We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toen was geluk nog heel gewoon.....”
Review of Casa Hernandez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Hernandez
Ranked #1 of 99 Salta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Toen was geluk nog heel gewoon.....”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Staying with Alex and Rijkje at their B&B was our best decision while traveling through Argentina for a month.

We used Casa Hernandez as a base while exploring the Salta region and every few days we returned to the Casa to relax and have a beer or wine with Alex and Rijkje, share our stories with fellow travelers and get valuable tips and assistance with bookings from Alex while getting ready for our next adventures.

The way Alex and Rijkje manage their B&B should be an example to many other owners and their love for their work is reflected on how they approach their guests; very welcoming, relaxed and you as a guest always come first. The information they provide is always helpful and they really have investigated the options available and keep it up to date. My wife is still grateful for the tip on the hairdresser, thanks Rijkje!

San Lorenzo is close enough to Salta, only a 20 minute/2.5 peso bus ride away so that shouldn't be an excuse not to stay here!

Room Tip: We allways stayed in the globies inn (The Kuip for insiders), which is in the garden and great if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
236
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We selected Casa Hernandez because of its location in the green town of San Lorenzo, just outside of Salta. We first stayed 2 nights, after our road trip we relaxed there for another night before moving on.

The rooms are clean and nice, comfortable bed and shower, what more would you want? When we arrived we were greeted by the owners and got a fresh drink. Later that day they helped us a lot with the planning of our road trip, giving some nice insider tips! They really make you feel like you are at home in their B&B; spending time to get to know you if you like or just letting you refresh at the pool.

You can have it your way at Casa Hernandez and at these rates, it feels like you steeling from them! We had a great time, lots of help, rest and fun and would highly recommend it to all travelers wanting to go to the Salta area!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnDoe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our family stayed at Casa Hernandez with Alex and Rijkje in mid October for a total of 6 nights. We all had a wonderful stay, Alex and Rijkje are so friendly, warm and helpful.Their B&B and our room were all very beautiful, comfortable and relaxing and our kids were totally at home in their pool and garden. We also liked staying a bit out of Salta as the San Lorenzo area is very pretty with a supermarket, bakery, restaurants all close by. We hope that Alex's veggie garden of tomatoes, lettuce and onion is going well!! Definately one of our favorite places in Argentina.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank su p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarija, Bolivia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Casa Hernandez in July. It's a very clean and homey place. Our room was warm and cozy. When we arrived Rijkje greeted us at the door with open arms and a hug. She was very professional and helpful with our vacation plans. We talked and laughed and really had a wonderful time. Alex arrived later. Also, very pleasant and some what of a jokester. There was also another Dutch couple that was staying there at the same time, they too were very pleasant and we enjoyed talking to them as well. We would definitely recommend Casa Hernandez. It's a little out if the way in San Lorenzo. But, if you are looking for quiet place to think, read and just relax this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cynthiaenbolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Spotlessly clean and comfortable rooms in a large house in the quiet village of San Lorenzo.
It's a very easy 20 minute ride on the bus to and from the centre of Salta. Busses stop every 15 minutes just up the picturesque tree-lined street that the house is on.
Rijkje and Alex are friendly and professional hosts offering great advice and hospitality as well as privacy.
Casa Hernandez offers a fantastic stay at great value rates; clearly evidenced by the outstanding reviews they receive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brobens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ubud
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

great spot in San Lorenzo run by a lovely laid back Dutch couple. Very tranky tranky, I think thats Dutch for chilled out! lol....spotless rooms and a really nice breakfast and a big garden and pool. there are some decent restaurants nearby and Alex will give you a good rundown of places to eat and stuff to visit in San Lorenzo and Salta. Alex and Rikje are just great people to spend a few days with and have a chat and maybe sink a few beers with, they really deserve their top ratings. would def recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This cool place is run by a very nice dutch couple ( Rijkje and Alex ) so dutch language is present on daily basis, which for me was something unexpected and very interesting, since I have lived in Amsterdam some long time ago.
The place is in fact a house which is shared with guests, giving to those who wish the opportunity, to chat and interact with others more constantly.
The distance ( 5 km ) to Salta was never a problem...there is a bus every 15 min ( fare = 2 pesos) which gives us the chance to interact with locals on their lives.
San Lorenzo is a very cozy and interesting village either just for walking around or riding a bike or also, just to enjoy its tranquility.
I went on vacations with family and stayed for ten days, enjoying the beautiful garden, lovely rooms, good conversations and the very good wine of the region.
Also had the chance ( because of the cold weather) to use the parilla once and had a great time with Alex's helping hand with the fire!
In fact, me and my family enjoyed very much this place and it would for sure be our choice again.
And of course I could never forget to mention Rijkje's delicious homemade bread and yogurt on breakfast.

Room Tip: There is one large with a bath tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ivpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salta hotels
0.3 mi away
Las Moras Hotel
Las Moras Hotel
#17 of 86 in Salta
105 reviews
5.7 mi away
Legado Mitico Salta
Legado Mitico Salta
#1 of 86 in Salta
508 reviews
5.8 mi away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Balcon de la Plaza
11.4 mi away
Loki Salta
Loki Salta
#15 of 135 in Salta
96 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kkala Boutique Hotel
Kkala Boutique Hotel
#8 of 86 in Salta
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hernandez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hernandez

Property: Casa Hernandez
Address: Jose Hernandez 406 | Villa San Lorenzo, Salta 4401, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa Hernandez, our B&B in Villa San Lorenzo. A beautiful green and tranquil village at only 6 km. From the colonial city of Salta. The B&B disposes of large bedrooms with garden-views. Our prices include (among others) a delicious breakfast, WiFi and a swimming pool in a large garden. You are being attended by the Dutch owners Alex & Rijkje. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Hernandez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing