We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming oasis in Salta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel del Antiguo Convento
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Salta
Certificate of Excellence
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A charming oasis in Salta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was a delightfully charming hotel with very attentive staff members. The room was huge with an additional sitting room and a huge bathroom. The hotel had many little courtyards, a swiming pool and exercise room. the breakfast was good. It was cenerally located so we could walk everywhere. After a long day in the mountains, it was a pleasure to come back to this hotel. The restaurant next to the hotel is ok, but much better restaurants are close by. A great value for the money. kate and sybille

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sybille h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    197
    37
    2
    1
See reviews for
103
263
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The rooms were good (you get what you pay for) and the location is perfect; walking distance to everything. The staff however was above average and very friendly. They all spoke english well and helped us on several occasions. They even remembered our names.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HumptyDumptyJ0urney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights in total. First 1 night, later on in the trip another 2 nights.
The first room we had was wuiet ok, not super clean, but doable.
The second time we got there we got another room, hughe in size (wheelchair access room & bathroom). This room was quiet dirty ( the bathroom really stank) and the only window in the room faced a 1sq meter courtyard, so not much light.
Overall the hotel feels very run down & not properly maintained.
Breakfast was pretty bad, consisted of old media lunas.
Staff is very friendly & helpfull.
Location is also good.
I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerstin321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights whilst travelling round Argentina.
I was in a superior room which was a good size, had a bathroom with a bath fitted with airjets and a storage room with a drinks cooler.
The hotel has a small gym and a pool. There is a courtyard with a water fountain feature.
The hotel is a very short walk to the main city square so convienently located.
The staff are friendly and very helpful, there is usually someone on duty who spoke English.
The breakfast is very typical of Argentina a range of bread and cakes,cheese slices and ham no fruit however. Breakfast starts as early as 6.30 which was a help as most excursion picks ups are quite early so one can have breakfast before travel.
The hotel helped store my things when i embarked on a short trip away from Salta. They accomodated a late evening check out for a reasonable charge.
The laundry service was prompt and all items came back same colour.
The only negative for me was that bed was too hard for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tayo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights here - and were really pleased to have found it. Comfortable room with a lovely big bed and good bathroom. Small pool which was great for cooling off in. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful - went out of their way to assist. The hotel is a short walk from the main areas of Salta so a great base. Breakfast was basic but good. Would stay here again - hotel had a lovely atmosphere! Good value for money as well

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OllieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here one night whilst travelling around Argentina.

Lovely, well presented, building and rooms have all the essentials for a comfortable stay. Small pool out the back which is nice for an end of day dip, and a lovely little garden.

Not the best breakfast we had but did the job.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort-de-France, Martinique
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hello,

When you enter in this hotel, you don't imagine that it is made from different houses and patios and lounges and corridors... You feel like to be at friends home...

The breakfast offers many choices. The staff is very helpfull (they had prepared the breakfeast earlier just for us because of the bus...).

The place is very convenient : you are in town and in a quiet place !!! You can walk and don't need a car...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesvoyagesdemadikera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salta hotels
0.5 mi away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
0.7 mi away
Legado Mitico Salta
Legado Mitico Salta
#1 of 87 in Salta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Almeria
Hotel Almeria
#8 of 87 in Salta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Salta Hotel
Sheraton Salta Hotel
#10 of 87 in Salta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Salta
Hotel Salta
#14 of 87 in Salta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#7 of 87 in Salta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Antiguo Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Antiguo Convento

Property: Hotel del Antiguo Convento
Address: Calle Caseros 113, Salta A4400DMC, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salta
#7 Family Hotel in Salta
#8 Romantic Hotel in Salta
#13 Business Hotel in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is an old recycled house ,wich offers the combination of the colonial style with modern comfort facilities .The Hotel is located down town , rigth in the historical heart of the city,three blocks from Plaza 9 de Julio,Salta main square and just steps from San Bernardo´s Convent. Because of its strategic position ,its allows to visit the Cathedral,the Cabildo (the old town hall),museums and others turistic atractions with a very short walking distance.We have spacious rooms ,each of them rustically decorated ,ligthed and completely equipped . Among its services the Hotel offers a swimming pool sourounded by a solarium and beautiful gardens ,and a colonial patio where our snack bar service can be enjoyed ,also we have a gym with scottish shower and massage parlour.We represent a new Hotel ,different ,run by young people ,offering quality and maximun comfort ,a place suited to rest and enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel del Antiguo Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Antiguo Convento Salta
Del Antiguo Convento Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing