We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful oasis and view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Salta Hotel
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Salta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Perfect. Internet is not included though and should be for the price

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krenian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 798 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

This hotel is not the cheapest in town, but it is in a very good and quiet area.
walking distance into town.

Don't miss a lunch in the municipal market, very good value for monney.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maizemiller2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

If you are a "Firts Class" Traveler, your only choice to stay in Salta is at Sheraton. The gim is very good, the breakfast is complete, the rooms are large and quite. The pool is ok. The only negative point is the location...you need a car to go to down town or walk 10 minutes down hill.

Room Tip: any one, all are very goods
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maximiliano J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights. Overall, would have to say that this hotel has been our favourite in Argentina. Or perhaps because we fell in love with Salta. When we were there, it was very quiet, hardly saw other people. The views from the rooms overlooking the city and the mountains was just lovely. From the first impression on arriving at the hotel with its soft lighting and warm wooden floors leading up to the reception desk, being escorted up to our room on the Club Lounge floor, everything was just perfect. Wonderful staff, all spoke English well (much better then our Spanish!) Compared with the Sheraton at Iguazu this hotel wins hands down.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights.  A bit far from the town, up on a hill, in the middle of residences, 20 minute walk to the main square and really nothing in between.  Taxis are cheap so cheap!!!! About  AR 6-8  ($1.50-2) to the plaza!   well appointed and attentive staff.  Front desk is patient and helpful.  The Club Lounge has very limited hours...5-7pm for cocktails with limited snacks (limited mini-sandwiches and an array decadent deserts....wait staff for drinks, takes a long time for a glass of wine, but very pleasant with a great view).  But charge for all alcoholic drinks!!! And breakfast was slim, and with all the desserts from the night before...who wants a brownie or frosted cupcake for breakfast?  Needs improvement here, and such a waste of a great space in such limited time and needing better offerings. The regular breakfast downstairs is a better option, even with the walk. So with the charge for alcoholic drinks and very limited snacks, good for the view or space to hang but not much else.

Issues with wifi, which i will Assume from my experience, seems to be a South American thing....they always present ethernet cables to you and I kept trying to explain my iPad and blackberry don't use ethernet cables.  Nevertheless, they are quick to jump to help.

Hotel, on a hill, in a residential area,..all rooms are on one side...looking out to the City. Lovely, except when walking the long distance from one end of the floor to another.  Nice pool area: lounge chairs and patio chairs with food and bar outside and outdoor showers..verybmuch enjoyed the pool as did many others.  Beware on Wednesdays a happy hour, which means  dance music from the pool area until Midnight (and lots if kids enjoying the 2 for 1 specials).  As mentioned all rooms face the city AND pool.  So if aren't into the music and noise until Midnight, bring heavy duty ear plugs.  Selfishly, I can't believe the Lounge only goes until 7pm, but it's fine for bass music to seep through all hotel rooms until Midnight.

Rooms look out to the city and are well appointed: iPod clock radios,  plasma tv's, plush towels and comfy bed linen and great bathtubs.   Other then Wednesday nights, quiet and a good rest.  Suite was weird - 2 adjoining rooms, which the took out the bed in one and replaced with a sofa, very disjointed and didn't feel as comfortable. Service differed daily...sometimes towels refreshed, sometimes got the comp water, sometimes evening turn down service with a chocolate.    Funny a bottle of cab from the mini bar is AR 35 (just under $9) which is the same price as having one shirt (AR 33) washed!

Gym is small and limited but fine with great staff, like the rest of the hotel. Had a good message from estella (?)), the spa area looks unused, with the sauna not on and no one ever there.

Altro Tours in the lobby of the hotel to help arrange day tours, Rosa there is very helpful.  But really all tour prices are regulated, so everyone charges the same...and they all group the bookings, together so almost no matter who you book with, you get the same tour/service.  But having ALTRO in the lobby makes it convenient. And with the tours doing pick ups from every hotel, figure on 30-45 minutes each way for the pick ups. See if you an get Pablo as your guide, and not get Estella. I went to Cachi and Cafayate, the landscape is gorgeous, really a beautiful drive but are long days (about 11 hours from pick up to drop off) and most of that is driving.

If you have the time, get in a couple of hours Spanish lessons from Graciela of Idiomas_salta@hotmail.com.  Exceptional, done a block from the plaza and very reasonable rate.  

A casino in the hotel as well,  but I cant comment on it, as I never stepped foot in it.

Enjoyed the stay for the staff and attention and the room were quite nice but be aware that the hotel is a bit from town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kareny13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The Sheraton sits on a hillside in a pretty residential area within walking distance to all the major sites. The lobby décor is slightly generic, modern accented with local artwork and crafts; the lobby bar is a nice place to have a drink or snack. Note that the prices at the restaurant and bar are quite a bit higher than most places in town. There are a number of computers in the lobby that offer fast internet service; the first half hour is free.

Our room was very large with windows overlooking the pool, city and hills. The room was clean and comfortable with a king bed, a desk, seating area and all the modern necessities. The bathroom could use a little updating but it wasn’t too bad.

Unfortunately, the pool was being retiled so it was not open and the hot tub had been turned off, so it wasn’t hot. Since we could not use the outdoor amenities, we used the indoor spa facilities that were very nice and included a dry sauna and a steam room. The attendants at the gym/spa were friendly and helpful. Service was generally good with some exceptions; Mauricio at the front desk was great, professional and efficient. Our club floor room gave us access to the club lounge. On two occasions we were rudely turned away from the lounge by two men who seemed to be guarding the area. The lounge is only open at certain times and they did not want us there during off hours. Luckily, when we returned to the lounge for breakfast, it was open, the rude men were not there and we enjoyed a tasty breakfast.

Overall, the Sheraton was a good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HobokenGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Due to a flight cancellation, the airline provided us with one night at this hotel. It was beyond my expectations and really did make up for the hassle at the airport.

As I love water, I was over the moon when I saw their pool. Everything so beautifully decorated and a wonderful view of the city of Salta. Especially at night when the lights are on, this is extra beautiful.
The staff at the pool was really friendly, the girl that tended us made a tasty cocktail and as the Spa was closed, it wasn't a problem to leave our wet towels behind with her.

We had diner here (also at airline costs) which contained a three meal course - for each course 2 options and a free soft drink.

The shampoos, etc smelled great actually, thanks for those :)

I don't know if I would stay here normally, only because I found it quite far from the city centre. But taxi's are cheap and most excursion guides will pick you up at the hotel, so it wouldn't be a huge deal. If I did, it would be to relax, using their Spa and pool.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincesaGaditana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salta hotels
0.9 mi away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
0.9 mi away
Design Suites Salta
Design Suites Salta
#11 of 85 in Salta
700 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#5 of 85 in Salta
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Salta
Hotel Salta
#12 of 85 in Salta
455 reviews
1 mi away
Apart Hotel Ref
Apart Hotel Ref
#36 of 85 in Salta
83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Legado Mitico Salta
Legado Mitico Salta
#1 of 85 in Salta
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Salta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Salta Hotel

Address: Coronel Francisco de Uriondo 330 | Av Ejercito del Norte, Salta A4406BKQ, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salta
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salta
Price Range: $104 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Salta Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a perfect location near the Estadio El Gigante del Norte and Museo de Arte Contemporáneo when you stay at Sheraton Salta Hotel. Our contemporary hotel in Salta, Argentina features guestrooms with city/valley views, and many of our chic suites come with separate living and dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Salta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Salta
Salta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing