We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel La Candela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Candela
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Salta
Certificate of Excellence
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. Beautiful and clean.
It is within 10 minutes walk of the main square.
We stayed for 3 nights and were lucky to be upgraded to the suite for two of them, which was a nice surprise.
The breakfast hours are very flexible, which was important for us as we got up early for excursions.
On one day we had it at 5:30 am, and this is a full service breakfast, not a buffet. You just have to notify them the evening before, if you intend to eat before 7am.
The main receptionist spoke very good English. With the guy on the night shift, we managed to communicate too, but not exactly in English :-)

They should upgrade their public PC, though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moshe-xxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Owner at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear guest:
thank you for having taken the time to share with the community of Tripadvisor your experience at our hotel. We are glad that your stay has been to your liking, what makes us think that we would choose again if returned to Salta, always welcome.

Sincerely yours,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    104
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
89
203
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms comfortable. Beautiful gardens to sit in and a lovely pool. Breakfast was perfectly fine. The hotel is central, a good base from which to visit the town on foot. It has a large secure garage for your car.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Owner at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear guest,
It's good to know that our hotel did meet your expectations and that we have been a pleasant pause after such a long trip. We have enjoyed your visit as well. Thank you very much for your input and for sharing it with the Tripadvisor community.
It's been a real pleasure to have you among our guests and hopefuly you'll join us again in the future. Salta city and La Candela hotel will definitely give you a warm welcome.
SIncerely yours,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at La Candela on two separate occasions while in the area. our first room was in the standard category and was very comfortable , but without any views. After seeing the beautiful gardens and pool area, I upgraded to the deluxe catagory for our return. It was not very much more and definitly worth the extra cost.
The hotel , which is located on a quiet tree lined street, has a very unassuming facade . Upon entering the dining room, however, guests are treated to the view of a very beautiful garden and pool. The breakfast, served in the dining room, is very nice and service was warm and welcoming. We asked for eggs, and they cooked them to order ! Excellent choice of breads and pastries.
The location is quite good and a short walk to the Plaza.
The staff is very competent and obliging. We were very happy withour stay there .

Room Tip: ASk for a room facing the garden with a view of the mountain behind
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemarytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Propietario at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,
Having visitors that choose to stay for a second time in our hotel is clear sign that there were more things they liked than things they may have not liked. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in La Candela Hotel.
We appreciate your views and we thank you for your time to share your experience at our hotel with the Tripadvisor community. We hope tou have you among our guests soon.

Best regards,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macclesfield, UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I cannot understand how this hotel merits so many five star ratings on TA. We arrived at 19.00 to the sound and smell of the stairs being vacuumed with an ancient machine. We were shown to a tiny double room (we had booked a twin), and all the three available twins we looked at were dark and dingy. Our chosen room was OK but we had to ask for plugs for the basin and bath, more coathangers and a key for the safe. Beds were comfortable. Room had a vaguely musty smell, perhaps from years of tobacco seeping intop the fabric coverings of the plywood wardrobe doors.

The strong points of the hotel are its central but quiet location, and the very attractive garden and swimming pool area, which unfortunately we were unable to enjoy as the weather in Salta was unusually cool and rainy for the time of year. Breakfast is pretty basic: muddy coffee, fresh fruit, the ubiquitous ham and sliced cheese squares, croissants and a vile sweet, pink, pouring yoghurt. Staff are polite and friendly, if a little lacking in knowledge (it took three people before we finally ascertained that there was no English-language news channel on the multi-channel TV).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Owner at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your time taken to give your opinion on our Hotel.
We are sorry to learn that your stay was so unpleasant. Even though we make our best efforts day by day to please all our guests, it seems we did not meet your expectations.
I apologize, also on behalf of our staff, for the discomfort caused to you during your stay.
I'll certainly transmit your observations to our service team to be taken as a practical example of situations that should never occur again -although I must say this has never happened before. I appreciate your having shared your comments with us and we will work on each and every detail you've pointed out.
Should you visit our city again, it will be a pleasure to have you among us one more time so that you can enjoy your stay in our Hotel as you deserve. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that I can personally take care of you. One more time, please be so kind to accept my apologies.

Yours sincerely,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Location - a few blocks to Plaza 9 de Julio, walking distance to many restaurants.
Very secure hotel from our experience, including locked garage for our rented vehicle. Front door always locked.
Room was cozy, clean and very nicely decorated - had a safe that was smaller (did not fit my laptop, but was not concerned as felt the hotel was quite secure). Bed was comfy.
Hotel was very accommodating in providing us with large bottled water (for a reasonable fee), since we only had US $ and could find no place that took either US$ or credit to buy bottled water.
Breakfast was relatively simple - toast, biscuits, croissants, cheese and cold ham slices, jams, juices, coffee, yogurt.
Had lovely gardens and pool - we enjoyed the pool and its surroundings - pool was not very hot, but not cold either - likely around 80 degrees F. Towels and lawnchairs were provided.
Reception service was friendly, helpful and efficient.
There was no fitness centre.
Our windows opened to let fresh air in, but since it was relatively warm we instead kept them closed and used the air conditioner. There were a few clicks from the air conditioner at night that were noticed as it turned on and off.
Only thing that I would have like better was a coffee maker in the room.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia12015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Owner at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Your positive comments left on Tripadvisor revealed to us the fact that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. We truly appreciate your time taken to post your comments.
Even though we do not have coffee makers in the rooms, we would have loved to satisfy your requirement from our 24/7 café service.
I am sure that Salta has still lot more places and landscapes to offer. May it be a good reason for you to visit us again, and of course we would love to have you among us.
Sincerely,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrliberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We enjoyed 2 nights at this centrally located, charming Hotel. Walked everywhere, it is very close to the Central Plaza. Breakfast was good with very nice service. Beautiful outdoor patio with comfortable seating and a swimming pool. Our room was tastefully decorated and clean. We can fully recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Propietario at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear guest,
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we appreciate your comments. We look forward to having you again among our guests.
Best regards,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
116 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

La Candela was possibly our favorite hotel in our 2 month trip to Argentina. Both women who work at reception were delightful - so helpful, so welcoming, fluent in English, yet patient with our need to practice our mediocre Spanish. We stayed in 3 rooms - one very small, but still just fine.
They have great bathrrooms and showers. We loved sitting outside looking out over the lovely back courtyard. I enjoyed swimming in the pool. Wi-fi worked well, even out there. We had laundry done well and timely. Restaurant staff was also great, volunteered to wrap some breakfast bread, ham, and cheese for us to take on the road. Breakfast was the normal Argentinian continental, but eaten in their lovely breakfast room that looks out on the yard. A big plus for us (and for others with cars) was the free garage parking next door. Super convenient and easy to accomplish. As others have said the hotel is just a few blocks from the Salta plaza, but on a quieter street. We enjoyed the art displayed around the hotel as well. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Though we never had it, there looked to be a largish room with a big picture window that looked out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Propietario at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear guest,
We feel glad to have been the option for your stay in the city of Salta, and to know you have enjoyed our facilities and that our service provided has met your expectations.
We truly appreciate your time taken to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community; we work everyday with the belief that we are making our visitors' stay a pleasant experience. It is for sure that Salta still has lot more places to visit and charming landscapes to offer, so it will be a pleasure to have you again among our guests.
Best regards,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salta hotels
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Salta Hotel
Sheraton Salta Hotel
#10 of 87 in Salta
742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
0.3 mi away
Hotel Salta
Hotel Salta
#15 of 87 in Salta
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Delvino Boutique Hotel
Delvino Boutique Hotel
#14 of 87 in Salta
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legado Mitico Salta
Legado Mitico Salta
#1 of 87 in Salta
503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#7 of 87 in Salta
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Candela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Candela

Property: Hotel La Candela
Address: Calle Pueyrredon 346 | Salta, Salta A4400EAH, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salta
#6 Best Value Hotel in Salta
#7 Business Hotel in Salta
#8 Family Hotel in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Candela 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old two-storey house hosts La Candela located in the heart of the city of Salta, only 500mts away from the main square.Its interior design mirrors a free expression of language emphasized by the contrasts of colors and furnishings. In La Candela some new styles are created, some others are merged, and sometimes old elements are recycled.La Candela's owners and staff put their best to make their guests feel happy and comfortable in this lovely city with beautiful landscapes nicknamed ...SALTA .. THE BEAUTIFUL SALTA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Candela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Candela Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing