We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel! Great, friendly and helpful staff!!”
Review of Coloria Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coloria Hostel
Ranked #3 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Salta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Staff is wonderful! Super nice. Sebastian offered his own time to take me around to some local spots. He knew lots about the surroundings of Salta as well.
Hostel is a tad small but that makes it warm and welcoming. Swimming pool, great pooltable, and good environment. I would def recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 315 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Coloria and ended up staying longer than expected, we arrived earlier than expected but this was no problem, we were shown round and offered breakfast before we were then told that we had been upgraded for free to the en suite room because they thought we would be more comfortable! that evening we mentioned that we would like to go to cafayete and Sebs/Sebastian hooked us up with a couple of girls from Buenos Aires who also wanted to go and offered to come with us and be our guide for the day! we had a great time, then back to the hostel we had a really nice bbq and a bit of a sing song using the resident guitar of the hostel! altogether a great time, well done Coloria you have started on the right foot!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lauraandmattcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was a little surprised to see how many negative reviews there were, as I thoroughly enjoyed the 10 days I spent at the Coloria Hostel. If you show up expecting a 5 star hotel complete with sleepy-eyed receptionist and the bellboy dressed up in his monkey suit, you're going to be disappointed. However, if you're looking for a place where you can meet fellow travelers, cook out with the staff once or twice a week, and not break the bank in the process, you really can't beat this hostel.

The staff were friendly and attentive, and as many reviewers have stated are the best quality of the hostel. They're happy to address any concerns you may have.

Cleanliness never seemed like a huge problems. The entire place is cleaned top to bottom every morning, but there isn't a full time cleaning staff. Depending on your room, you may be sharing a bathroom with as many as 3-10 other people, so in between morning cleanings things may get a little dirty. However, I let the guy at the front desk know the only time I saw it getting too dirty, and he took care of it immediately.

If your sleeping habits are best compared to "The Princess and the Pea", then you may have trouble sleeping here, but you'll probably have trouble sleeping in any hostel if you can't tolerate a very basic level of noise. The hostel sits on a busy road, and typical city noise is to be expected if you stay in any of the rooms that overlook the road. On the other side it's better, although these rooms open onto a common area, so typical noise of people arriving and leaving is to be expected. The staff seemed very aware of when people were sleeping and asked other guests to be respectful.

Overall, for a youth hostel, I'm very pleased. The pool is clean. The washing machine works. There's food put out promptly in the morning. The wifi is fast and reliable. There just isn't much to complain about. Also, I rated "room service" and "spa" below despite the fact they have neither. However they're happy to call and have food delivered for you and instead of a "spa" they have a pool which I was very pleased with.

Overall with the great location, friendly staff, low prices, and quality amenities you'd be hard pressed to find budget lodging in Salta.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samembrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

people very nice. location great. couple of blocks from town centre. had the private room at front of the hostel.
but the noise breaks the sound barrier day and night.
never again no sleep....
there are better and quieter places.
sorry guys...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elvi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We are from the uk travelling around Argentina.
We stayed at the hostel for 2 nights initially then extended our stay for three. We travelled around Salta and then a week later came back to the hostel to stay for another night. Aswell as being in a very good central location it is spacious, friendly and very clean.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sas109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

this place has a great interior style for a hostel and the staff is very friendly. BUT it all looked a bit shaby as they clean very very rarely (the bathrooms was a bit scarry). they do have a nice pool BUT it was empty. they have nice rooms BUT it was bloody hot and no aircon and no fan. in general no one really takes care for that place and you see that. SUCH A SHAME!

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Daviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
3  Thank Flavia-BahiaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salta hotels
0.4 mi away
Posada de las Nubes
Posada de las Nubes
#27 of 85 in Salta
183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apart Hotel Ref
Apart Hotel Ref
#36 of 85 in Salta
83 reviews
6.3 mi away
Las Moras Hotel
Las Moras Hotel
#9 of 85 in Salta
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stelares Hotel Boutique
9.3 mi away
Loki Salta
Loki Salta
#18 of 139 in Salta
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ferienhaus Hostel Salta
Ferienhaus Hostel Salta
#14 of 139 in Salta
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coloria Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coloria Hostel

Address: General Guemes 333, Salta 4400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Salta
Price Range: $12 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Coloria Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coloria Hostel is located in the historic center of Salta, only 200 meters from the main square and the Cathedral.Our rooms are very bright and decorated in vivid colors, featuring Wi-Fi connection for free. Some rooms have private bathroom and air conditioning.In an atmosphere of design, Coloria offers charming and spacious common areas, including garden with swimming pool and BBQ, shared kitchen, gym and lounge area with bar, fireplace and TV. In addition, it offers the typical Argentinean breakfast at no charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Coloria Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing