We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel del Virrey
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveler rating
176
120
23
9
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
120
23
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelincluded in the room ratecolonial hotelfew blockslots of characterthe main squarepriced hotelwalking distancecolonial stylespent two nightsbreadcourtyardbackyard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 330 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

A lot of positive things have been said about the place which we can confirm. Important to me: I could actually use the wifi (uploading images over night) without having to go to the reception area as it had been the case in most other places we've stayed so far. All in all we liked the place very much and would gladly spend some more nights there.

The people from the front desk were really the best we've experienced so far in all of Argentinia: We spoke to three people and everyone was most helpful to/with/for (?) every single question, request or issue we've had. They would even explain us how to best behave when driving in town. :) And they'd be patient and let us practise our Spanish which isn't really good (yet!). If we wouldn't be able to express ourselves in Spanish they could all easily switch to English.

A downside might be that the rooms are a little cold and dark. It was the first time I had to use an aircon to heat up a place. But we were here in autumn so in summer this might actually be an advantage.
Also, as all the rooms are facing one main corridor, I woke up when people left very early. And when we came to the hotel for the second time they had aired the place by opening the windows and doors in all the rooms. Unfortunately we had to deal with mosquitos after that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yetanotherbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvina C, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear guest: Thanks a lot for your review! We are glad you found everything you needed in our Hotel :) Our WiFi Service is provided by three different routers so you have the whole area covered and you can stay comunicated with the maximun comfort. We are also happy that you found our staff useful. We are commited to serve, in order to make our guest´ stay the best experience for everybody.

About the rooms, surely you remember all of them have access to a garden, so you never miss sunligth or fresh air inside them. Also, the windows have curtains and mobile panels, so you could also get warm sunlight in cold days. Anyway, if it came to need, you also had available blankets and dual air conditioning (hot and cold), to face any wheather condition. As you said, it is an advantage in Summer, and in cold weather, the rooms are fully equipped to withstand it.

And, about the mosquitoes, we are sorry you had to be bothered by them. All rooms are opened to get them properly clean, and if you had some mosquitoes (wich are rather rare) all you had to do is request an electric bug repelent to a receptionist, and it would have solved the problem immediatly. Sometimes little setbacks happen, but we are prepared to deal with them and make your stay the best you could ever have.

Best regards,
Silvina Cornejo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We recently spent 5 nights here (our stay was longer than planned because the road to Chile was closed because of heavy snow). We did not catch a taxi the whole time we were in Salta because the hotel is so well located for strolling/exploring town. We had Room 5 (at the very back of the house) and had none of the noise problems noted in other reviews. The staff were fantastic and provided excellent service; even sending us tourist and bus information ahead of our stay. And because our travel was delayed they were very helpful in making calls and assisting us to follow-up. The hotel is highly recommended (and so is the coffee shop on the corner, coffee and complimentary cake/biscuit became an afternoon ritual.)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoJo_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvina C, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your review! :) Indeed the Hotel´s location is unbeatable, because it´s strategically set near the main square (only four blocks away), and near the best Peñas and the Balcarce Corridor, and yet it´s away from the noise and madness some times raze saltan downtown. About our staff, we are happy when we can serve and help our guests make the best of their trip, so we are ready to assist people with all of our resources.

Thank you for having chosen us during your stay in Salta. We hope you continue to explore and discover our beautiful world.

Best regards,
Silvina Cornejo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I confirm everything positive that has been written in earlier reviews. I was particularly impressed with the front desk staff: friendly, highly professional, and with excellent command of English. The only reason why I don’t give this hotel five stars, is the noise. My room, #8, close to the reception, was lovely, but I heard pretty much everything that happened in the rooms above and adjacent to mine, as well as in the corridor. Being a light sleeper, I needed earplugs. This is probably something one just has to accept in an old and stylish place like this, and I suppose other rooms are quieter. Otherwise, the place is perfect.

One thing you might want to know before arriving in Argentina: Argentinean’s finances are a mess. There is two-digit inflation, price control on basic products, and severe currency exchange restrictions, creating of course a black market. And there are two exchange rates: The official one, which you’ll get at ATMs and banks, and the real one (the “blue dollar”), which is much more interesting of course. If you are willing to accept the risk attached to carrying large amounts of cash, bring dollars or Euros and change them in your hotel, or even on the street in Buenos Aires (I don’t know about other cities). The latter requires of course some precautions. But it can save you a lot of money. Check the web for more and updated information.

Another oddity: On domestic flights, you are allowed 5 kgs of cabin luggage. If you have more, at check in you will be asked to remove items. So you remove, let’s say your laptop; they weigh it again - 5.5 kilos, they are happy. After which, at some distance from the counter, you put your laptop back, and nobody will care. I experienced this three times with Aerolineas, I don’t know if it’s true with other companies.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be different; if noise bothers you, ask for a quiet one.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garmic57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvina C, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your review. We are happy you found our Receptionists helpful. We are to serve and we work only with the best available and fully trained Human Resources.

On the hitch, we are deeply sorry you got affected by the surrounding sounds near your room. The Hotel is established on an old house with thick walls, so usually noise is not a problem. We apologize for the inconvenience and we thank you for your understanding and your kind and objective words.

About the rest of the issues you mention, they are an unavoidable part of our national reality, and all we can do is quote an old saying in the Tourism field: "Travelling through Latin America is a complete adventure" in the fullest meaning of the word ;)

Again, we thank you for your open considerations, and we hope you enjoy all of your future travels.

Best regards,
Silvina Cornejo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

classic hotel in salta. you have everything you need. you are close to everything within the city.. and can start all tours you want to do easily by car (big parking lot in the yard).

as salta can get quite warm as well, the pool is more then useful.

breakfast was also good. and service staff adviced intensively on recommended routes / tours to take.

we were very happy at the hotel del virrey. maybe it's not 4* as mentioned in other posts, but the price isn't 4* neither. so everything fine for us.

we give full recommendation!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudius W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvina C, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Claudius, thank you for your kind words. Indeed our Hotel is located in an unbeatable position, just four streets away from the Main Square (Plaza 9 de Julio) and still in a peaceful and very practical location. We are glad you could enjoy our open pool too. We keep it available for everybody all year round. We are also happy our Receptionists helped you in everything you could need. We are to serve and we strive to give the best of us in order to take good care of our guests.

We hope you continue to acquire new experiences and knowledge in your travels.

Best regards,
Silvina Cornejo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

An excellent choice in the centre of Salta. Location is excellent a short walk to he city centre but also an easy 15 minute walk to the station and to the Pena restaurants and craft market. Rooms are a good size with cable TV and minibar. Wifi is provided although can be a little unreliable. We were very happy with this hotel and would definitely recommend it if you are visiting Salta

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvina C, Gerente at Hotel del Virrey, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Bob, thank you for your review! We are happy our Service met your expectations, and we hope you continue to capture the beauty and magic of all the places you visit. :)

Best regards,
Silvina Cornejo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews