We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views - Muy buenas vistas”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cerro San Bernardo

Cerro San Bernardo
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.00*
and up
Salta City Half Day Tour
Ranked #7 of 114 things to do in Salta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great views - Muy buenas vistas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We visited the Cerro San Bernardo on our last trip to Salta, I recommend hiking by food if you like to exercise. You go up on the trail from the Monument to Guemes.
Subimos caminando al cerro San Bernardo es muy buen ejercicio, hay que estar en buen estado. se sube desde el monumento a Guemes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank rubeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,042
    1,199
    321
    29
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
530 reviews
232 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Great views, good exercise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

After spening the previous 4 days in and out of buses, we decided to walk up the steps from Paseo Guemes (next to the Museum of Anthropology) to the top of the hill. Though not supremely challenging, it does need a bit of exertion! I think there are 1070 steps :-). It was worth it for the view though! Clear view of the city and surrounding hills and country side. And if walking up the steps is not enough for you, there is a free outdoor gym at the top! We skipped this and treated ourselves to the gondola back down to San Martin Park.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ninjakitten007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great view of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Absolutely beautiful park on Cerro San Bernardo - one of the best city parks we visited in Argentina. We actually visited the park twice, the first time on the City Tour, the second time we took the gondola up to the park for a second, more leisurely visit. The water falls are fabulous, the place is immaculate. The views of the city were great. Could just imagine being up there in the evening, watching the lights of the city come on. Well worth both visits.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bree7883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A nice ride on the aerial tramway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Visitors to Salta should take the round-trip ride on the aerial tramway to the top of Cerro San Bernardo. Adults pay 70 pesos for the round-trip ticket. The ascent (or descent) takes about 10 minutes. Once on top of the cerro, there is a large park with panoramic views of the city and surrounding area. Many people were enjoying lunch at the restaurant in the park. There are two other ways to get to the top -- climbing a stairway consisting of 1000 steps, or by car or bus on the road that goes up the hill. The Swiss-designed aerial tramway is much more exciting!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Swiss Cable Cars in Salta?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

interesting viewing point, where on a clear day one can see all of Salta and beyond. Give a better feel of the size of the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KAECH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerro San Bernardo also viewed

Salta, Province of Salta
Salta, Province of Salta
 

Been to Cerro San Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing