We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hostel with good location”
Review of Hostal Sol Huasi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Sol Huasi
Ranked #31 of 97 Salta B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Okay hostel with good location”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hostel is located very close to the main plaza which was great for exploring the city. Other than the location everything else was just okay. The receptionist didn't speak much English, there was often a queue for the bathrooms, the fan in our double room barely worked so it was stuffy and the dorms must be even worse. The hostel was noisy at night and breakfast was the usual white bread, tea/coffee and a bit of fruit

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AOByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    27
    4
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
14
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Although in a great location (literally around the corner from the main Plaza) and a nice sociable vibe, the hostel feels overcrowded and subsequently unclean. It also only has 3 bathrooms which is completely inadequate for the amount of people staying there. There is a kitchen but it lacks cutlery and basic equipment. A few small improvements such a providing soap in the bathrooms and enough mugs, plates and bowls for breakfast would go a long way.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salta hotels

Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

hostel with a good vibe and many common areas to meet people. decent breakfast for south america. lots of people to drink with and they all seem to go out together. wansnt here long but i had a good time

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grover191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

It has a really cool atmosphere, not a party hostel, but really social and chilled out. Mainly due to the main man of the front desk and generally cool layout. And you can't get a better location! Staff are all really nice. The breakfast is good by hostel standards.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Very central hostel and staff extremely helpful when my partner was I'll. Bathrooms very clean. Basic breakfast but good coffee. Bedding in double room very 'tired' and in need of replacement, stopped hostel getting higher rating.

Nice chilled feel to hostel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sstarburs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I really liked this hostel. The location is just great, I loved the relaxed atmosphere and the staff was very helpful and friendly. I travelled alone and I met lots of people there, still I could sleep early in the night when I was tired (they close the corridor door and there is no noise from the living room). I was able to stay there for the whole day after check-out, using all the facilities (shower, kitchen, pcs), the wifi is a nice change from all the crappy internet connections I've had to endure during my journey and the bathrooms were always clean during my stay. The heating was on for the whole day so it was nice and warm. Room 8 is perfect for a couple that wants to be alone, but I appreciated it more when they accepted to change my reservation for a dorm when I found out that my boyfriend bailed on me.

I don't know what the bad reviews are for, maybe it is because there is a new owner for some time now.

Central, cheap, nice, friendly, flexible and totally recommended!

Room Tip: Room 8 is very romantic and more remote. Room 6 is not bad either (but I prefer red to blue)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Although they have a good price, that's about all of positive things I can write. The bathrooms were filthy (one time there was a condom laying around when I went for a shower) and the room and communal area weren't much cleaner. The room was damp and extremely hot; the ceiling fan didn't work and the lousy fan they replaced it with didn't do anything. Most of the staff was rude and indifferent, except for one nice girl. But when one night there was a party going on in the hostel, none of the staff tried to enforce the quiet-time (23:30) but they participated in the noise making. We had to wake op early the next day, and there was a roommate who was sick and needed his sleep, so it was very frustrating that nobody cared. The next day the staff was very hung over and they didn't clean after the party. The breakfast was an hour late. When we said something about that, the staff acted rude like we were being unreasonable. Most of the other guests were loud and obnoxious douchbags.
I hope they close down soon. There are many places in salta which are way better for the same price!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salta hotels
0.7 mi away
7 Duendes Hostel
7 Duendes Hostel
#18 of 134 in Salta
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Sol Huasi II
#31 of 134 in Salta
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Rejas Hostel
Las Rejas Hostel
#1 of 134 in Salta
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hostal All Norte
Hostal All Norte
#2 of 134 in Salta
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ferienhaus Hostel Salta
Ferienhaus Hostel Salta
#16 of 134 in Salta
151 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Casa de Mia Mama
La Casa de Mia Mama
#21 of 97 in Salta
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sol Huasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sol Huasi

Property: Hostal Sol Huasi
Address: Avenida Gral Manuel Belgrano 671, Salta A4400AWE, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Sol Huasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing