We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away from it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get away from it all”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We spent a long weekend here in late February. Located in the Tonto National Forest, below the dam that creates Lake Saguaro, the property has a lodge as well as cabins near the Salt River. We stayed in a cabin surrounded by a large saguaro cactus inhabited by a woodpecker. The grounds are full of desert plants and are well maintained. The cabin is basic but comfortable with plenty of hot water. You feel way farther than the 30 minutes from Phoenix. We went on two morning horseback rides and the stables (separately operated but just next door, a pleasant stroll from our cabin) was well run and the horses were well tended, still in their woolly winter coats. Because it is next to a river, there is an abundance of bird life here, with herons and ducks on the water and woodpeckers and tanagers on the grounds. Sitting by the river as sunset approaches, you are treated to a spectacular show as the cliffs behind the ranch are lit by the setting sun.

The management was very welcoming and the breakfasts were hot and abundant. The only real drawback was that there was a fair drive to a nearby town for restaurants, (other than the marina restaurant that is on the lake, you drive 20-25 minutes to Fountain Hills).

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PSchine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    22
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
32
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vista, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We stayed at Saguaro Lake Ranch for 3 days on our Southwest Mountain bike trip. Saguaro Lake is famous for horse riding, fishing and tubing in the river. However it is also a place for Mountain biking. You don't need a car as you can get to the trailhead by bike. Search for Hawes Mountain und you will find Webpages where you can download the trail.

The staff was very friendly and it was a pleasure to chat with Stephen the owner.

This is the place if you love the outdoors and rustic lodging. Don't go if you expect hotel chain amenities. Lastly there is Wireless around the lobby. Enough to quickly browse the Web. You can eat at the lodge, but there is also a Restaurant at the Marina nearby.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ekami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MESA,AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

After running in to the Saguaro Lake Ranch by accident we booked 3 days during the week. The staff and management were top notch,they seem to know when to to ask if you need anything and when to leave you alone to sooth some weary nerves. We fished in tghe river and caught some small catfish while staring at majestic mountains. I enjoyed swimming in the pool and just couldn't beleive the awesome mountain views! Spectacular! This was the best 3 days of my life and I will be back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FISHERMANMesa_az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2009

Great place, wonderful location. It’s hard to believe such a beautiful, secluded canyon exists so close to Phoenix. I’ve stayed at 1930s-era CCC camps before and was concerned it might be run down. Just the opposite, the ranch is very well maintained. (Many thanks to other Trip Advisor contributors who gave us the confidence to stay there.) Attentive staff, owners on site, comfy beds, great climate control (can’t vouch for the air conditioning, but the units look new and well-maintained), fabulous food at all meals. Good horseback riding at the ranch, clean pool, shuffleboard, games in the lodge, lots of hiking trails to choose from, lake and marina one mile away. Wireless internet is basically dial-up speed, but you’re not there to surf the web. We saw fish in the river but didn’t wet a line. Lots of birds, including some new ones for us; ring-tailed cat, javelina, no snakes this time of year. We’ll be back.

  • Liked — Clean and Quiet
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Retailwonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeagertown PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We went to Saguaro Lake Ranch to spend the afternoon trail riding. Neither of us has ridden in years, but the folks there were extremely friendly and helpful. They matched us up with horses that were within our ability to handle.
The scenery was spectacular, the guide answered any and all questions and informed us on all of the local flora and fauna. If you are in the area, do yourself a favor and do this ride, it is one of the highlights of our vacation.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff, Scenery
  • Disliked — Didn't spend enough time there.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nhivefreeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

This place is a 'resort' from another era. It's a workers' camp that was originally built during the building of the nearby dam in the 1930s. The place looks as if the passing of time has barely touched it. This has its pluses and minuses. The setting is stunning, and the atmosphere is entirely unhurried and relaxing. The grounds are very well-kept - my 6-year old daughter loved running around the grass, swimming in the (small) pool, playing in the flowers, and trying her hand at shuffleboard. The huts/cottages are charming, but in a dilapidated kind of way. Beds, furniture, bathrooms are all a bit worn, but sitting on your porch in the evening watching the stars and soaking up the quiet, the dated feeling adds to the sense that you've been transported back in time. I was apprehensive upon arrival, but certainly warmed to the place during the stay. Random other notes: free wireless internet now installed ('high speed' would be optimistic); family-style breakfasts are generous, but not fancy; don't bother with the restaurant at nearby Saguaro Lake - poor food, poor service, and great views obscured by jail-like bars.

  • Liked — Peacefulness
  • Disliked — Soft bed
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

The Saguaro Lake Ranch is a wonderful guest ranch only 12 miles outside of Mesa. Off of Bush Hwy you'll find a comfortable getaway with spectacular views. The entire ranch sprawl is wonderfully maintained and a great step back in time to the 1930s. From the original lodge with 4-sided fireplace, original mess hall where delicous meals are served 3 times a day, back bar and cabins our family felt right at home. There are horses to ride out on, a river down the slope, a heated pool with lovely view, and marshmallow roast for the kids (and adults). The full moon rise over the mountain was memorable and lit up the desert landscape. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WisconsinMonalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesa
8.6 mi away
We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference Center
20.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa
15.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mesa Superstition Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,439 reviews
13.1 mi away
Inn at Eagle Mountain
Inn at Eagle Mountain
#1 of 5 in Fountain Hills
308 reviews
18.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch

Property: Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch
Address: 13020 N Bush Hwy, Mesa, AZ 85215-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Tonto National Forest along the banks of the Salt River, this historic guest ranch boasts rustic 26 cabins. An outdoor pool offers views of the Goldfield Mountain Range.Featuring traditional Western décor, each cabin comes with a private bathroom. With no TVs or phones, all cottages offer a place to kick back and relax.Guests are welcomed in the main lodge complete with a stone fireplace and wagon wheel lights. Breakfast is served in the dining room featuring a real Saguaro skeleton.Guided horseback riding is available from mid-October to early May. Kayaking and river tubing are available from May to October. Hiking and bird watching are available year round.Saguaro Lake Ranch is located 15 miles from Mesa in the Tonto National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saguaro Lake Ranch Hotel Mesa
Saguaro Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing