We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Filthy and horror movie rooms!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Windemere Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windemere Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #44 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Tucson
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Filthy and horror movie rooms!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

This place was so disgusting! Did not even want to walk on the carpets they were so filthy, the bathroom door was coming off the hinges, part of the cabinet was falling off in the kitchen, both chairs were so gross and one had blood stains! Ewww!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebelsalonjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_relations2k, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

I am very sorry that you did not feel that our hotel was up to your standards. We will work diligently on correcting the concerns you had at our property and we hope that you can give us one more try and we will be sure to meet your needs. We do understand its frustrating to deal with such issues when you are at the hotel, Please contact us at the property directly and we will try to rectify the issue.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    22
    23
    64
See reviews for
60
28
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Booked this hotel realizing it was cheap so did notvexpect the Marriot! My husband has Parkinsons and I am phyically disabled. We were traveling with our service dog and a service dog in training. Also our adult son and teen grandson. We were visiting older son, wife and 3 small grandchildren.we were put in a kitchenette 2 queen bed room in rhe back of the ladt building. I realized the next day that those rooms were being used as low income rentals, probably subsidized by the County! The Kitchenette was not supplied with any pots, pans or utensils. This was a very old hotel with a lot of water damage and holes in the ceiling. The TV was old and went to black screen every time it was turned on, one of the queen beds had broken slats causing a lopsided bed, the second morning the toilet was clogged for over 3 hours and it took phone calls and 2 trips to the office to get a plunger which we had to keep to use again. By 8:45 there was not enough breakfast for my family. We had to take kids to McDonalds for bathroom and breakfast. Air conditioner was very noisy all night, there were only 2 extra pillows available, patio furniture was dirty with spiderwebs, guest BBQ had not been cleaned in years with 6 inches of ash. None of us could get on Wifi for three days. We kept getting password error messages yet desk help insisted there was no other password. Carpet was too dirty to let kids play on so we had to put bedspreads on floor inside out as they werent too clean either! Bad part of town too. To date I have received no satisfaction from my complaint against this hotel. DONT GO THERE!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JJsJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Public Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with our hotel. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience that you encountered during your stay. It is our goal to provide the highest level of customer service. We would like the opportunity to get a second chance from you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I booked a room here between the 14th and the 18th of May. Upon arrival there were toe nail clippings on the floor, mold in the bathroom, the Jacuzzi tub didn't function properly and was missing knobs, my door didn't shut properly, the toilet would barely flush toilet paper, it was a disaster! I alerted the lady at the front desk of my cleanliness concerns and she assured me that housekeeping would promptly clean the room. This however did not happen, in fact housekeeping did not come to the room the whole time we were there. We ended up staying in another room that was occupied by a relative who paid half the price we did and had a better room. I have contacted 2 different managers, both of which have said they would get back to me and haven't. I surely did not pay almost $100 a night to have to stay in someone else's room and not have the staff care about my concern's.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarissaPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We are extremely apologetic for your bad experience, and hope to be able to make it up to you.

daily we make sure everything is clean, tidy, and consistent. We spend time each day making sure our rooms are cleaned, We would like to invite you back at a 20% discounted rate next time you are in town.

Please bring a print out of this review .

Once again we are very sorry for the issue you faced at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Our family decided to try this hotel while on a weekend getaway to visit relatives that lived near by. The proximity to their home was ideal however the rooms were not.

We had specifically asked for a room that was not a former smoking room, due to our son's allergies. Instead, we ended up in room that smelled heavily of smoke. Additional disappointments included uncomfortable and old springy beds. Breakfast also was not adequate and included stale bagels and no fresh fruit.

The Windemere lacks a hotel quality and is very much a motel. I would not recommend staying there due to the stench in the rooms and general outdated furniture.

The one shining gem was the outdoor pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenmommas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

I am very sorry that you did not feel that our hotel was up to your standards. We will work diligently on correcting the concerns you had at our property and we hope that you can give us one more try and we will be sure to meet your needs. We do understand its frustrating to deal with such issues when you are at the hotel, Please contact us at the property directly and we will try to rectify the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Recently retired we took a spur of the moment trip to AZ to take in spring training. We looked for a bargain, found this place and booked it despite the negative reviews. We were very pleasantly surprised and wonder what others were seeing. Yes, the property is old but our room was clean and comfortable, staff very pleasant and helpful and we would come back again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Valued guest, We highly appreciate you choosing our property , we know you had many choices while making the booking, and we are honored to be the hotel of your choice... We would also like to thank you for your candid review. we are currently improving on any issues at our property and our goal is to give each customer 5 star service , we would like to also thank you for pointing out our staff's hard work and dedication .

Sincerely,

Windemere management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

The room was dirty, bathroom floors were not clean, patio door had hand prints and dirty smudges, drapes had cigarette burns in them, I was unwilling to sit in the chair in our room because it appeared to be filthy and greasy. When we left we complained to management and were told they were renovating the facility. Why they put us in a room that had not been renovated is beyond me. It was disgusting at best.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,

We're sorry that you did not have a good experience when you stayed at the Windemere Hotel Mesa, and we understand your frustration. When such a problem arises, we take it very seriously. I can assure you that we have made every effort to correct this issue. We hope that you will try us again when your travels bring you back to Mesa area,

We would also like to offer you 20% off your next stay with us and we would love for you to give our hotel one more chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Good layout. Old & filthy. Smoking room upon arrival :/ a long nite. Thinking the bugs were gnats and not fleas, no bites! Room for 2nd night, better, again doors barely locked. Sewer exploded outside, bad plumbing? Survived, laughing now.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kim4164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We are extremely apologetic for your bad experience, and hope to be able to make it up to you.

daily we make sure everything is clean, tidy, and consistent. We spend time each day making sure our rooms are cleaned, We would like to invite you back at a 20% discounted rate next time you are in town.

Please bring a print out of this review .

Once again we are very sorry for the issue you faced at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mesa hotels
7.6 mi away
Mesa Mezona Hotel
Mesa Mezona Hotel
#18 of 57 in Mesa
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mesa
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Superstition Springs Inn
8.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#25 of 57 in Mesa
3.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windemere Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windemere Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Windemere Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 5750 E Main St, Mesa, AZ 85205-8815
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Windemere Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Windemere Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windemere Hotel Mesa
Windemere Motel Mesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing