We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Altos de Balcarce Hotel
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Salta
Certificate of Excellence
County Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful, room was nice and comfortable and there was a good selection for breakfast. Location is excellent, close to city centre and lots of bars and restaurants. The hotel is a bit expensive but we were staying at peak season during July Winter break and it was difficult to find accomodation at that time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    165
    45
    6
    6
See reviews for
66
121
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel is well run and is located on street with lots of restaurants and bars. A good 10 minute easy walk to the plaza. The rooms are spacious enough and the bathrooms good. The breakfast is standard but it's ok and the breakfast room is well lit and nice warm ambiance.

Room Tip: Hotels in Argentina are all tiled flooring which makes for bad acoustics. So you always hear the lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Didit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

The location can't be beat... just a block from all the great restaurants and Penas (folk music shows) and we had a great time. We didn't use the pool but it looked lovely and I could see that it would be a great place for families. The breakfast room is very comfortable. Also liked the secure parking lot, even if it was a little scary to get out of it (very steep driveway.)

The walls were incredibly thin. We could hear the tv and the people in the room next to us until very late at night. They did eventually quiet down so we were able to sleep, but what if they hadn't? That noise issue is the only reason why I wouldn't recommend this hotel, because everything else about it was just fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Not far from the main square (good location); good service, better rooms, nice breakfast, with limited parking (we had one every time we needed).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeryandLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

This hotel is very well-situated for the Train To The Clouds and for wonderful restaurants and cafes, many of them with performers every night. It's a pleasant, 15-minute walk to the main Plaza. The hotel itself is comfortable and reasonable, with an above-average dining room (though the breakfast was average). My only real complaint was that you had to use a key to get out of your room. This is not a good safety feature in an emergency, particularly if you have to do it in the dark.Wifi was very slow.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdxtanguera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a nice and friendly hotel in a very central location in Salta, close to all amenities. We spent three nights in total and everyone at the hotel were really helpful giving us advise on different tours. The rooms are spacious, clean and cosy. Very nice place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Rooms are basic but have all you need. Bed was comfortable, room was very clean, staff friendly. Have a parking garage, rather small but they took the car out for you if you ask and bring it by the front door. Did not eat there so I cant comment on the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salta hotels
0.4 mi away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
0.9 mi away
Ghala Hotel
Ghala Hotel
#17 of 87 in Salta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Almeria
Hotel Almeria
#8 of 87 in Salta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Delvino Boutique Hotel
Delvino Boutique Hotel
#20 of 87 in Salta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Salta Hotel
Sheraton Salta Hotel
#10 of 87 in Salta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#7 of 87 in Salta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altos de Balcarce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altos de Balcarce Hotel

Property: Altos de Balcarce Hotel
Address: Calle Balcarce 747, Salta A4400EJO, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Salta
#20 Romantic Hotel in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Altos de Balcarce Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Balcarce Street, one of Salta’s most important tourist areas in Salta, nearby Peñas, Coffe shops, restaurants and only two blocks away from "train to the clows" station. Situated a few blocks from downtown. Staff, characterized by the warmth of the people in this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altos de Balcarce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altos De Balcarce Salta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing