We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Property/Great Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Mesa Near Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Mesa Near Downtown
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Property/Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at this property during a trip to Phoenix area. The manager, Angel, made us feel we were his only guests, even though the property was sold out. And hostel staff always made eye contact and said "Hello" when you met them in the hall, or in the breakfast area. Central to Phoenix area which worked great for us visiting Fountain Hill, Glendale, Apache Junction and Cave Creek.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunterabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    155
    56
    15
    9
See reviews for
152
117
47
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many different times in the past year and thought it was a nice hotel at a good value. However I just finished three different stays in February at this Comfort Inn and the hotel is clearly slipping downhill. Most of the issues are small but they point to a distinct trend that management is not paying attention to details.
Two of three rooms I stayed in had no toilet seat cover, which may not seem like much of an issue until something drops and what would have bounced and landed on the floor arrives with a splash in the bowl. The shower curtain rods in all three different rooms I stayed in were barely hanging on as they were mounted in drywall using cheap plastic anchors that are already pulling out of the wall. Housekeeping is slacking off as well. There were shoe prints on the wall in two rooms. Liquid stains on the bedside tables that were present on arrival were never cleaned. (I wiped down part of one of the tables the first night to see if housekeeping would finish the job but never did during the entire stay.) Again two of the rooms had HORRIBLE carpet stains and ground in who knows what stains. The grout on the bathroom floors in all three rooms was very dark grey to black in the areas where people walk but biege under the counter which indicates no cleaning of the floor in a very long time.
Stay away from room numbers 122 and up on the first floor because they offer these rooms out to people with pets. I had room 122 and upon arrival I was greeted with dog hairs on my "fresh" sheets. And in addition to the general uncleanliness of the room the lamp shade in the room had glaring stains running all over it. Unknown liquid residue on the bathroom counter didn't get wiped up by housekeeping either. Again I finally did it for them. The heaters in two rooms were not responding to attempts to raise the temperature. The thermostat in one room had a low battery sign flashing on it. The safe in another room did not work because the battery was dead and couldn't be fixed "until tommorrow". Also be aware that they tack on an additional charge of $1.50 per day for the safe even if you don't use it. Having said that if you bring it to the attention of the front desk they have always removed the charge. The daytime front staff was either ambivalent or surprisingly rude but the night staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was typical for this level of hotel, really folks nothing special.
Overall I can no longer recommend this hotel unless you are traveling with pets. I saw a large collie entering room 125 so maybe no limit on size? In general the Comfort Inn Downtown Mesa is an acceptable place to stay. (I had prepaid and couldn't cancel my 2nd and 3rd stays without losing all my money which is the only reason I returned.) Will I stay here again? The cleanliness issues and lack of maintenance make me uncertain. I'm not ruling it out but I will look elsewhere first, second and third!

Room Tip: Higher numbered rooms on the first floor are used for people with pets. If you don't have one y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lectricpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmaz256, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Mesa Near Downtown, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property.
Guest comments are important to us and I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.
We have initiated a more aggressive preventative maintenance program so that we may maintain the highest room quality.
Won't you please return and check us out I think you will be pleasantly surprised.
Thanks again for your feed back as it helps us continue to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed 4 nights while visiting friends in Mesa. Clean room, great mattress! Very nice staff! Wonderful breakfasts!!!! Give it a try, we will stay there on our next visit!! They were at full capacity while we were there, but still got great service!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Iowa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in February, nice hotel. I would say average. Had good breakfast. We stayed here two years ago also, nice hotel for "snowbirds". A good Dairy Queen next door. A lot of pawn shops in the area, giving a sketchy type feeling, but very secure hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent Dec. 17th & 18th 2012 at this motel while our motor home was being repaired.
Our room was extremely clean and quite, the grounds were well cared for and the pool area
nice. A hot breakfast was provided and the service personnel were pleasant and accommodating
and the motel was convenient to down town Mesa. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The motel is only four or five years old so all the rooms should be pretty new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rharalabatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were attending a concert at the Mesa Arts Center, and wanted a motel close by. This one had the best reviews in the area, so chose it. It is a small hotel, which was nice. We were given the choice upon arrival of a ground floor room or one upstairs. We chose upstairs. The decor is nice. The property was clean, and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Weirdly, we never saw any housekeeping ouside of the ladies who made breakfast every morning. They were efficient, but kept to themselves. Our room had 2 queen beds, and a flat screen TV. Our window looked out over the parking lot, so could keep an eye on the car. The room was clean and free of any odors. The only ice machine is on the ground floor, which may be inconvenient for some, but the lift is located midway in the hall. It was a very quiet room, with black out curtains which lent itself to oversleeping, but that was nice, too. Breakfast is served from 6:00 to 9:00 a.m., and we made it (barely), but there was still plenty of food such as breads, scrambled eggs, waffles, cereals, yogurt, juices, etc. The dining area isn't huge, but seemed adequate. The hotel is not within walking distance of a nice sit-down restaurant, but there is a Dairy Queen right next door, and if you go up the street past the LDS Temple, next to a big Wells Fargo is Pete's Fish and Chips. While not the British variety, still very tasty and apparently a bit of an institution. Speaking of the LDS Temple, it was completely decorated for the Christmas holiday, and was gorgeious beyond belief. Definately a must-see!! The Mesa Arts Center is also quite nice, and the Ikeda Theatre is fabulous for concerts!

Room Tip: We liked the 2nd floor. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
309 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We arrived early in the afternoon to find the entryway blocked with a carpet cleaning truck. So we made our way around the truck, over the hose and other cleaning items and into the lobby where we learned it was a tile cleaning session rahter than carpet. The lobby and hall to the elevator were wet and semi-blocked off.
We managed to check in and were told we had to go to the back of the hotel to come in to the elevator. Being somewhat mobility challanged that was not what I wanted to hear. So we hauled our luggage to the back door, entered a long hall, that took us right back to the opposite side of the lobby and elevator to another blocked area. We looked across the wet floor back to where we just were. We removed the cones so we could get to the elevator after taking a long trip just to get ten feet from where we were... and were still blocked.
Anyway, the room was typical and fairly comfortable. But when maintenace comes over customer service, I will not return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrankyOldGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mesa hotels
1.2 mi away
Mesa Mezona Hotel
Mesa Mezona Hotel
#18 of 57 in Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa
2.6 mi away
Days Hotel Mesa Near Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mesa
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa
10.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton at Phoenix Mesa Gateway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Mesa Near Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Mesa Near Downtown

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Mesa Near Downtown
Address: 651 E Main St, Mesa, AZ 85203-8767 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mesa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mesa
#8 Family Hotel in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Mesa Near Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Mesa Near Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Mesa
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn Mesa
Mesa Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing