We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“knowledgeable and helpful staff”
Review of Hotel La Candela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Candela
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Salta
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“knowledgeable and helpful staff”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

we stayed here in august 2011 and i'm just now getting around to doing reviews. that said, i have been meaning to write about our experience because it was so favorable! really enjoyed this place as it was close to the center square (walking distance) but not so close that it's loud. nice street and off street parking available. the breakfast area was quaint and cute and offered a nice spread of typical argentine breakfast staples. also the staff are extremely helpful. we were making a day trip up to humahuaca, jujuy and they explained one road was windier than it looked on the map and that there were no street lights so it was best to return that evening using the highway. on the map it looked like doing so would be a huge detour but in the end it was a huge time saver for us!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namchegompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Propietario at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear guests,

It's good to know that, even though a long time went by, you still decided to share your experience in La Candela Hotel with the Trip Advisor Community. Thank you for dedicating some time for us. The acknowledgment given by our guests is what encourage us in continuing with what we believe is one of our strongest virtues: to meet the expectations of those that choose us as an option for their stay in this beautiful city of Salta.

We look forward to having you among our guests again. It is for sure the Argentine North still has lot more cultural customs and landscapes to offer.

Yours sincerely,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    105
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
89
203
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a relaxing stay. Within walking distance of the MAAM and the cathedral. Very friendly and helpfull staff. A little bit old fashioned but very qualitative rooms. No noise even at street side. Nice swimming pool in the well maintained garden. Breakfast with view on the garden.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsjoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Propietario at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest:
Even though our rooms might look a bit "old-fashioned" the idea has always been to keep their original style preserving their presentation, confort and brightness. Your having enjoyed other aspects and services of our hotel is an encouraging reason to let us continue with our hotel service proposal.
We appreciate your having taken some time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community, and it's for sure Salta has still more landscapes and places to offer. We look forward to having you again among our guests to enjoy the swimming pool and our colorful garden.
Best regards,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Hotel candela is a small welcoming hotel 5 minutes from the center of salta.
The hotel is located in a beatiful old building, very good presereved, with nice garden and a pool.
The service is perfect, english speaking team takes care of every request very efficintly and with a constent smile.
The hotel has a parking place.
Rooms are very claen and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itayzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Owner at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear guest,
As usual, every recognition to good service practices means a lot to us taking into account our staff's continuous effort to meet every guest's expectations. We are pleased to learn that you have placed a qualification for us as a hotel with a "perfect" service and that you have enjoyed our facilities.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with the Trip Advisor community and we hope to have you again among our guests in a future. It is for sure that Salta still has a lot to offer.

Sincerely yours,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel was fine - it was clean and central and the breakfast was good but it didn't have much of a personality. The only redeeming quality was Ines at the front desk who was very helpful with advice on the region. I wouldn't consider the experience on par with a boutique hotel though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Houb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Propietario at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest:
Our major concern is not being able to meet the expectations of every person that chooses to stay in our hotel, so we work hard every day to provide our service in a respectful, honest, and efficient manner, aiming at satisfying all our guests' needs.

We truly apologize for not having been able to meet your expectations. We wish to have an opportunity in a near future to assure you a more positive experience in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

great place to stay!
delighful small hotel in central Salta. Great location, building and service. Lovely (but smallish rooms), lovely garden and swimmingpool- and first class service. Only (tiny) gripe was single beds are narrow.We loved staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Propietario at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in our small hotel, even though it was necessary to comment on the size of our rooms, something that we are certainly aware of, hence the importance of our continuous effort to provide an outstanding service in all other aspects to make our guests feel comfortable during their visit.

It is for sure that our Province of Salta has still lot more to offer and to surprise you, then we would be more than glad to have you once again as a guest.

Your sincerely,

Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

It's a cozy boutique hotel done up with meticulous attention to detail. It has a lovely back garden with a swimming pool and our room overlooked it. Breakfast was good but there were no hot dishes available which was a shame given that it's a four-star hotel. The room (we stayed in a double superior) was a tad too small once again given the price we were paying. The bathroom was spacious though. The hotel is well located - a short walk away from the hustle and bustle of the center in a neighborhood with stylish shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dora_and_Map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Propietario at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your choosing us for your stay in the city of Salta, however we feel sorry for not having being able to meet your expectations completely.
The superior room you stayed in not only was the only room available for that date but also the one that has the most charming view.
Our breakfast service is a Continental type, that is why we do not offer hot dishes but we always have this option available upon our guests' request and as a courtesy, free of charge. We could have prepared some fried eggs or poached eggs, also scrambled eggs with or without ham.
We thank you for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community and we hope to have you in our hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is located near the town center, but in a quiet part of the city. We had a lovely room overlooking the swimming pool and garden (room 11). The room was a nice size with a large double bed and efficient air conditioning. The room safe was ok - too small for the laptop but ok to store most other things. The front desk is staffed 24h a day - we asked for a very early breakfast for our first morning and it was arranged without a fuss, next morning we over-slept and were almost too late for breakfast, but a quick phone call to the front desk and we were able to enjoy a very late breakfast. I would recommend this hotel as a good place to stay, it has a nice friendly feel and most of the city attractions are within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finnbar_Oooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Propietario at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing us for your stay in the city of Salta. We are glad to learn that our service has met your expectations. You had a place for your laptop in our main safe at the reception desk 24/7, maybe it was lack of information on our end to cover your need.
It is for sure our city has still lot more to offer and we would be glad to have you among our guests again.
We appreciate your having taken some time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Yours sincerely,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salta hotels
0.4 mi away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Salta Hotel
Sheraton Salta Hotel
#10 of 86 in Salta
750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Salta
Hotel Salta
#14 of 86 in Salta
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Delvino Boutique Hotel
Delvino Boutique Hotel
#13 of 86 in Salta
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#6 of 86 in Salta
922 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legado Mitico Salta
Legado Mitico Salta
#1 of 86 in Salta
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Candela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Candela

Property: Hotel La Candela
Address: Calle Pueyrredon 346 | Salta, Salta A4400EAH, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salta
#7 Business Hotel in Salta
#7 Best Value Hotel in Salta
#8 Family Hotel in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Candela 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old two-storey house hosts La Candela located in the heart of the city of Salta, only 500mts away from the main square.Its interior design mirrors a free expression of language emphasized by the contrasts of colors and furnishings. In La Candela some new styles are created, some others are merged, and sometimes old elements are recycled.La Candela's owners and staff put their best to make their guests feel happy and comfortable in this lovely city with beautiful landscapes nicknamed ...SALTA .. THE BEAUTIFUL SALTA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Candela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Candela Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing