We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis on Ruta 40”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Paya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Province of Salta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Paya
Ranked #66 of 130 Hotels in Province of Salta
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
607 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“An oasis on Ruta 40”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Out of the way from the main track, this place deserves at least an overnight stop. Fine rooms, great service, superb meals and even a small pool. Enough to make you forget about the long road ahead or/and behind you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFLR187198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

In the 13,000km of motorcycle riding I've now done in South America, this place takes the cake! It would easily cost hundreds of dollars in the States, but the cost was amazingly low (we were there in the low season), and the quality was superb. We were the only guests and had a private waitress for our delicious dinner, the rooms and grounds were just lovely, the breakfast divine, and the family that runs the place really friendly and nice. The place is away from any town, which I find ideal. Make sure to talk to the daughter about the wine making process. They make great stuff! I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assos, Turkey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband and his family, we made a road trip over Salta and Jujuy and La Paya was our first stop. This place is 8 km from Cachi and you need to have a car to arrive here but it's worth it! The place is quiet and really tastefully designed. We also ate here the night that we arrived and everything was delicious.
The rooms are clean and spacious. If you are lucky about the weather, the breakfast is a joy outside under a shade watching over the garden with its pool.
Virginia is really helpful about everything. And it is another important thing that makes the place so familiar.
**No internet connection and poor telephone connection but you definitely enjoy being isolated from everyday stress.
I definitely recommend this place!

Room Tip: I dont remember the number but I recommend the upper level rooms close to the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasalinSelcuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have visited La Paya in April 2012 by a friend's recommendation. I was not disappointed! The only way to reach there is by car, it is a little lost in a country road, a few kms from Cachi. I was a little nervous because the road is not very well indicated and from time to time I was wondering if I was still in the right path. La Paya worths each inch of the road made, it is a little paradise very well run by a nice family. The rooms are comfortable and spotless clean, the breakfast excellent and the location unbeatable. There's a swimming pool and a winnery that also belongs to the family and a little path that leads to a small river and a great view of the sourroundings mountains. I spent there one extra night just to enjoy the place. Don't hesitate to stay there, it will make all the difference if you are passing by Cachi. (which will deserve another separate positive review!).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grim916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Simply put, Finca la Paya is one of the nicest, cosiest, most comfortable places I've ever stayed. It's well worth the drive -- in fact, it's a conveniently located place to spend the night if you're planning to visit the Colomé winery in the afternoon. The rooms are quiet and super comfortable, the local cuisine dinner was filling and delicious (seconds are generously provided!), freshly squeezed apple juice was served with breakfast, staff is friendly and welcoming, and the main lodge itself is beautiful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dm18_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is by far the best place we ever slept, with an amazing view and a lovely host, excellent price-quality!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Driesycaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
174 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Get off route 40 and stay here. It is a few miles off the (literal) beaten path, several miles before/after (depending on direction) Cachi and worth it just to meet the family that runs the place and for the peace and quiet. Virginia and family will make you feel very welcome.
The accommodation are a converted farm house. It features a nice cold pool to take in after a hard drive and wonderful accommodations to relax for the evening and day after. Dinner involves produce and wine grown on the farm. Breakfast (all meals available) is served in the main house and the service is very attentive - you may even find it exclusive to you.

The small winery is established, informative tours are available and wine is ready to drink.

Totally peaceful, very quite and a truly out of the way location make for a relaxing time. If you are looking for the fast lane or village adventures this in not the place. If you are looking for a quite sleep, reading, a walk up a quiet road to no where and being out of the way - you have found your place.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the upper rooms. The windows look up at the mountains. This proved quite enjoyable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comfortoverspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Province of Salta hotels
0.0 mi away
Almunecar Hotel
Almunecar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tartagal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Francisco
Hotel San Francisco
#26 of 87 in Salta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ferienhaus Hostel Salta
Ferienhaus Hostel Salta
#18 of 137 in Salta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Salta Hotel
Sheraton Salta Hotel
#10 of 87 in Salta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.0 mi away
RealNoa Hotel
RealNoa Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tartagal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paya

Property: La Paya
Address: Camino a Molinos | Cachi, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Province of Salta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
La Paya Argentina/Province Of Salta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing