We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful, small, cosy and quiet boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kkala Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Salta
Certificate of Excellence
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“wonderful, small, cosy and quiet boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

a great experience in a residential area of salta. One of the best hotels I have experimented in Argentina. Very kind and helpfull staff. Delicious breakfasts! Congratulations to this cosy and very comfortable hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiacchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    45
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
63
214
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

First the positives, this is a very, very nice hotel. It's a small, very personal hotel a little way from the centre of Salta. However, it's only a 25 minute walk to the main plaza and there are two decent places to eat within 5 minutes of the hotel. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly, wifi works well, breakfast was one of the best in our 6 months in South America. All in all, I'd say that this was one of the best 5 hotels we've stayed at in those 6 months, so why only 4 out of 5, well that was the surprise on check-out.

When you book via a hotel booking website the price you see will not be the price you pay. The hotel even sends you an invoice quoting the price shown on the web, however, you need to read the small print. Your final bill will be 21% more than the price you're expecting. Not a single other hotel in our travels have billed us more than the price quoted on hotel booking sites - if there's a tax to pay then it's included in the quoted price. Upon being given our new, enlarged bill we were told we could have a discount for cash. Not much use at this point because I don't walk around with 2,000 pesos in my pocket, of course, I could have gotten that much cash had I been told about this discount when I checked in.

In summary, a very, very nice stay at a very nice hotel, however, we left with a very bad taste in our mouths because of the very poor communication over the price. The stupid thing is that this place is still great value for money at the higher price, so why not quote that price when selling?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JZKTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Great cosy boutique hotel. Beautifully designed rooms and bathrooms. Nice welcoming service and very discrete. Has a good view over the city, especially from the breakfast room. Breakfast was excellent, with different variations every day! You will need a taxi to go downtown or a rental car. Small but nice pool. Expensive but worth the money

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank softailboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
174 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Beautiful hotel that comes as advertised and does not disappoint.
The staff is excellent, the pool is warm and the common areas are as inviting as the beds are comfortable.
The breakfast is top both albeit typical of the hotel industry in Argentina. I would say if the kkala wants to get to the next level of excellent they should increase or differentiate their breakfast offerings and have some snack/light lunch options more available to clients. We did order off the available day menu but it took way too long.
Why did we order in? Because the hotel is so comfortable. The next day we decided to get take out and pick up items from a local mercado and had a wonderful time with other guests in the main dining area. The staff was accommodating to this and even helped with dishes and clean up - thank you for this kkala.
The location is distant from the plaza but not too far from the Balcarce area. Plus the plaza is typical where as the hotel is not. Taxi's are inexpensive in salta and the staff will call one if asked.
Regarding the staff - they are on the ball and ready to help with anything. The rooms are comfortable and the touches are extensive. Thank you for a wonderful time kkala.

Room Tip: avoid the room by the breakfast bar. could be quiet but you are at the door to the kitchen. the shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comfortoverspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Very beautifully decorated small boutique hotel in a quiet (high end) neighborhood of Salta (20 min walk from downtown...you are better off taking cab). The standard rooms are rather small, but functional. Bed is comfortable and rooms are very clean. Sat tv includes English language news channels. Service is excellent and staff speaks good to excellent English. Breakfast is served in a beautiful room overlooking the city (with a deck if you want to sit outside) and you are also allowed to use kitchen to prepare your own dinner (and use this room for dining) if you like. An extensive honor bar is located in the lobby. The entire hotel has WLAN but it's a bit spotty....there is a PC for guests in the lobby as backup. Guest laundry is done in-house and is quick, reliable and very reasonably priced. The pool is clean, but not heated. The entire family (kids aged 11 & 12) enjoyed our stay at this hotel over Xmas and I can strongly recommend it to couples and families with kids (who can behave and be quiet upon request as hotel has only 6 rooms). Our special thanks to Mercedes who received us at the hotel and gave excellent advice and Ariel who patiently helped us sort out a problem with a bad rental car that wouldn't start in the morning (120'000 km on the meter, rented from Alamo in Salta).

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little more for the two high-end rooms with Jacuzzi and more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalNomad68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

I loved this hotel.
It is a small stylish boutique hotel that is absolutely gorgeous!!! My bathroom was wonderful, massive tub with jacuzzi, what more? oh yes... a small, heated pool, and I was there in winter....
A wonderful stay.
Btw. there is no hotel restaurant!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galatina123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

On an 18-day tour of Argentina taking in 5 high quality hotels, this was probably my favourite of the lot. We had the deluxe room on the top floor with jacuzzi and lovely views over the city. Rooms on lower floors seemed to have an assortment of sizes and views. The hotel was a private home in is in a very nice residential neighbourhood. A couple of good restaurants and a nice coffee shop are just a 10 minute walk away, though the centre of town is 25 - 30 minutes. A taxi will cost only a couple of pounds though. The hotel is beautifully furnished with many local artisan touches like woven and tapestry hanging and throws, horn and silver door handles and cactus-wood facings to the doors. But it is also super-modern with huge and comfortable king beds, cable TV, wifi and we had a lovely bathroom with big rainfall shower, twin basins and luxurious toiletries and towels as well as a small balcony overlooking the pool. The pool looked very nice, with sun loungers around it, but unfortunately we hit some seriously wet weather during our stay and could not use it. Breakfast was excellent - possibly the best of our stay - and the charming breakfast watress (and indeed all the staff) really couldn't have been more helpful. We were out from breakfast until dinner every day on some of the fabulous drives in this region, but to return here each evening after dinner was a real treat. A fantastic little place with only 6 rooms, but delivering a very high level of service and an intimate, friendly one too - moving to a Hyatt in Mendoza after this was a real culture shock; another lovely hotel, but big, impersonal and corporate. The opposite of Kkala really.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are bigger, and views from top floor are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsmantravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salta hotels
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Salta Hotel
Sheraton Salta Hotel
#10 of 87 in Salta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legado Mitico Salta
Legado Mitico Salta
#1 of 87 in Salta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Almeria
Hotel Almeria
#8 of 87 in Salta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.2 mi away
Design Suites Salta
Design Suites Salta
#9 of 87 in Salta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#6 of 87 in Salta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kkala Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kkala Boutique Hotel

Property: Kkala Boutique Hotel
Address: Pasaje Las Higueras 104 | Tres Cerritos, Salta A4408KAD, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kkala Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kkala is a charming boutique hotel located at the foot of a mountain, in the exclusive residential area of Tres Cerritos in Salta. The hotel combines tradition with unique antiques and regional craftsmanship. The library invites guests to relax by the fireplace and enjoy the unpretentious hospitality of our staff. Kkala Boutique Hotel is only five minutes away from the city center; perfect for exploring the city, or enjoying typical food in a local restaurant or prepared in house. Start the day with a cozy breakfast in the dining room filled with stunning aromas and overlooking Salta and its mountains. LOCATION Kkala Boutique hotel is located in an exclusive residential area of Salta. Here we can find incredible quietness and comfort without losing the convenience of being no more than fifteen blocks away from the historic center and all the traditional tourist routes. Salta means "beautiful". It's the best description of the city and the province that shares the name. Salta is located in the north west of Argentina, it borders three countries: Chile, Bolivia and Paraguay. Due to its location, forming a ring between the Andes Mountains to the west and the Argentine-Paraguayan Chaco to the east, it has a huge variety of climates and geography. For this reason, landscapes and tourist circuits are incomparable: from the vast and desert like puna to the splendor of the tropical jungle. Besides landscapes, Salta also has the historical and cultural heritage that invites for a deeper understanding. Travellers will have the opportunity to get in touch with ancient customs that remain alive in the community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kkala Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing