We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
155
29
4
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
155
29
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild horses salt river kayak trip hour trip easy ride rope swing old west dry bag fun kayaking lived closer cabin porch resident manager rent kayaks great adventure beautiful wildlife close to home late arrival
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 192 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

We rented kayaks for 3 hours for $50.00 each. They come with the kayaks and meet you in the parking lot and get get all set to go and you just make sure you are back by 1:00pm
The last is so calm and beautiful.
We packed a picnic lunch and had it at one of the little beaches we found!
It’s like a hidden gem! I can’t wait to do it again!!!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Cheddar19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

Saguaro Lake Ranch is a perfect example of what happens when Mother Nature and excellent hosts open their arms to visitors. We booked a cabin at the ranch hoping for beauty, calm, and adventure - and all our expectations were exceeded.

The location is gorgeous. From the front porch of our cabin we drank good strong coffee and watched the sun come up over the mountains and light up the sky. At night, we drank wine and watched the world turn golden. In between we hiked, had fabulous breakfasts with our fellow travelers, and took a stunning kayak trip that will go down as one of our all time favourite mornings ever (and that includes Christmas).

Our accommodation was exactly what we wanted. Comfortable, spotless, and free of TV. Our little porch was perfect for staring at the sky or meeting the neighbors. At 7 am we could smell the coffee wafting from the lodge, and some days we’d walk down the hill to pet the horses. The heated pool was a lovely way to end the afternoon, and the bin of beach towels was an added bonus.

The people who ran the large were kind and friendly. The setting is amazing, and less than an hour away from the Phoenix airport. There is so much to do in the area that we had to remind ourselves not to overbook. One morning, as we sat in front of the fire with scrambled eggs and road maps, our wise host suggested we shouldn’t overdo it. ‘Take some time just to enjoy the ranch’ he said. And we did.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Frontseatdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019 via mobile

We booked this property based on the reviews of others. There are people who clearly love it here. And it has its charm. But please, be advised, in particular if you are more of a suburban kind of family, to read all the critical reviews for a more rounded and realistic understanding of what you will find here.

The good:
The property is located in a National Forest. Therefore, the location is amazing, as are the views, the surrounding roads, the quiet at night and the nature centered amenities. The porches had beautiful flowers, the hammock was amazing, the stable was accessible by a short walk. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. They had hot and cold offerings, as well as helpful staff. The cabin had whimsical light fixtures, including one in the shape of a cowboy that housed the light switch. It was extremely humorous and I wasn’t sure if it should go on good or bad, but we had a good laugh about it. The cabin indeed was great for a family of 4 with two small beds in one room and two beds pushed together to make a large king bed in the main room. The landscaping in general was superb. The company was interesting! Been able to have breakfast with other guests, most of whom are on the older side of the boomers, was fascinating. The room had a medium size refrigerator that was clean. They also had a reasonably prized trinket shop and a coke machine.

The neutral:
Parking was simple, just park your car in front of your cabin. When we walked in the cabin, we needed to find and turn on the A/C as it was rather warm inside. We did and within a half hour, the cabin was cool. The unit, however, was next to one of the kids’ beds and it was extremely noisy. My child slept fine, but he did complain about the noise.

I was hoping to see a fire at night, like on the website. But there was no fire at night. They did have a cozy fire during breakfast. I will write the dinner price here. We chose not to eat there for dinner because they were charging $25 per adult for meat loaf and $20 per kid. It was apparently amazing meatloaf. We wouldn’t know. The whole family ended up eating a feast at Yard House for $55 instead of meatloaf for 4 for $90. Considering my 7 year old will not consume $20 worth of kid meatloaf... no thanks.

I will put this here: there’s no TV, no internet and nearly no cell phone signal. This can be good or bad, depending on how much technology detox you want.

The bad:
The cabin had an odor, faintly reminiscent of moth balls. We paid, with fees, $276 for one single night. The smell was there the whole time we stayed. The small lotion bottle in the bathroom was only 2/3 full, like someone had already used it and it had not been replaced. They describe the cabins as rustic. Please understand that by “rustic” they mean old and in need of upgrading. The toilet rim, at the bottom of the toilet, was yellow with what I can only assume was other guests biological wastes. It was generally clean, but it wasn’t hotel clean. If that wasn’t old urine, perhaps they need to use some white caulk and fix it because it was very unpleasant. The toilet seat was old, the shower/bathtub was yellow, like from the 60s or older. It was really old. Yes, it was better than an outhouse, but $276 a night worth of awesome? No. The bathroom floor is laminate sticky film, the kind you would find in a trailer home. The doors are all super old, with corners that are broken, creaky and just... you know like they need to be restored if not completely replaced. “Keeping the old charm” should not be an excuse not to renovate or you know provide better bathrooms. The pool? Sheesh. It is enclosed by a fence. This is nice, because there are kids running around. But it does not look resort like. It looks like we paid $50 to park our trailer and the pool is an amenity that completely ruins the view.

Also, employees or random strangers drive up to the ranch. Often at higher speeds than the posted 10mph. This was disconcerting. But it’s an observation, not necessarily their fault.

In closing:
If this property was priced much lower, like at $100-150 a night; then my review would be much much nicer.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank NeMoyMommyShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroLakeRanch, General Manager at Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2019

Thank you so much for your review. All your comments, good and bad, will be reviewed by management with the staff.

The most disconcerting comment is in reference to the cleanliness of the bathroom. Our housekeeping team does a great job of keeping the cabins "hotel clean". The tint of color that you experienced was not from uncleanliness. The cabins are cleaned thoroughly every day. Since we are in the Tonto National Forest, we have well water for the ranch. The water is filtered and sanitized and tested on a regular basis to verify it is clean. Even though it is clean, sometimes it leaves a hard water stain on the toilet. As soon as the housekeeping staff identify the issue, we deep clean the bathrooms to remove the stain.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations for the ranch. I hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again so we can exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2019 via mobile

Well my wife & I keep coming back ... 1st discovery was 10 years ago... its obvious the caretakers of this property love it as much as anyone could... every year we've been back we've seen little subtle improvements... I can mention many but one of the most important is air conditioning in the rooms for the summer months... but I must say one of the most outstanding yes the dinner meals that are available in the old Lodge...
I don't know where they found a four-star chef or how they enticed him to work out here... but it is obvious that he loves what he does.
Each night was a different motif in a completely different menu but there is nothing quite like a good old-fashioned Cowboy cookout after a sunset ride in the saddle. The photo attached is from our cabin porch it made it really hard to go back to Seattle

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank TandTbeGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019

The magnificence of Mother nature here cannot be overstated. The resort calls itself "rustic" which is fair. Rooms are spare without TV, cofffee-makers, wifi, and sometimes hot water. It's lovely to breakfast in the dining hall and sit in the great lounge. But the advertised shsuffled board is at least 30 years old and missing pieces. I never saw horse shoes or ping pong and the pool was covered even though temperatures wer up to th 80s in the afternoon. (Is it even heated?). I never saw information about any trails, which are also advertised as an attraction.
So is the view worth the price?

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank bowwowwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroLakeRanch, General Manager at Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2019

Bowwowwow, thank you for your review. It is true Mother Nature is at her finest in the Tonto National Forest. I am very sorry you did not have a great experience at the ranch. Yes, the cabins are rustic and we keep the ambiance by not having the distractions of TV, phones or a clock. The Front Desk has all the equipment for the shuffle board, horse shoes, ping pong, bocce ball, croquet, hammocks, and other lawn games. We do not publish hiking maps but the Front Desk has the information on the numerous trails that start at the ranch. Did you ask at the Front Desk and they were not able to help? We do not leave these items on the lawn because they will get weathered and/or lost. The pool is indeed heated and I will inquire with maintenance as they are responsible to remove the cover each morning. Also, please let us know which cabin you stayed in so we can check the water heater. A good hot shower is essential. We strive for everyone to have a great experience at the ranch. We use the term ranch and not resort because we highlight the rustic charm. I hope you will give us another chance to show you everything the ranch and Tonto National Forest has available for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews