We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one week stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Malka Tilcara - Cabanas and Rooms
Ranked #5 of 43 Tilcara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one week stay”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We bicycled over the Andes and were in need of some down days, this was the perfect place. Tranquilo location above town nestled in a shady grove on the hilside. Owners were sweet, after 3 months biking South America I'd say it was my favorite place to stay. If it had been outside of Iruya instead of Tilcara I would have never left!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zippymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    29
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
59
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We were curious to see for ourselves how much of a 'special place' Malka is, as one of the guidebooks put it. And we confirm. The property is immaculately maintained by the helpful and sweet owners. The shared room we stayed was very clean and functional. It provides extra blanket and sheets for the colder nights in the mountains. The bathroom is really well kept. We cooked one of the nights in their well equipped kitchen as well. There are also suites and cabanas in the property.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piperider1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was the nicest place in Argentina I stayd for a modest prize. The rooms. specially the cabanas are big and beautifully decorated, but also the single room I got later was very homely.
There are kettles and hairdryers in the room. And the owners are ever so friendly. I really felt so good there. There is a beautiful big garden with lovely corners everywhere with seats and hammocks and great views to the mountains. I got the best breakfast and in the end the owner brought me to the bus station and she also offered to pick me up. But the taxis are very cheap. And without the luggage it is just a short walk into the town. I stayed three instead of two nights but I could have spend my holidays there.
Thanks for this beautiful place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eilisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hostel is beautifully located with stunning views over the mountains. The buildings are set in a well maintained large garden where you can sit and relax. I stayed in a cabin, which was a bit dark but well insulated against the heat of the day and the cold of the night. It was spotlessly clean and provided with everything I needed, incl. a strong hot shower, electric kettle with a choice of teas and coffee, hair dryer. The breakfast is very good, buffet style, with fresh oranges to press yourself, a large choice of teas, coffee, 3 kinds of bread, jams. cereal and yoghurt. The owners are very friendly and helpful with advice. They also provide a comprehensive booklet of trips, restaurants, activities etc. The hostel is a bit out of town and up a hill, but the views and the atmosphere of beauty and peace make the short walk well worth it. I stayed 3 nights but would have happily stayed much longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Coming from the 3 days jeep tour through the "Salar de Uyuni" (Bolivia) with very basic accommodations and the very expensive San Pedro de Atacama (what is it all about?), I enjoyed a couple of relaxing days in the wonderfull garden of Malka hostal. Everything is just perfect. I can highly recommand this place and the nice small village of Tilcara. The owner can give you a lot of good advices on the area. Great choice for a small budget.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zauberberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Malka is a special place. The sprawling grounds beg you to grab a Salta beer, your favorite book and relax for awhile in one of the hammocks or lounge chairs.

We loved everything about Malka and felt secluded and at peace in their perch above Tilcara.

The room was comfortable, cozy, with a bohemian vibe. This is a place you can easily spend a few lazy days and watch the world go by. Unfortunately we only had one night here!

It was a good value for what we paid. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Room were nice, the whole place seemed clean, breakfast was good and storage for backpacks was incredible! Bathroom was adequate. Seemed clean. Laundry was expensive, get it done elsewhere. It is a bit out of town but considering there is not much to the town it's not that bad. The walk up the hill is steep so if you do have problems walking, this is not a good choice.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank nyc_travel_grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilcara
0.7 mi away
Posada Con Los Angeles
Posada Con Los Angeles
#7 of 15 in Tilcara
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Marias Hotel Boutique
13.5 mi away
Mirador del Virrey, Cabanas Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Norte Rupestre
Norte Rupestre
#9 of 15 in Tilcara
151 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Reposo del Diablo
El Reposo del Diablo
#5 of 15 in Tilcara
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Patio Alto
Patio Alto
#3 of 15 in Tilcara
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malka Tilcara - Cabanas and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malka Tilcara - Cabanas and Rooms

Property: Malka Tilcara - Cabanas and Rooms
Address: San Martin S/N - B0 Malka | Barrio Malka, Tilcara 1642, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Jujuy > Tilcara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Tilcara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malka Hostel is situated on the top of a hill where you can appreciate a beautiful view of Quebrada de Humahuaca, a local archaeological place. The hostel has five different cabins which are all clean and safe. There is hot water provided by solar energy because our hostel is an ecologic hostel. When you wish to cook for yourself our guests can use our well equipped kitchens and the barbeque as many times as they need! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Malka Tilcara - Cabanas and Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing