We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
144
45
12
12
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
45
12
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amazing atmosphere place to stay hammocks hamacs hostel argentina privacy bbq centre
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 216 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We agree with all comments about the good quality of this place, in terms of location, value and atmosphere.
That being said, though, one must know that after checking out at 12pm, one is asked to pay 25 pesos per person. After already paying 60 pesos for leaving our luggage in the premises for a few days, we felt like 50 pesos for 2 for just staying inside and barely using hot water to drink coffee was clearly unfair. Our bus was at 9pm and we just wanted to stay at the hostel. We felt like we were unwelcome to stay without paying and decided to leave the place straight away with our backpacks.
We are on a round-the-world trip and have never seen any hostel asking such extras.
Without those elements, we would have rated this hostel better.

Room tip: Avoid the room in front of the patio where people gather at night. Very noisy!
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I spent 3 nights at Prisamata.

The hostel staff are very friendly, home cooked meals were fantastic, location is great (short walk into the centre & right near all the bars & restaurants), the chill out area is lovely (complete with hammocks & bean bags) & the kitchen bore some resemblance to a family home kitchen with everyone hanging out together around the giant kitchen table.

The cons: the private room backs onto the courtyard & can be a little noisy (bring earplugs if you are contemplating it) & the bathrooms could be cleaner... Also, I had arranged a tour through the hostel which ended up getting cancelled because the person who was supposed to be on the desk was in the shower when the tour operator came to collect the money...

Overall, I totally recommend this hostel, though suggest booking tours independently...

Date of stay: July 2013
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank JLASydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in April; one night in a twin room and two nights in a dorm.

Pros:

Staff are welcoming and friendly, particularly Damian.

Chill out areas are great; hammock, bean bags, fairy lights and cool music.

Big communal kitchen.

The staff offer cheap communal meals most nights. We had bangers and mash which was yummy.

The hostel is well located; one street away from the main bars and not too far from the centre of town.

Cons:

There were only two toilets in the whole hostel and one was female only!!!

Showers were a bit gross!!! In an outdoor hut, with four cubicles. No privacy and a bit dirty. Loads of empty shampoo bottles around which stayed for the entire time we were there. The place needed a good clean.

Room tip: Its a bit of a party hostel, with people rolling in and out at all hours so if you like your sleep get a private room.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraLouiseG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hostel really is a gem. We stayed for a week and used the hostel as a base to do the excursions around Salta. Damian's made the place feel super friendly and cool. The staff are uber friendly and helpful, the best we've encountered while in Argentina. They threw a big party for my bday which was a lovely touch.

There was also a nice mix of nationalities so you got to practise other languages. The music playing throughout the hostel suits the mood at all times of day. We highly recommend going with the evening meal options, not only are they great value but super tasty and big portions. The homemade pizza is a winner as was the roast chicken. All in all we loved our stay and would recommend it highly.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timothydoubleday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Excellent hostel - one of the best I ever stayed at: The spacious common area makes it easy to get in touch with other travelers and the staff is absolutely wonder- and helpful. The rooms and the bathrooms are clean, the big kitchen is fully equipped and almost every night the staff provides delicious meals at low-cost. There are hammacks for lazy days, a ping-pong table and brilliant music all day long. The location is probably the best in all of Salta. It is super-easy to get stuck at PrisaMata - it is home, far away from home. Absolutely recommended!!!

Room tip: Depending on what you are looking for - there is something for everyone: shared room, dorms, private rooms (4x, 3x, 2x, 1x). Just make sure to book in advance, in case you are traveling in Jan&Feb.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews