We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit isolated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phoenix Marriott Mesa
Ranked #21 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Except the fact that's in the middle of nowhere, this is an excellent hotel.
The service and amenities are really great, as is the weather.
While I doubt that I'll return to the area, if that happens, I'll certainly book this place again.

Room Tip: I guess that all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zorro514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenixMarriottmesa, General Manager at Phoenix Marriott Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your time in providing a review of our hotel. Mesa and the East Valley is growing and providing great opportunities for our visitors to experience unique aspects of the greater Phoenix Area. In 2015 we will have the light rail service from downtown to the airport. This will be a great convenience for our guests. Sometimes the "middle of nowhere" is only a step away from great things to see.

We look forward to having you back as experiencing all that Mesa has to offer.
Donald Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 354 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had to go to the Phoenix area on a sudden emergency/crisis involving a family member. I had no idea where to stay, we drove by several hotels and this one seemed to have the best vibe from the outside. So I got a king room (I like to have the club chair/ottoman and a desk). The place was very comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. In particular the front desk lady who said she is from Egypt (don't remember her name) and Wendi who works at the coffee bar, I talked to her every day and she was very caring and concerned about us. The room service was pretty good, the best thing is one of the chicken dishes, the burger is good too. We just did not want to go out to dinner. The only outside place we went to was the Safeway deli to get sandwiches. Fortunately we achieved a positive outcome on the crisis and I think this Hotel was a big part of that. I don't know how many times I lapped the block around the hotel while dealing with this or that and calming down, etc.

I travel a lot on business mostly staying in lower end hotels and I can say this is the best Hotel experience I have had this year.

Room Tip: Top floors have a special lounge but we didn't stay up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldGibsonphxmm, General Manager at Phoenix Marriott Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to send feedback on your experience with us at the Phoenix Marriott Mesa. More importantly, it is great to hear that the situation that brought you to Mesa turned out for the best as the family is concerned. People travel for many reasons, and the hotel of choice should always deliver the type of care and service that eases whatever your concerns may be.

I’m thrilled that we could accommodate you, and more so thrilled that things worked out for the best. Should your travels bring you back to our area again, you will know that you have a comforting place to stay, and a staff that is attentive to your needs.

All the best.

Donald Gibson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a small group for a long weekend. Rooms and hotel areas were very clean. The staff was excellent, they were attentive and accommodating of our groups needs.
The property is in a great location and only 20 mins from the airport. Please add another outdoor seating area with fire pit as there seems to be lots of groups staying at this hotel and the demand for the current fire pit was in high demand. We had a nice stay. Would definitely come back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank campceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonaldGibsonphxmm, General Manager at Phoenix Marriott Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for our kind words concerning our hotel and staff. The team prides itself in being attentive and anticipating guest needs. I appreciate the time you took to provide your feedback. The fire pit is a great gathering area particularly this time of year. We constantly look for ways to improve and will give your suggestion serious thought.

Kind Regards,
Donald Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I've had some very mixed experiences at Marriotts this fall and, as a Marriott Rewards Platinum member, it has honestly made me begin to question my loyalty. However, this one-night stay in Mesa was wonderful. The guy at the front desk was super-efficient and professional. In fact, he acknowledged my Platinum status and moved up to the concierge level - something that Marriott staff in Albuquerque (on 3 stays), Phoenix Airport, and Denver all failed to do. He also did a superb job of telling me about the restaurant, fitness facilities, parking, and concierge lounge hours -- again, something that nobody else has been doing. On top of that, the room (at least the one I was in on the 12th floor) was in perfect shape - what I expect of a Marriott (NOT what I've been seeing at Marriotts elsewhere). Anyway, I had a short but great stay here. Mesa may not be the most convenient location depending on what you're doing here, but this was a nice place and their staff made a very positive impression.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlyGuy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Hunt_phxmm, General Manager at Phoenix Marriott Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us here in Mesa. I'm sorry that some of your past experiences have been a little disappointing with in our Brand at other locations. Marriott strives to deliver a consistent experience at all of our locations. Your comments about our staff being so accommodating and informative were great to hear. They help reinforce a culture of "spirit to serve", which is a basic philosophy of Marriott. We look forward to welcoming you back to our oasis here in the Valley of the Sun.

Best regards,
Donald Gibson
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for a week at this hotel over Labor Day week. I was a little apprehensive about a downtown location, but those fears were unfounded. The staff here must take friendly pills! Everyone is so nice. After a whole week, you would think something would go wrong but it never did. As a gold member I had access to the concierge level. The views were breathtaking as we drank coffee and watched the sunrise. The room was nothing spectacular but it was clean and everything worked. We ate at Azulejo 2x and loved it. The pool was sparkling and we spent many hours there under the shade of the palms. I will definitely go back but maybe wait until it is cooler.

Room Tip: Face the mountains!!! The view is fabulous from higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Hunt_phxmm, General Manager at Phoenix Marriott Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your experience with us. the "happy pills" are something that come naturally wit our staff. They do go the extra mile to accommodate and please our guests.
As you commented, our views are to die for. There is nothing like a sunrise/sunset view from our location of the Valley of the Sun.
We look forward to having you back. FYI- the weather is getting to the point that drives people to the valley. Cool mornings and evenings and lots of sunshine.

Best Regards,
Donald Gibson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott in Mesa for 4 days last week and am very glad that I did. The hotel staff makes this place a great place to stay - offering assistance with a smile no matter what time of day. Although the room was a little in need of an update, it was very clean and quiet. They offered a nice breakfast on weekday mornings which was a cost savings for me. The place felt safe, including the parking area. There was some city road construction around the front entrance which was easily avoided by coming into the hotel complex from the back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue-8-Cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Hunt_phxmm, General Manager at Phoenix Marriott Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about you stay with us here in Mesa. I'm sorry that some of your past experience have been a little disappointing within our Brand at other locations. Marriott strives to deliver a consistent experience at all of our locations.
Your comments about our staff being so accommodating and informative were great to hear. They help reinforce a culture of "spirit of serve", which is a basic philosophy of Marriott.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our oasis here in the Valley of the Sun.

Best Regards,
Donald Gibson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Have stayed here several times. Very clean and nice! Beds very comfortable. Friendly staff. Quiet area and easy to get to. Pool is excellent and you can't beat the Az sunshine. Nice sports bar across the street. Will stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen_Hunt_phxmm, Director of Sales at Phoenix Marriott Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and sharing your experience with everyone! We are so happy you continue to return to our wonderful hotel to enjoy our comfortable accommodations and great facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mesa hotels
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Phoenix Mesa
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa
2.7 mi away
Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Mesa West
3 mi away
Sheraton Mesa Hotel at Wrigleyville West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Marriott Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Marriott Mesa

Address: 200 N Centennial Way, Mesa, AZ 85201-6761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range: $87 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Marriott Mesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phoenix Marriott Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Marriott Mesa Hotel Mesa
Marriott Mesa
Mesa Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing