We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We highly recommend this place in Salta” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Hernandez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Hernandez
Ranked #1 of 99 Salta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Asuncion
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We highly recommend this place in Salta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

We stayed in this house when we visited Salta, and felt we had to write and share this "Find" with all!!!! We spend a wonderful time at Casa Hernandez. The place is very nice, very clean and cozy, decorated with native ornaments. The rooms are ample and the bathrooms also. I like the beds, the pillows the sheets everything new, classic, and of good taste. The neighborhood San Lorenzo is a beautiful and enchanted place to visit where beautiful houses called “fincas”, owned by the most traditional families of Salta stand by, surrounded by a fabulous landscape. You can rent horses or bicycle rides to visit the neighborhood which is only 6 kilometers away from Salta city. In the middle of this paradise stands Casa Hernandez , a very pleasant place to stay and the owners Rijkje and Alex (native from Holland) are really charming people, caring for every detail to make you feel as “at home”. They personally do all the work and take care of the house so as to provide a personal attention to their guests. They also are very kind and know a lot of information to share on the different places to go and visit in Salta, there are many “villages” surrounded by a wonderful landscape to admire which make this trip fascinating. Breakfast at the house is delicious and abundant as well. Although the guesthouse services include bed and breakfast only, it was incredible how after coming back from our long day journey Alex and Rikjke were there offering something to drink, tea or coffee (Rijkje´s coffee is unique). In the evening we used to share a beer in their company sharing affable conversations and life experiences. Because we like to interact with people in a familiar way we found this place a perfect place to go.

  • Liked — the couple of hosts
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank racaAsuncion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
231
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2008

This was a guesthouse that we "stumbled" upon, but were very satisfied with our experience as it was more than we expected. Alex and Rijkje, were the most helpful and personable tri-lingual hosts! Being world-travelers themselves, they decided to settle in beautiful San Lorenzo and make a lovely life for themselves on a beautiful property.
San Lorenzo is a short bus ride away from the city of Salta ,but in itself a lovely get-away from the hustle and bustle of crowds. It was exactly what my husband and I needed, a nice 5-day stay at Casa Hernandez, in the middle of a busy, 7-week South American honeymoon.
The casa is an old restored country house with beautiful brick and earth colors tastefully decorated with native art. Our bedroom was the fantastic "honeymoon suite which opened up to a beautiful, sunny green yard, and had a spacious bright bathroom (rarity in SA). Breakfast was fresh and delicious, especially the tasty warmed sweet pastries we got with our fresh-roasted coffee. Our hosts had fabulous recommendations: restaurants, activities, museums, spas - even mini trips to neighboring towns. We had such an amazing time here as well with Alex and Rijkje - we recommend anyone to stay at Casa Hernandez!

  • Liked — Large spacious room and bathroom!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

Casa Hernandez is a quaint bed and breakfast nestled in the mountains surrounding Salta, in a small village called San Lorenzo (6km away). I discovered it through a traveller in Northern Chile & spent 3 nights in paradise.

The Bed and breakfast has exceptional facilities.. the rooms are large, well equipt with comfortable beds, new linen, heaters, glass doors to the patio area, BBQ & swimming pool. The whole house is full of character with photographs and paintings from local artists, has a number of warm fire places & is super clean..

The owners are a friendly, young couple who are willing to answer any questions day or night. Through their local knowledge and contacts I experienced a gourmet feast in a nearby castle ... went for superb hikes .. bike rides .. had great meals & warm conversations ...

The continental breakfast is huge & includes everything your heart desires.. including large portions of the local Argentinean specialty dulce de leche! Guests also have 24 hour access to a fully equipt kitchen.

The price is fantastic for everything the bed and breakfast offers. I recommend Casa Hernadez to all travellers who want to have a luxurious experience in Salta & San Lorenzo :)

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank emmamaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2008

Had a lovely stay in guesthouse, Casa Hernandez.
A wonderful house with a great garden and a nice swimming pool. The breakfast is excellent and the rooms are spacious, very clean and all have a view on the garden. Rijkje and Alex make you feel very welcome.

  • Liked — location, breakfast, huge garden, friendly, feels very welcome, rooms with very nice comfortable beds
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dhoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salta hotels
5.8 mi away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
5.7 mi away
Legado Mitico Salta
Legado Mitico Salta
#1 of 87 in Salta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sheraton Salta Hotel
Sheraton Salta Hotel
#10 of 87 in Salta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hotel Almeria
Hotel Almeria
#8 of 87 in Salta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
5.7 mi away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#7 of 87 in Salta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hostal El Relax
Hostal El Relax
#2 of 99 in Salta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hernandez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hernandez

Property: Casa Hernandez
Address: Jose Hernandez 406 | Villa San Lorenzo, Salta 4401, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa Hernandez, our B&B in Villa San Lorenzo. A beautiful green and tranquil village at only 6 km. From the colonial city of Salta. The B&B disposes of large bedrooms with garden-views. Our prices include (among others) a delicious breakfast, WiFi and a swimming pool in a large garden. You are being attended by the Dutch owners Alex & Rijkje. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Hernandez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing