We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Posada de Don Simon
Ranked #26 of 97 Salta B&B and Inns
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value option”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked to stay here for our first night in Salta, unfortunately there wasn't a room available after that. The room was 140 pesos for a double room and we didn't come across anywhere else this cheap while looking for a place to stay.

The owners were really friendly and welcoming and the place felt very warm and cozy. The rooms are pretty basic and small, our twin room was a set of bunk beds, but do the job. The shared bathrooms were very clean and the wifi signal strong.

Tye location was perfect just a couple of mins walk from the main square.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven_F555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
33
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The rooms at this hostel were cheap (150 ARS for twin room with shared bathroom), and the family running the place very friendly. Our room was of a reasonable size, had a bunk bed and reading lamp. The WiFi signal was excellent. A small continental breakfast was included. The bathrooms were clean and hot water was always available. The only problem was the heat - our room did not have a fan nor ventilation, and because of this, our sleep was rather fitful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraSedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salta, Argentina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in this small family run hostel in central Salta.

Great location, close to main plaza and 2 supermarkets. Staff generally friendly and helpful (more so if you at least try to speak spanish!) Breakfast quite small but reasonable quality (very good cafe con leche). Kitchen very small and basic but still usable, bathrooms clean and showers hot!

Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisgeorge89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Difficult task ... Liliana and Rubén are really great hosts. Breakfast is excellent and served with love. Everything is very clean, rooms, bathrooms, kitchen, terrace ... Only drawback: no window to the outside in the rooms. The attention and advice provided to their guests are very valuable.
In short everything would be met in order to feel at home here if the walls were not so thin and that her son did not live in the room next to yours. Thus, early in the morning, you are awakened by his bed bumping against your wall and the cries of his latest drunk conquest. It could have been funny but neither at this time there, nor from someone of the inn's staff! On the other hand he works at the hostel but knows nothing about the area, except the clubs where find sex friends of course!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Likraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Rooms- booked a private room and were given a room with bunk beds as it was all they had available. Spacious and warm with wifi.
Food- Delicious breakfast. Hot drink of your choice, with croissants and tasty bread with dulce de leche.
Hostel- Family run hostel which was also a cafe during the day. Very cosy and relaxed atmosphere. Bathrooms were very clean with hot water. Kitchen was small but had plenty of equipment. They have a cat which doesn't leave you alone!lol
Staff- Very friendly and Ali was very helpful.
Location- 45 min walk from bus station, 15 min walk from the main plaza.
Salta- Climb the mountain that overlooks the city!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossandHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hostel has very friendly staff, a good location in the city centre, good wifi, and clean toilet facilities. The rooms are basic: just a bed and a closet. There is a window in the room but it is connected with the corridor, not with the outside world. The first night there were very noisy families in the hostel en for the rooms have thin walls, we sufferd from noise. This was the only real disadvantage.

We paid between 130-140 soles per night for a matrimonial room, including breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelmer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salta hotels
0.1 mi away
Wilson Hotel
Wilson Hotel
#29 of 86 in Salta
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marilian
Hotel Marilian
#32 of 86 in Salta
210 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Antiguo Convento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Design Suites Salta
Design Suites Salta
#9 of 86 in Salta
664 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Almeria
Hotel Almeria
#7 of 86 in Salta
643 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada de Don Simon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada de Don Simon

Property: La Posada de Don Simon
Address: Calle Alvarado 1070, Salta A4412DUA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our recently renovated property is located right in the Salta Micro Center, few blocks to everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Posada de Don Simon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing