We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda de Molinos
Ranked #3 of 99 Salta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The food was really good this time. I was there 4 years ago and thought the food was lacking. The room we had was spacious and charming. Visit Colome Vineyards. The museum there is a really exciting place. Molinos is always a must see when I go to Argentina. I make my reservations there first as they can be hard to get. The drive from Salta is interesting, but gets really long after you leave Cachi. The roads are all dirt. Go sometimes, sit in the courtyard under the beautiful tree and listen to the Silence.

Room Tip: They are all charming in their own way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobacalero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    99
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
66
174
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gold coast, australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Staying here was such a unique experience. You really are in the middle of nowhere. The town of Molinos is tiny, and there really isn't anything to see in terms of culture. Though, the natural scenery is just amazing, and I just felt so relaxed and at peace with the world while I was there. We only spent the one night in town, though I think I could have spent several, just to unwind. The hacienda itself is lovely. It has a big courtyard to enjoy - great with a cup of tea and a good book. The service was good, the rooms are nicely appointed, and the food from the restaurant was generally quite nice. I'd definitely stay again, though for longer!

Room Tip: They all seemed pretty similar, which means they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azzabazza18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here during a road trip through Argentina, we stayed in some fantastic places but this will be one that leaves lasting memories. We booked a superior room and it was perfect in every detail, beautifully furnished and maintaining the character of the hacienda. Try to arrive in time for lunch, sitting in the courtyard enjoying food and wine is a real treat. It was my birthday the day of our stay and unbeknown to me my husband had liased with the hotel who arranged a beautiful candlelit dinner by the roaring fire, truly magical. If you have the time do book 2 nights, give yourself time to relax in the surroundings and enjoy the peace and quiet.

Room Tip: I didn't see the standard rooms but the superior rooms are excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

After one of the most beautiful drives we've ever done -- Rt 33 El Cerrito to Cachi, then rt. 40 south, we found and fell in love with Hacienda de Molinos. This piece of paradise -- quiet, classic and elegant -- is in the middle of nowhere. The silence in the courtyard made our day. Beautiful sitting room with fireplace; charming dining room; very comfortable bed in bedroom.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank irwin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed one night on route from Cachi to Cafayate. This historic hacienda is a wonderful oasis in the middle of nowhere. Molinos itself is a no horse town and the Hacienda is the only place of note. Our large traditional room was furnished with a sumptuous bed, beatiful antique furniture and an enormous modern bathroom. There is a splendid inner courtyard with a huge carob tree and tables and chairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views over the river valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali and Ade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We drove from Cafayate to Molinos - an incredible drive. It can be a little disconcerting arriving in some small towns in the middle of nowhere, but staying in Hacienda de Molinos (prior home to the last Governor of Salta appointed by the King of Spain) was perfect. On arrival we had some delicious empanadas in the courtyard under a huge pepper tree. Nice big rooms with big beds - no air-conditioning, however we found that you didn't need it and it was a nice change to have the window open (yes, there is fly-screen) with a fresh breeze blowing. We stayed two nights and ate in the restaurant both of them - atmosphere lacking (would be good to have some music perhaps?) but food was great - really delicious pork and beef. There is not much to Molinos - but most people, like us, use Hacienda de Molinos as a base to visit the Colome Winery (was good - not amazing, we were glad we weren't staying there & food was mediocre) & accompanying James Turrell museum (very good!).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wasabbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

tranquil place to stay-almost in the middle of nowhere- steeped with history
vwet little to do other than relax. Horseriding a recommended optio-n which is organised via reception
food slightly lacking- which isn't a probem

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salta
23.8 mi away
La Merced del Alto
La Merced del Alto
#1 of 4 in Cachi
330 reviews
71.5 mi away
Legado Mitico Salta
Legado Mitico Salta
#1 of 86 in Salta
510 reviews
71.2 mi away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
El Cortijo Hotel Boutique
71.9 mi away
Sheraton Salta Hotel
Sheraton Salta Hotel
#10 of 86 in Salta
761 reviews
71.2 mi away
Design Suites Salta
Design Suites Salta
#8 of 86 in Salta
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda de Molinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda de Molinos

Property: Hacienda de Molinos
Address: Abraham Cornejo S/N | Molinos, Salta 4419, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda de Molinos 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Molinos is a mandatory stop on any tour round the Calchaquí Valleys. This traditional hacienda, which dates back to the 18th century and was home to the last governor of Salta appointed by the King of Spain, has been refurbished to provide you with all comfort expected from a 21st century hotel, while preserving the essence and typical features of colonial times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hacienda de Molinos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda De Molinos Hotel Salta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing