We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely inn along an amazing road” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda de Molinos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda de Molinos
Ranked #3 of 99 Salta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Lovely inn along an amazing road”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

As others have mentioned, don't go to Molinos for a lot of tourist attractions - but do go for an amazing drive and lovely accommodation. Food was good - wouldn't agree best in Argentina, but overall we found the food in Argentina quite bland.

Room Tip: Number 15 is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    95
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
59
165
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

After a long and bouncy drive from Salta, this was a really lovely hotel to arrive at. English isn't widely spoken by the staff, but enough to make oneself understood. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a huge bed and the pool was very refreshing. Molinos itself feels quite isolated and don't go here expecting things like internet or tv in your room. The dinner at the hotel was quite possibly one of the best I had in Argentina, and fairly good value for money (especially after BA prices).

The roads to and from Molinos (through Cachi and Cafayate) have some of the best landscapes I've ever come across, and it's worth going through here just to experience that.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hb133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

While on a two day road trip in Salta region, we stayed overnight at Hacienda de Molinos in the picture perfect village of Molinos. The hacienda is very nice - appropriately restored keeping all its original charm. The only thing out of tune with the place for us was the restaurant - with big tables, white tablecloths and quiet atmosphere (had to whisper across the table) it didn t feel as simple as the rest of the place - more so when in order to get there you actually spent the day on dirt road. However, the amazing steak in malbec sauce we had was one of our best meals.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Hard to get there but worth every cent! The town is pretty, the views down the valley are great. The rooms are large and very clean. The food was probably the best I had on my entire trip! The chef is truly amazing. The entrance courtyard tells you what to expect!...brilliant!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrispenoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
174 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We only had the opportunity of staying here one night. The place is very handsome. The entry court yard is hollywood perfect, the grounds are historically perfect and the interiors are wonderful. Everything feels empty and unused though. Reading the other reviews I could see where a poor review might come in.

If you are here and in a hurry you are bound to be disappointed. If you are aware that all things take time and good things come to those who wait, this place will not disappoint.

Dinner was very good and breakfast was typical of Argentina. Overall hotel service is spotty but if you are looking for quite and solitude, this is the spot.
The rooms we stayed in - far side of building - were enormous. The beds were deliciously comfortable.
The pool is ICE cold but worth a plunge after experiencing more awful AR highways.
I liked this place and would recommend it as a short stay while touring this part of AR.

Definitely make your way down the street to the CENTRO DE INTERPRETACION MOLINOS". This is a nice excursion. Also, a walk through town in the morning and the natural area in the evening are great excuse to stretch the legs.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comfortoverspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
285 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

This hotel is easy to find after a long travel on a not so good dirt road (2½ hours from Cafayetta and more than a hour from Cachi) but the nature scenery is worth the trip and we enjoyed staying in the middle of no where in this small village. It really gave a feeling of Argentinean country live. The set up of the village is simple. There is a yellow church (which you will identify easy from a distance) , opposite the church is the old hacienda (the hotel), in the same street is a cultural centre (worth a visit) and the rest are streets with houses. The Hacienda has a rich history which is (as every where in Argentina) well signposted in front of the entrance. The rooms are big and comfortable, there is a swimming pool with ice cold water and it’s lovely to sit in the court yard for drinks and/or lunch. A restaurant is on side and was of good quality (however the house wine could be better). Breakfast was poor (only bread/sweet cookies, sweet cornflakes, ham/cheese, honey/marmalade and coffee/tea/milk and instant chocomilk and watery, artificial orange jus). The staff did what they should do but nothing extra. Paying with creditcard is 10% extra, so make sure you have cash available. There is internet (however with a weak connection).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

yo have to need a car to come here we find
beautiful route to come to this very nice hotel with not a nice history, but they can't help this
we got a beautiful room no1 with a big bed very nice vieuw
the staff is very helpfull and the spoke very wel english
next tim ewe would stay here again
don't forget to go to the james turrel museum
amazing also for not museumlovers
the route to this museum is also amazing

the food in the evening is very good in a very cosy place the hole hotel is any way very nice with details

Room Tip: no 1 is a very nice and big rooom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruudanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salta
24.4 mi away
La Merced del Alto
La Merced del Alto
#1 of 4 in Cachi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
71.5 mi away
Legado Mitico Salta
Legado Mitico Salta
#1 of 87 in Salta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
23.3 mi away
El Cortijo Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.9 mi away
Finca Valentina
Finca Valentina
#4 of 99 in Salta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
15.4 mi away
Finca El Carmen
Finca El Carmen
#1 of 2 in Angastaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
71.1 mi away
Carpe Diem Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda de Molinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda de Molinos

Property: Hacienda de Molinos
Address: Abraham Cornejo S/N | Molinos, Salta 4419, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda de Molinos 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Molinos is a mandatory stop on any tour round the Calchaquí Valleys. This traditional hacienda, which dates back to the 18th century and was home to the last governor of Salta appointed by the King of Spain, has been refurbished to provide you with all comfort expected from a 21st century hotel, while preserving the essence and typical features of colonial times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda de Molinos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda De Molinos Hotel Salta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing