We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring training trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windemere Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windemere Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #44 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Greenville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spring training trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Recently retired we took a spur of the moment trip to AZ to take in spring training. We looked for a bargain, found this place and booked it despite the negative reviews. We were very pleasantly surprised and wonder what others were seeing. Yes, the property is old but our room was clean and comfortable, staff very pleasant and helpful and we would come back again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Valued guest, We highly appreciate you choosing our property , we know you had many choices while making the booking, and we are honored to be the hotel of your choice... We would also like to thank you for your candid review. we are currently improving on any issues at our property and our goal is to give each customer 5 star service , we would like to also thank you for pointing out our staff's hard work and dedication .

Sincerely,

Windemere management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    22
    22
    64
See reviews for
60
27
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

The room was dirty, bathroom floors were not clean, patio door had hand prints and dirty smudges, drapes had cigarette burns in them, I was unwilling to sit in the chair in our room because it appeared to be filthy and greasy. When we left we complained to management and were told they were renovating the facility. Why they put us in a room that had not been renovated is beyond me. It was disgusting at best.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,

We're sorry that you did not have a good experience when you stayed at the Windemere Hotel Mesa, and we understand your frustration. When such a problem arises, we take it very seriously. I can assure you that we have made every effort to correct this issue. We hope that you will try us again when your travels bring you back to Mesa area,

We would also like to offer you 20% off your next stay with us and we would love for you to give our hotel one more chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Good layout. Old & filthy. Smoking room upon arrival :/ a long nite. Thinking the bugs were gnats and not fleas, no bites! Room for 2nd night, better, again doors barely locked. Sewer exploded outside, bad plumbing? Survived, laughing now.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kim4164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We are extremely apologetic for your bad experience, and hope to be able to make it up to you.

daily we make sure everything is clean, tidy, and consistent. We spend time each day making sure our rooms are cleaned, We would like to invite you back at a 20% discounted rate next time you are in town.

Please bring a print out of this review .

Once again we are very sorry for the issue you faced at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

When making reservation I requested non smoking room. Upon arrival after a long flight we opened the door to what was the most stinky room I have ever been in. Not only did the room reek of cigarettes the carpet and bedspread looked as if they had never been cleaned. The bathroom floor was very dirty, the phone's directory was torn off , there was a phone but you didn't know if you were calling the office or where. I tried 0 and did get the desk as we were requesting another room. No rooms were available that night but the next day they did move us to the other side of the hotel in a nonsmoking room with a view of the pool which was better than the other room by far. They gave us one really small shampoo for three people, no conditioner. We were there 4 nights and they didn't replace our dirty plastic glasses we had to go to desk ourselves to get more. They also didn't refill the complimentary coffee. I guess you only one pot no matter how long you stay. I asked for extra pillows at 7 pm and I had to go to lobby to get them myself. The first room was barely a 1 star the second room was about a 2. The pool was nice and the area around the pool was in pretty good shape compared to some of the other areas of the hotel. Breakfast was typical continental buffet.

Room Tip: Spend a few more bucks and go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,

I would first of all like to apologize for your unpleasant experience at our hotel, it was certainly not our intention for you to have anything less then 5 star service, We highly apologize that your first room had the smell issue, we are glad to know your second room was better .Due to the busy season we may have not been able to leave the desk to deliver the pillows which is why we may have requested you to come down if it was after the housekeepers had left. Once again we are very sorry for this inconvenience

Windemere guest relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights.was late che ck in friday evening.As soon as we walked into room the stench was horrible.I believe it was the carpet. Asked for another room the next morning nothing available.talked to manager marsha who told us she'll send the cleaning lady back for deodorizing room.gee thanks.breakfast and pool was okay.Sewer busted in the street could nt leave the room door open.stench was unbelievable.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeyna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,

We're sorry that you did not have a good experience when you stayed at the Windemere Hotel Mesa, and we understand your frustration. When such a problem arrises, we take it very seriously. I can assure you that we have made every effort to correct this issue. We hope that you will try us again when your travels bring you back to Mesa area.

We apologize about the sewer pipe issue, unfortunately it was something we couldn't for see coming . We are very sorry about that and we should have been able to move you to a different side of the hotel if we would have known the discomfort it had brought you.



Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The photo of the hotel looked nice and it was near our destination. The grounds were nice and in much better condition than the guestrooms. We had planned to stay for 4 nights. Our room smelled of smoke and had many cigarette burns in the carpets and counter tops. The carpet was filthy and the furniture and bathroom fixtures were dated and damaged.There were no other rooms available in other area motels that evening, so we had to stay one night. We found another much cleaner place at a lower price for the remainder of our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyinWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. It is always our goal to provide a most comfortable stay, and we are very sorry for your room having the smoke smell, We do apologize if your room was meant to be non-smoking and had the smoke smell, As smoking rooms will tend to have a slight smoke smell as they are intended for our guest's who prefer to smoke in the room. Once again we are very very sorry

Windemere Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed for 10 days in February and this was mostly due to the fact that we didn't plan ahead and rooms were scarce when we arrived in Phoenix. The room was dated and the carpets are overdue for replacement. The plus side for us was the large private balcony with three chairs and a table overlooking some beautiful trees. We sat outside here as well as the pool area which is quite lovely, and very well maintained. The location was good for us, close to golf courses, shops and some decent reasonably priced restaurants. The room had a microwave and a mini fridge.
Price - $80.00 plus taxes, included a grab and go breakfast. This breakfast was not so great, a hot oatmeal plus anaemic looking taters, gravy and hard biscuits. Muffins tasted as if they were a day or so old, but I noticed some people eating so it must suit someone.
I doubt we would stay here again, however, one never knows......

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Windemere Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Karol M

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. It is our pleasure to hear about your positive experience here. We strive to cater to the needs of all our valued guests- the added convenience of complimentary high speed Wi-Fi is always available to you.we will take your suggestions and work on improving the breakfast issue you faced at our hotel , along with the decor of the room, We are working on renovating the hotel and we would love to have you back once everything is complete. We highly appreciate your candid review and your valuable time.

Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mesa hotels
7.6 mi away
Mesa Mezona Hotel
Mesa Mezona Hotel
#18 of 57 in Mesa
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Superstition Springs Inn
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#26 of 57 in Mesa
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mesa
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mesa Near Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windemere Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windemere Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Windemere Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 5750 East Main Street, Mesa, AZ 85205
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Windemere Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Windemere Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windemere Hotel Mesa
Windemere Motel Mesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing