We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable beds”
Review of Hostal La Posta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal La Posta
Ranked #12 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Salta
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hostel is defentely worth to visit and to stay there.
It has everything you need to feel comfortable especially the beds are super good.
The rooms are nice just the bath is a bit small and the shower.
The two brothers who runs the place are very nice and do everything to make you feel welcome.
Very close and easy walk to the supermarket and the to the city center.
I can recommend everyone to stay there and the mix of people if it's families, couples or single travellers is very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaSa2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 148 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

So there is a reason this hostal is number 1 - it really is one of the nicest places I've stayed at. This is down to the three brothers from Buenos Aires and the way they run the place. The bed was comfortable, shower was powerful and hot, breakfast was fresh with good quality juice and the place was spotless. Even the communal kitchen was very well kept and there was a computer in the common area for people to use. The place is constantly cleaned to the highest of standards.

Ariel sat down with me on my first day and went through what there is to see and do. Everyday when I returned from the tours, whichever brother was on duty would ask me how my day was. They genuinely want to see their guests happy and give everyone their personal attention. I really felt I was at a home away from home there and was actually quite sad to leave. Location was good too and only a 5 - 10 minute walk from the main square in Salta. To get there from the bus station I was also fine walking there - about a 15 minute walk. There is also a nice nice cream place that is open till late right opposite and a huge supermarket about a 5 minute walk away. Wifi wasnt working when I arrived but they did what they could to fix it and it was up and running within a couple of days.

I really cant fault this place and whilst I was staying in a private room, the place was so sociable that it was so easy to meet people. I made some good friends whilst I was staying there - the guests they receive are pleasant like minded nice travellers. Do not hesitate and look no further - you will love this place.

The other places I stayed at in my trip where I would also recommend without any hesitation are the ones where I have awarded 5 stars. If someone had recommended these places to me I would have saved a lot of time researching so I'd be more than happy to help future travellers. I had a great trip to South America and these places were the best I stayed. If you would like any info or have any questions, please let me know.

PS the email address for La Posta is - hostallaposta@gmail.com.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ninsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Good location, helpful staff, cleaned very thoroughly every day. Salta can be humid at this time of year so fans in rooms help. Good internet connection. Good recommendations for local services. Relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

It has been a while since I have stayed in a hostel (depending on whether you think 20 years is a while), so I do not have much to compare La Posta with except the boutique hotels where I usually stay. But I have no complaints. My friend and I stayed in a private room with a queen bed and a set of bunk beds and private bath, at the very back of the hostel (#8), and it was clean and convenient. Breakfast was basic, but I agree with a previous reviewer that this is the best coffee I have had in Argentina, and I have travelled here regularly for business over the past two years. Ariel, our host, was *extremely* helpful. Cost about $40 USD a night for the room, which I gather is a little on the pricey side, but worth it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarnabyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in the lovely Salta in a Double room with private bathroom. This place is a good mix with some dorm rooms and 3 private rooms at the back which make for a good sleep. Suprisingly they even had cable tv in the private rooms. Bathrooms are small but more than adequate to use.
Breakfeast is freshly made and served by the owners, typical Argetinian with croissants and coffee. There is cooking facilities, with a supermarket located close by. Short walk to bus station and the centre of town.
If bored one night there is even a Hoyts cinema about 20 minute walk that shows movies in English with Spanish subtitles.
Great place with friendly owners and a even better town to stop off at.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickpresti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Relaxed atmosphere, nice Breakfast, friendly owners with helpful advice. Easy to reach, Internet, Rooms clean, with lockers. One room a little too warm. Nice patio for breakfast and siesta. Two dorms and also private double rooms.
Next time again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinaTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This place was good although up there in price for a private room with the smallest private bathroom I've ever experienced!

Christian was really great and answered tons of questions for us. It definitely did the trick for the night. The courtyard is inviting, internet quick, people friendly... I think that is all you need in a hostal!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovintheworld17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salta hotels
1.5 mi away
Hostal All Norte
Hostal All Norte
#2 of 138 in Salta
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Salta Por Siempre
1.9 mi away
Loki Salta
Loki Salta
#17 of 138 in Salta
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hostal Prisamata
Hostal Prisamata
#4 of 138 in Salta
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Rejas Hostel
Las Rejas Hostel
#1 of 138 in Salta
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Posada del Angel
Posada del Angel
#6 of 138 in Salta
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Posta

Address: Calle Cordoba 368, Salta A4402EZH, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Salta
Price Range: $38 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very well located just 5 minutes walking from the city center, Hostal La Posta offers you a quiet, clean and cosy place to spend some days in Salta : you will envoy our breakfast with a good home-made coffee, the garden where you can enjoy a glass of tipical wine and the particular atmosphear, relaxing and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal La Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing