We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice shows!”
Review of La Vieja Estacion

La Vieja Estacion
Ranked #5 of 285 Restaurants in Salta
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice shows!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The variety of music and dance was very good. Crowd was good as well. Lots of tourists, but mostly Argentinian. We did not eat here, but the food coming out of the kitchen looked very good. Great place to grab a drink and watch a show.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tulip579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    382
    108
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great evening of entertainment and food”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We wanted to go to a Pena that wasn't totally folk music and this ticked all the boxes. A fabulous singer, interspersed with folkloric dances and music. The atmosphere was more local and the tourists were also mainly from Argentina. We had a great meal and the waiters were superb and very attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barranco006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“True Artesans”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

If I am not mistaken, La Vieja Estacion houses an extraordinary Artesans Market full of hand made traditional and modern items at reasonable prices. The building is very attractive with its interior gardens and patios and it is well kept. A good place to shop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarmenArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
279 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Lively atmosphere, great entertainment and loads of fun”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

There are lots of places to choose from along this strip, so pick one and enjoy yourself. We had an enjoyable dinner & show at La Vie Estacion. From the reviews I had read online I wasn't expecting much in terms of the meal, but I found it surprising good. There is no fee for the show if you are there to eat, otherwise there expect a small cover charge. Once you've eaten, you can sit and enjoy your wine as the show goes on until the wee hours. Agreed it's a touristy thing to do, but I found the folk music & dancing entertaining. Service was more than attentive. Great entertainment!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good place to watch a band”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

If you stay in Salta, you dont have to stay in your hotel at night. This city has many to offer when it comes to nightlife experience. Balcarce is the nightclub and bar district of the city, very well secured by the police. Let's face it, it's hard to pick a bar in this street when you're a tourist and when for you it's all the same. From my experience, I would highly recommend this place. The real value is the band, those guys really know how to put on a show. The songs are great even if you're not a great fan of latin music. They have the audience participating in the show and have good dancers. I personnally didnt eat there but all the people around told me it was good.
PS I bought the band's CD and listened to it all day in the car I rent to do the Quebrada afterwards

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vieja Estacion also viewed

Salta, Province of Salta
Salta, Province of Salta
 
Salta, Province of Salta
Salta, Province of Salta
 
Salta, Province of Salta
 

Been to La Vieja Estacion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing