We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Friendly Staff, Slow Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of My Big Fat Greek Restaurant - CLOSED

My Big Fat Greek Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Staff, Slow Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had lunch at this restaurant, sat outdoors and quite enjoyed ourselves. So, we decided to return for supper. We were a little later than supper, say 7 pm. The restaurant was less than half full, so we expected good service. It took a while for them to seat us, then took our wine and supper order. It took a while for the wine to come. We got our order in and most of us commented on how long it took to get any food. Finally it came, along with three people to serve. We ordered a variety off the menu and off the specials. The food was delicious. This restaurant has great potential if the food and drink were delivered in a reasonable time. How long would it take if it was busy?

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ss987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We enjoyed fresh, tasty Greek fare served by a great waiter at a very reasonable price. We are in the restaurant, but they also offer some outdoor seating.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Inazutco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“good, basic food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Went for lunch, no complaints. Food was good, but nothing special. Kind of bland Greek food. Service was OK.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
179 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“I Could Get Fat Here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My Big Fat Greek Restaurant is one of the few chain restaurants I really like. They offer an outstanding lunch menu, and even better happy hour. The servings are large and really good. It's our favorite place in Mesa!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank playabonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
“Nothing bad but nothing excellent either”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Visited this establishment very recently with my family. Food was reasonably priced but not excellent. I ordered the Falafel(pita) which was nice and crisp on the outside but a bit too dense and doughy on the outside. The falafel itself was nicely seasoned but the tzatziki sauce left something to be desired. Side salad was good but a bit wilted. Staff was friendly but not very knowledgeable about certain things. Atmosphere was weak. Design of the restaurant was poor and somewhat cheap looking. Overall about as good as i expected but if your looking from really good Mediterranean food there is better to be found in the phoenix area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bjploeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Big Fat Greek Restaurant also viewed

 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing