We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cozy space, excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Patio

El Patio
Ranked #5 of 51 Restaurants in Tilcara
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cozy space, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by the hotel where my parents and I stayed in Tilcara which coincidentally is also called Patio but no relation. This was my parents' first experience with Argentine steak and they ordered the lomo al pimiento which they said was the best steak they've ever had. Beef in the north I found generally to be of much higher quality - both in terms of the product and the preparation - than where I live in Bs As. We also ordered the quinoa soup, a mixed salad, homemade gnocchi and the house wine. Very affordable, very good. Cute cozy decor as well. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank apple m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    170
    33
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Service and Food Selection. Cosy Athmosphere and friendly Ownership. The Bife de Chorizo was also one of the Best during our Argentina Trip

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank C_E_L6014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming Garden and Good Local Cusines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Nice restaurant with pretty extensive menu of local dishes. Llama, pasta, lamb, steak, etc. Also sells nice jams and chutney products.

Sitting outside on a sunny day is hard to beat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnnJudy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tons of veggie options and super homey delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We ate here with our family and I was chickened out so had the quinoa schitzel -- loved it. My daughter had the veggie soup and she loved that too. It was great to eat a wonderful, homey meal after too many pizzas and substandard food!
The second night my daughters went back by themselves while we at across the street.
A really great (and different) place to eat!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimandmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food made with great care, charming environs and wonderful, caring staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We ate here last night and it was incredible! My chicken brochettes had surprise bits of pineapple, roast garlic, and bacon, and my husband's llama was made with great finesse. The only suggestion would be to have candles on the patio tables as it got dark and was hard to see the food! Other than that, we relaxed next to pink hollyhocks in the garden and had delicious cafayate (Etchart) torrontes, too! Visit this place!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LouiseinCham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Patio also viewed

Tilcara, Province of Jujuy
Tilcara, Province of Jujuy
 
Tilcara, Province of Jujuy
Tilcara, Province of Jujuy
 

Been to El Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing