We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of calm”
Review of Hotel La Candela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Candela
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Salta
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An Oasis of calm”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 days at the beginning of the month and would have stayed longer but for the forever changing schedules of the airlines.
It was one of my favourite hotels in Argentina. It was comfortable friendly and traditional. Our room was spacious with comfortable beds and excellent linen. The location was excellent and the staff helpful and charming.Breakfasts were fine and served by a very helpful girl who managed to be friendly despite her lack of English and our poor Spanish.
The garden and pool are lovely and my only regret is that we did not have time to stay longer. If we are fortunate enough to return to Salta we would definitely stay her again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dansoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Propietario at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
We feel distinguished by your recognizing us as one of your favorite hotels in Argentina. Your comments make us feel the need to continue making our best to meet our guests’ expectations.
We also appreciate your having taken some time to share your experience with Trip Advisor audience. Thank you very much.
Undoubtedly you will be able to come to Salta in a future, so we would love to welcome you again as a guest.

Sincerely,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    105
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
90
204
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

As I was having breakfast the first morning at La Candela, the gardener was busy clipping what seemed to be every blade of grass that surrounded the pool and plants and trees. That's a perfect image for this boutique hotel: an incredible attention to detail. Some hotels that are not brand new show their age (though not in their pictures). I'm not sure when this hotel was built, but it could easily be neglected with a "good enough" attitude and it would show. That doesn't happen here. Whether in how each room is cleaned, to how they go above and beyond at the front desk, all the staff are committed to making this small gem in Salta perfect in every way possible. For example, I needed to have an early breakfast when I took a one-day tour that left at 7am, so they helpfully started mine at 630.

The rooms are small compared to something built in the last decade but so what? Unless you need a large room (I had the smallest so there may be larger ones as well), these are classy and very well kept up. The grounds and pool are unique and are great amenities after a day of walking or for a respite during the heat of the afternoon. Helpfully, La Candela is perfectly situated wihin walking distance of the main square and plenty of restaurants (and you can walk to the gondola that gives you a view of the city); it is just far enough away to be quiet and just close enough to be convenine .It's also bordering on one of the nicer areas of the city. I can't say enough good things about this hotel and the staff was incredibly helpful. Only minor annoyance was a less soft bed than I'd prefer but overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Propietario at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to know that we have met your expectations. We feel really proud when a guest with so much travelling experience can value all those little details we offer to make ourselves different.

Thank you very much for your taking some time to write a few lines and share your experience with Trip Advisor community. We hope to have you with us again in a future; it is for sure that Salta still keeps some nice places and landscapes to surprise you.

Yours sincerely,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We booked this hotel based on the great reviews it received and stayed for 5 nights. The location is great, in a residential street about a 5-10 minute walk from the main square in Salta. It has a very nice back garden with a pool where we relaxed on off days between tours and sightseeing. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. I'd like to mention the lady who served us breakfast every morning, as she was extremely nice and helped us have a great start of the day (even though she we couldn't really communicate, as she didn't speak English and our Spanish was limited as well). Breakfast is served in a nice room facing the terrace and garden and is furnished in antiques and traditional furniture and decorations. It didn't overwhelm us and we went out for breakfast one day for something different. The hotel's breakfast consists of toast, some cracker-like breads with jam, dulce de leche, basic ham and cheese, fresh fruit salad, fresh orange juice and tea or coffee - not bad for a country that doesn't eat breakfast, but a bit boring after 5 days anyway.

We were a bit disappointed by our room as well, as we expected something more luxurious or modern based on the hotel description and reviews. The room was clean and just big enough for two people with luggage. It had Wifi, but the connection broke down regularly. The decor of both the bedroom and bathroom is quite outdated and wasn't very welcoming at first. If it were updated and renovated and a wider choice of breakfast items served, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dulin38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Very friendly welcome, the receptionist was sooooo helpful and kind. Quirky traditional decor. Room disappointly tiny. Nice and clean bathroom. Stunning garden and beautful pool which we had to ourselves :) Maybe there are better standard rooms but ours was disappointing. Average brekkie.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandelchamblee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Propietario at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for sharing with the community of TripAvisor your experience at our hotel, we work daily to improve the comfort of our guests and we are glad that they have received.

We regret not having known their preferences for breakfast, while we offer the classic Continental breakfast, we tried to get closer to your tastes.

Regarding the difficulties he had with Wi-Fi signal, we did not record the problems previously we will manage our service provider to correct it.

Hopefully soon we might have a chance to count them among our guests again, probably with some variety in the breakfast could surprise you.

Sincerely yours,
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is such a quaint and lovely inn. Very very clean with helpful English speaking staff. It has lovely gardens and a pool, along with wifi. Excellent breakfast, and they must have listened to the last reviewer because they now.serve.cheese and ham with toast jams and croissant! Great location just a few blocks.from thee downtown. Easy walk to the downtown plaza. Excellent choice for.your stay in Salta.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teafolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NV
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The hotel is few blocks from the center of Salta. The rooms are modest and comfortable. The staff was most helpful with great suggestions. The pool and surrounding garden offers tranquility and relief from the daily heat. The breakfast was sparse/frugal and could be improved with the addition of sliced meats/cheeses and a wider selection of breads/pastries.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenNorthernNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarija, Bolivia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The service was very nice and personalized. the hotel is not very big so it feels more like a guest house. The people srtive to help and make you feel like home.

The decoration and architecture make it a very original place.

The owner is also a nice gentleman that can give nice advice on restaurants and things to do.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChapacoViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCandelaSalta, Propietario at Hotel La Candela, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
first want to thank us we have chosen for your stay in this city of Salta.
His concepts honor our work, rejoicing have received the attention and service as we are concerned to offer our guests.
Thank you very much for taking the time to share their experience in our hotel with the TripAdvisor community, probably saved them Salta still many more places and landscapes to discover how to think about an upcoming trip, and then again have the pleasure of again among our guests.
On behalf of myself and the entire staff of Hotel La Candela, greet you cordially.
Carlos Ruiz Echazú
Hotel La Candela
Salta - Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salta hotels
0.4 mi away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Salta Hotel
Sheraton Salta Hotel
#10 of 86 in Salta
761 reviews
6.4 mi away
Las Moras Hotel
Las Moras Hotel
#16 of 86 in Salta
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Legado Mitico Salta
Legado Mitico Salta
#1 of 86 in Salta
510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#5 of 86 in Salta
934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Salta
Hotel Salta
#13 of 86 in Salta
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Candela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Candela

Property: Hotel La Candela
Address: Calle Pueyrredon 346 | Salta, Salta A4400EAH, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Salta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salta
#7 Business Hotel in Salta
#8 Family Hotel in Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Candela 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old two-storey house hosts La Candela located in the heart of the city of Salta, only 500mts away from the main square.Its interior design mirrors a free expression of language emphasized by the contrasts of colors and furnishings. In La Candela some new styles are created, some others are merged, and sometimes old elements are recycled.La Candela's owners and staff put their best to make their guests feel happy and comfortable in this lovely city with beautiful landscapes nicknamed ...SALTA .. THE BEAUTIFUL SALTA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Candela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Candela Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing