the corner which is mostly frequented by locals. The Penas are also a must and La Vieja Estacion was my favourite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barranco006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvina C, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review :) We strive to offer a top quality service to all of our guests, and we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and that our service met your expectations. Indeed, our rooms are carefuly prepared to give the most comfort to our visitors, and the Hotel is quite near the best Peñas of the city, so you can choose from the best places to experience the authentic saltan culture. We hope you enjoyed your trip as much as we did providing our service.

Best regards,
Silvina Cornejo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salta hotels
0.2 mi away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colonial Salta
Hotel Colonial Salta
#27 of 86 in Salta
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delvino Boutique Hotel
Delvino Boutique Hotel
#14 of 86 in Salta
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Salta Hotel
Sheraton Salta Hotel
#10 of 86 in Salta
751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legado Mitico Salta
Legado Mitico Salta
#1 of 86 in Salta
505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ghala Hotel
Ghala Hotel
#18 of 86 in Salta
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Virrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Virrey

Property: Hotel del Virrey
Address: Calle 20 de Febrero 420, Salta A4400EMJ, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 86 Hotels in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Virrey 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel del Virrey is a charming hotel, located in the historical heart of the city of Salta. It is an old colonial mansion of the early twentieth century; it was entirely renovated keeping its colonial lines with all the necessary comfort to meet the highest expectations of demanding guests.With a prime location just four blocks from the main square "9 de Julio" from the most important museums and from the commercial banking center of the historic city of Salta.Salta is a province rich in history and relief diversity, climate, flora and fauna. His landscapes change abruptly at such a few miles. From the Valles Calchaquíes, La Puna, Valle de Lerma, Salares, among others.In Hotel del Virrey you will be able to enjoy all these circuits with excellent and personalized service. Our staff is at your constant disposal to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel del Virrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing