We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Warm Welcome like Home”
Review of La Paya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Province of Salta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Paya
Ranked #71 of 128 Hotels in Province of Salta
Reviewed March 28, 2009

One night was not enough in this typical traditional house when we arrive the Familly makes you feel like home.
Then you arrive in your clean and fresh large room decorate with good taste by Maria Magdalena the charming daughter .
The Beds are King Size and confortable.
The Bathroom is large and very cosy .
The Breakfast is outside on terrace with mountain view , excelent and made home.
You can and i recomand at diner to eat the cook of Mama it's delicious even the bred is made home .
The service is made with diligence by indian waitresses .
If you like tea you should Taste the Cedron tea at the end .
The morning just on the side of the house you can walk on a path of the land of the owner across vineyard and tomatoes fields with flowers .
You can also visit their church close to the house.
All What you need to be the King and the Queen.
More than words watch the pictures.
Enjoy

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunbodylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 51 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2009

We stayed here as part of a 6 day tour of the northwest, and of all the places we stayed this was the real highlight. It's a few slow miles from Cachi in a small village, but once you've found it you won't want to leave! It's a delightful renovation using traditional materials, and our room was comfortable and well appointed. It's the little touches like fresh roses that make a difference. In fact there were these little touches everywhere. We ate in the restaurant, more like home cooking than restaurant cooking, and one of our best meals. There's a swimming pool and nice areas to sit outside, and they have just built a new eating terrace which we used for breakfast and which afforded great views down the valley. I'm sure there are lots of good walks in the area, although we did not discover them as we spent just the one night. To top all of this it is very good value at about 180 pesos! If you are in the Cachi area, try to stay there!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2008

My husband and I visited La Paya for the second time, and we were so glad we returned. Magdelena, the owner's daughter, was our host, she speaks Engish, and she made sure our stay was comfortable and relaxing. La Paya is dramatically set in the country, about 20 minutes from Cachi. It is peaceful, beautiful and set in a small, ancient farming community. The bleating of baby goats is the only noise! It is a great location to take side trips to Cachi, Seclantas (home of many famous weavers), and Cordones National Park. The breakfasts are complete and substantial. Do not pass up the offered dinners - I ate there several nights and had some of the best meals of my life. In short, if you are going to Argentina, you must go to La Paya!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Torrontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

It's easy for a big hotel to offer a meal or an outstanding breakfast, but if you are in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by mountains and ripio roads the value of each amenity is at least, double! Here you'll find a family who decided to open their own house and heart to travelers. Their home-made meals are outstanding! The rooms are very clean (just as you see them on the pictures). We had some issues with the shower but we couldn't help laughing at it... sometimes humor makes up for little things (we were all trying to take a shower at the same time!) If you are on your way to Cachi, this is the place to stop, spend the night and continue refreshed the next morning... or stay for a guided tour by the owners' daughters around the property! We loved every second at La Paya!
There is no TV in the rooms... but you won't miss it! The place is like a National Geographic show in itself!! You may be lucky to hear the local children singing at the school across the road in the morning... La Paya is a dream!!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GENOVESA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2007

Despite months of preparation we left booking accommodation a bit late and most good places in Cachi and Purmamarca had filled up as it was the Buenos Aires holiday week. We therefore had to rely on our guide/driver (Raul from Balance Travel Adventure in Salta) to find us somewhere and were very happy with his choice.

This pretty and fairly recently refurbished estancia is a few kilometres out side of Cachi on the beautiful but arduous route between Cafayate and Cachi. For those who have discussed whether to hire a car for this route we would definitely advise against it. It is over 100km of mainly unpaved road and there are dozens of hairpin bends. Whoever is driving will have little time to actually enjoy scenery such as the Arrows Canyon and it would be an awful place to get stuck after dark.

The estancia itself had comfortable rooms and was surprisingly warm given the flagstone floors and near hurrican sounding winds that went down the valley the night we stayed. A good value three course meal was available for those not wishing to drive into Cachi. We had some very nice empanadas, a carbonada stew that included pumpkin and we think pear. Quite unusual but very tasty. There was also a tart/cake and the obligatory bottle of local wine. After dinner we spent some time chatting with other guests in front of a roaring log fire in the lounge.

The next day we had a basic but filling breakfast and then headed out for a walk up to some of the other properties on the estancia before returning via a pretty stream.

This was a pleasant break on the way to Salta and excellent value at less than 150 pesos.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackeberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2007

This was our favorite place in our 3 weeks in Argentina....
It was a hot day and a bumpy road as we travelled from Molinos to Cachi. We saw a sign for an "Estancia" (a working farm) and turned off Hwy 40 to see if we could just get a "Cervesa". OH-MY-GOD! This place was a lovely hacienda looking place, built in the late 1800s, with the most gracious and engaging hosts we found in all of Argentina! We couldn't resist looking at a room, which was delightful and tastefully arranged.....and for 110 pesos ($35)(which includes a great breakfast for 2), we couldn't resist! We found that it also included a two hour walking tour of the 200 acre farm (grapes, oregano, nut trees) and the pre-Incan ruins. Our hosts spoke quite good English, and we also enjoyed dinner there.....roast lamb with all the trimmings. We plan to go back this year!
La Paya is not really a town--there are no stores there--but a community of about 20 families. We met a bee keeper who insisted on GIVING us a pint of wonderful honey, a mother and daughter herding their sheep and goats, ....even happened to meet Mr. Donald Hess of the Hess Group (Wines) who was also having dinner thereat the hacienda. It was magical, to say the least.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Nelly-Belly-Jelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank arjo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Province of Salta hotels
0 mi away
Almunecar Hotel
Almunecar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tartagal
31 reviews
0 mi away
Sheraton Salta Hotel
Sheraton Salta Hotel
#12 of 85 in Salta
798 reviews
0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Rosario de la Frontera
Howard Johnson Inn Rosario de la...
#1 of 4 in Rosario de la Frontera
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Stelares Hotel Boutique
0 mi away
Apart Hotel Ref
Apart Hotel Ref
#36 of 85 in Salta
83 reviews
0 mi away
Alejandro I Hotel International Salta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paya

Address: Camino a Molinos | Cachi, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 128 Hotels in Province of Salta
Price Range: $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
La Paya Argentina/Province Of Salta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing