We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”
Review of La Albahaca Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Albahaca Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“great value”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

At 150 pesos for a twin room we felt it was a good deal. Shared bathroom often left you waiting but is clean and with hot water. Friendly guys run the place and are very helpful. Kitchen is tiny but good enough for basic meals. They offer cheap 30 peso shared meals but they are served very late. Nice sunny spots to relax and a good location.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Allardyced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    65
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
58
62
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great atmoshere and super friendly and staff. Location is great, 5 mins wallk from the town center, with an amazing terrace where you can enjoy a stunning view. It is ideal to meet fellow travellers but whether you travel alone or not this is the perfect place to stay, we were just two friends travelling and I tell you it was hard to leave such an atmoshere and continue our jouorney..enjoy it

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickymosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed a few days at this hostel and really enjoyed it. Calm and relaxed place, with a great roof terrace facing the mountains, where we have been offered a tasty breakfast by the staff, watching the sun rising... Great memory! Very good price for the quality of your stay. Kind and helpful staff with great advices for our stay. I totally recommend this nice hostel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a very homey hostel, mainly due to the very friendly staff. They give great tips for some sightseeing in the region.

The place is tiny, clean, the location is good (Tilcara is small, everything is a five minute walk from the ventre) and they serve a nice breakfast with homemade mermalde. One minus point: they need an extra toilet. There is only one toilet and it is shared with 12 people AND it is in the same room as the shower.

We slept two nights in a four bed dorm. We paid 40 pesos per person, per night. We didn't pre book. Prices almost double in high season (from july).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelmer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good location, not great, a few blocks up from the center.
Nice terrace to chill out in the afternoon.
Very friendly and helpfull staff.
Poor and tiny kitchen.
Hot water all day.
Didn't feel the place was very clean.
Average hostel breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TatBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Albahaca is an amazing hostel in the middle of the Quebrada de Humahuaca, it's simple but very nice and clean. The athmosfere is great: it seems to be at home, the staff is very friendly and provides a lot of information on the surrounding area (which is fantastic!). I highly reccomend it, and not only to backpackers!
Valentina (Italy)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Sure, it was very cheap (ARS70 for a twin room with shared bathroom), but that is the only redeeming feature.
The bathroom isn't clean (there is ash in what was the toilet paper holder). There is only one bathroom per floor and it contains the only shower and toilet. The kitchen has flies everywhere and the owners smoke everywhere. The breakfast is also a joke (although the coffee is quite nice).

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisecosgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tilcara hotels
0.3 mi away
Las Marias Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Posada Con Los Angeles
Posada Con Los Angeles
#7 of 15 in Tilcara
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Reposo del Diablo
El Reposo del Diablo
#5 of 15 in Tilcara
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Norte Rupestre
Norte Rupestre
#9 of 15 in Tilcara
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antigua Tilcara B&B
Antigua Tilcara B&B
#1 of 43 in Tilcara
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tilcara Hostel
Tilcara Hostel
#3 of 58 in Tilcara
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Albahaca Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Albahaca Hostel

Property: La Albahaca Hostel
Address: Padilla | between Ambrosetti and Sarmiento, Tilcara 4624, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Jujuy > Tilcara
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Tilcara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Tilcara, the heart of the gorgeus Quebrada de Humahuaca and the arqueologica capital of the Argentine Northwest. In La Albahaca Hostel you find an excellent youthful and intercultural atmosphere, ideal to know people worldwide. Extensive, luminous and safe rooms: singles, dormitories and a large department to guarantee absolute privacy. All our options include: service of sheets, towels, hot water 24h, wifi and regional breakfast). We organized shared dinners, peñas , classes of regional music, excursions with specialized guides, barbacoas, aperitives, every week in our terrace with an excellent panoramic vista of the valley. In order to enjoy your trip we have traveller guides and a network of friend hostels in other provinces. Guarantee your best vacations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your La Albahaca Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing